Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Turn TPMS off?  (Read 1195 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dietDrThunder

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 338
    • View Profile
  • Bike: '12 S10 '15 TTSE
  • City / Town: Nashvegas, TN
  • Country: USA
Turn TPMS off?
« on: January 22, 2021, 08:02:01 pm »
I'm curious...can the DealerTool turn off the TPMS such that the idiot light doesn't come on if I remove my dying TPMS sensors in favor of an easily serviceable aftermarket setup? If no, would a dealer have a way to do this?

Thanks!

Offline Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 9161
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: Turn TPMS off?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2021, 05:56:30 am »
Yes - DealerTool can do this.  :169:

If you already have a suitable Connection cable
then the free TigerTool software can also be used.


Offline DonTom

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 2016
  • Don & Tom in Gulin, China
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 TTSE & 9 others
  • City / Town: Auburn,CA or Reno,NV
  • Country: USA
Re: Turn TPMS off?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2021, 04:49:19 am »
*Originally Posted by dietDrThunder [+]
I'm curious...can the DealerTool turn off the TPMS such that the idiot light doesn't come on if I remove my dying TPMS sensors in favor of an easily serviceable aftermarket setup? If no, would a dealer have a way to do this?

Thanks!
Yep, I did such years ago with the DealerTool and now use a cheap Chinese TPMS where I can replace the batteries myself in just a few minutes.

I did post what I did here, but I cannot now find it. But it was simple to do.

-Don-  Auburn, CA
1971 Black BMW R75/5/* 1984 Red Yamaha Venture* 2002 Yellow Suzuki DR200SE* 2013 Blue Triumph Trophy SE*2016 Orange/Black Kaw Versy 650 LT*2016 Orange Moto Guzzi Stelvio* 2017 Gold/Black Harley FLTRU RoadGlide Ultra*2017 Zero 6.5DS* 2017 Zero SR13 w/Pwr Tank*2020 Energica SS9

Offline earthman

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 2092
    • View Profile
  • Country: UK
Re: Turn TPMS off?
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2021, 10:13:07 am »
All these aftermarket TPMS involve keeping the tyre valve pushed in 100% of the time right?

Offline T800XC

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Tiger 1200 XRT
  • City / Town: English Riviera
  • Country: UK
Re: Turn TPMS off?
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2021, 12:50:13 pm »
*Originally Posted by earthman [+]
All these aftermarket TPMS involve keeping the tyre valve pushed in 100% of the time right?
Correct.


*Originally Posted by DonTom [+]
...and now use a cheap Chinese TPMS where I can replace the batteries myself in just a few minutes.
I did some work on a plug-in module last year that allowed me to use cheap Chinese screw-on TPMS sensors and fully integrate them into the CAN bus on my Tiger 1200 and have the pressures show on the bike's dash (TFT display in my case), just as the OEM Triumph sensors do, instead of using a small display module mounted on the bars. It could be used on any Triumph model that supports TPMS.

I had to stop work on the system during late summer as I got stuck into a big contract for one of my customers. That project should be coming to an end next month so I'm hoping to get back into work on the aftermarket TPMS integration.
...we are reviewing telemetric information in our mission simulator and will advise...

Offline TrophyRider4

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Paw Paw, Michigan
  • Country: USA
Re: Turn TPMS off?
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2021, 01:17:12 pm »
If you turn the TPMS off with dealertool, is the registration of the sending units retained?  In other words, if you turn it back on, does it recognize the sending units, without reentering the numbers for them?
I was planning on replacing the batteries when I replace tires.

Thanks

Offline T800XC

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Tiger 1200 XRT
  • City / Town: English Riviera
  • Country: UK
Re: Turn TPMS off?
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2021, 01:39:03 pm »
*Originally Posted by TrophyRider4 [+]
If you turn the TPMS off with dealertool, is the registration of the sending units retained?  In other words, if you turn it back on, does it recognize the sending units, without reentering the numbers for them?
In short, Yes.

Dealertool only turns off the display of TPMS data, it doesn't disable the TPMS itself so the data is still being broadcast over the CAN bus.

The TPMS sensor ID codes are stored in the immobiliser and can only be changed by the dealer's official software or with my TigerTool software. Enabling or disabling the display of data or the TPMS system itself does not change the stored sensor ID codes.
...we are reviewing telemetric information in our mission simulator and will advise...

Offline DonTom

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 2016
  • Don & Tom in Gulin, China
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 TTSE & 9 others
  • City / Town: Auburn,CA or Reno,NV
  • Country: USA
Re: Turn TPMS off?
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2021, 03:19:52 pm »
*Originally Posted by earthman [+]
All these aftermarket TPMS involve keeping the tyre valve pushed in 100% of the time right?
That is not an issue at all. All 20 of my motorcycles tires have had such for many years as well as most of my other vehicles. Never a problem.

Any tire expert will explain the valve is only for our convenience to fill up the tire. The cap is what holds in the air the best of the two.

-Don-  Auburn, CA
1971 Black BMW R75/5/* 1984 Red Yamaha Venture* 2002 Yellow Suzuki DR200SE* 2013 Blue Triumph Trophy SE*2016 Orange/Black Kaw Versy 650 LT*2016 Orange Moto Guzzi Stelvio* 2017 Gold/Black Harley FLTRU RoadGlide Ultra*2017 Zero 6.5DS* 2017 Zero SR13 w/Pwr Tank*2020 Energica SS9

 



tweedy-bunch