Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Programming in new TPMS Sensors  (Read 3797 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10014
    • *****
    • Topic Author

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 10014
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Programming in new TPMS Sensors
    on: Sep 01, 2020, 08.23 pm
    Sep 01, 2020, 08.23 pm
    Until very recently ONLY an authorised Triumph Dealer
    ( or someone with the official Triumph Diagnostics equipment )
    could program new TPMS Sensors in to their Trophy.

    A new Member of the Trophy Forum - T800XC
    has written a Windows software Program
    that can perform a few basic Tests and Maintenance Functions
    INCLUDING a facility to program in new TPMS Sensors.

    The "TigerTool" Software ( as at Version 3 ), originally written for the Tiger 800 Model,
    currently needs a workaround applied to it for the Trophy ECU to be accessed,
    however straightforward instructions for doing this are included over in this Topic :

    TigerTool V3 diagnostics on the Trophy



  • Offline earthman   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2121
    • ****
      #1

    Offline earthman

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 2121
    • Country: gb
    Re: Programming in new TPMS Sensors
    Reply #1 on: Sep 01, 2020, 09.05 pm
    Sep 01, 2020, 09.05 pm
    Now that's fantastic news. :047:

    Is it OK to use/keep both lots of software on the same laptop, any problems when switching from one to another for example? Could there be an issues/clashes I'm thinking??

  • Offline digital   es

    • Trophy God  ‐    2795
    • *****
      #2

    Offline digital

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2795
    • Trophy SE 1200
    • Bike: digital
    • City / Town: Barcelona
    • Country: es
    Re: Programming in new TPMS Sensors
    Reply #2 on: Sep 01, 2020, 09.15 pm
    Sep 01, 2020, 09.15 pm
    *Originally Posted by earthman [+]
    Now that's fantastic news. :047:

    Is it OK to use/keep both lots of software on the same laptop, any problems when switching from one to another for example? Could there be an issues/clashes I'm thinking??

    The problem would be that in the instrument cluster the readings of both TPMS would not correspond, otherwise it should work, well, fooled, but fine.

    My suggestion for Coconut is to simply demonstrate that when editing you record the exact numbers correctly.

    As soon as I have the interface that comes to me tomorrow, I will try to record new sensors and all the functions of the wonderful program created by T800XC.
    Only motorcyclists know why dogs stick their head out the car window.


  • Offline T800XC   england

    • Trophy Member  ‐    91
    • **
      #3

    Offline T800XC

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 91
    • Bike: Tiger 1200 XRT
    • City / Town: English Riviera
    • Country: england
    Re: Programming in new TPMS Sensors
    Reply #3 on: Sep 01, 2020, 10.36 pm
    Sep 01, 2020, 10.36 pm
    *Originally Posted by earthman [+]
    Is it OK to use/keep both lots of software on the same laptop, any problems when switching from one to another for example? Could there be an issues/clashes I'm thinking??
    If you're referring to keeping TigerTool and any other diagnostic software on the same laptop then the answer is yes, it's OK to do so. What you won't be able to do is have more than one application accessing the ELM327 OBD2 interface at-a-time. If you want to switch between them, you'll have to close one down.
    ...we are reviewing telemetric information in our mission simulator and will advise...

  • Offline earthman   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2121
    • ****
      #4

    Offline earthman

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 2121
    • Country: gb
    Re: Programming in new TPMS Sensors
    Reply #4 on: Sep 02, 2020, 07.46 am
    Sep 02, 2020, 07.46 am
    *Originally Posted by T800XC [+]
    If you're referring to keeping TigerTool and any other diagnostic software on the same laptop then the answer is yes, it's OK to do so. What you won't be able to do is have more than one application accessing the ELM327 OBD2 interface at-a-time. If you want to switch between them, you'll have to close one down.

    Yes, that's what I meant. I don't mind having to close one program down before opening the other one, I just wondered if the interface would still be recognised or actually still connect to the bike. Just running the dealertool software, I like others have experienced such problems, admittedly that's more to do with W10 updates & drivers though.

  • Offline T800XC   england

    • Trophy Member  ‐    91
    • **
      #5

    Offline T800XC

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 91
    • Bike: Tiger 1200 XRT
    • City / Town: English Riviera
    • Country: england
    Re: Programming in new TPMS Sensors
    Reply #5 on: Sep 02, 2020, 09.26 am
    Sep 02, 2020, 09.26 am
    Sadly Dealertool's Windows driver issues were, in my opinion, of their own doing. From what I've seen they use rebadged cheap interfaces with cloned ELM327 OBD chips and dubious USB bridge chips.

    Their older interfaces were of a much better quality with FTDI USB chips, albeit still Chinese copies, but the more recent interfaces use different chips that seem more problematic. They could design & build their own interfaces with genuine ELM327 or similar OBD chips and genuine FTDI or Prolific etc USB chips, but that doesn't leave a lot of room for profit, so I can see the sense in using Chinese interfaces.
    ...we are reviewing telemetric information in our mission simulator and will advise...

  • Offline earthman   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2121
    • ****
      #6

    Offline earthman

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 2121
    • Country: gb
    Re: Programming in new TPMS Sensors
    Reply #6 on: Sep 02, 2020, 01.56 pm
    Sep 02, 2020, 01.56 pm
    Personally I wouldn't mind paying a bit extra for a reliable/no hassle type of interface. I'm not the most clued up PC person so having to suffer hours of frustration just to get it to work, the money saving aspect isn't worth it to me.

  • Offline T800XC   england

    • Trophy Member  ‐    91
    • **
      #7

    Offline T800XC

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 91
    • Bike: Tiger 1200 XRT
    • City / Town: English Riviera
    • Country: england
    Re: Programming in new TPMS Sensors
    Reply #7 on: Sep 02, 2020, 02.41 pm
    Sep 02, 2020, 02.41 pm
    *Originally Posted by earthman [+]
    Personally I wouldn't mind paying a bit extra for a reliable/no hassle type of interface. I'm not the most clued up PC person so having to suffer hours of frustration just to get it to work, the money saving aspect isn't worth it to me.
    I generally use the BBFLY-BF32301 interface. Very similar internally to the earlier Dealertool ones and just under 20 on Amazon. Never had an issue with Windows drivers and it's the only one I've found that I can reliably recommend to TigerTool users.
    ...we are reviewing telemetric information in our mission simulator and will advise...

     



    tweedy-bunch