Main Trophy Boards > Tyres and Wheels

rear wheel refurbishment

(1/1)

ianmason:
Hello Everyone,
i have noticed that the paint work on my rear wheel is bubbling and started to flake off. I live in North Yorks so would anyone be able to recommend a company that would be able to refurbish my wheel.

regards,
Ian

Coconut:
Try Googling "Alloy Wheel Powder Coating, Yorkshire".

A few companies are listed, such as "The Wheel Guru" in Leeds,
but I have no experience of using them, so I can't make recommendations.

Take into consideration that you may not get an exact colour match,
and may want to consider having the front wheel done at the same time.  :084:

Make sure you explain the importance of not Power coating the inside
of the rear wheel mounting recess, or it won't fit back on !

Also seek their advice regarding removal of front seals and bearings if you do have the front done.

Cheers  :821:

sin_tiger:
A few words of caution on having corroded alloys powder coated.

If the original coating has lifted, it's almost certain that there will be a degree of surface pitting in those areas. If you are having the powder coater do all the work, discuss polishing the corroded areas with them first and also discuss the expected finish quality, pitted areas can "outgas" during curing leaving unsightly sand paper finish in that area. Ensure that they will agree to refinishing if a primary coat does not achieve the expected finish quality. If you're going to remove the tyre etc. yourself, I'd advise scraping and buffing the affected areas with Scotchbrite to assess the degree of pitting. If pitted areas are not buffed, even if there is no outgassing, you will not achieve a consistent smooth finish in that area, powder coating will not "hide" damaged surfaces.

Ask them to "hang" the rim around the inner drop centre when coating to avoid getting coating "flash" around the inflation valve hole, many hang them with a wire through the hole  :023: