Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Throttle actuator  (Read 562 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Shoco

    • Trophy Junior  ‐    3
    • *
    • Topic Author

    Offline Shoco

    • Trophy Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 3
    • Bike: trophy SE
    • City / Town: Drogheda
    Throttle actuator
    on: Aug 14, 2022, 06.27 pm
    Aug 14, 2022, 06.27 pm
    Hi all, im having problems with my 2013 TTSE stalling at idle, it wont run long enough to do an adaptation, does anybody know if the throttle actuator should run all the time onve the ignition is switched on, all help greatly appreciated

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10141
    • *****
      #1

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10141
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Throttle actuator
    Reply #1 on: Aug 28, 2022, 10.09 am
    Aug 28, 2022, 10.09 am
    Hi Shoco,

    My apologies for not spotting this Topic earlier !

    I'm not sure what you mean by,
    " does anybody know if the throttle actuator should run all the time once the ignition is switched on" ?

    Whenever there's a problem like this, one of the first things to check
    is whether any Fault Codes that have been stored.
    ( Triumph call them "Diagnostic Trouble Codes", or "DTC's" ).

    You don't need ANY tools or equipment to check,
    they can be displayed on your Instrument Panel :

    Press and hold in the "i" and Scroll Up buttons at the same time
    and hold them IN while turning ON the Ignition.
    Keep the buttons pressed IN until the Speedo & Tacho needles have completed their Sweep
    and you will then be presented with the Screen showing any DTC's.  Release the buttons.

    "P0000" means there are no DTC's stored.

    It is important to make this check early on when investigating problems,
    because many of the DTC's will be automatically erased from the ECU Memory
    after a certain number of "No Fault" starts, so you could lose the information
    that may help identify the problem.

    If any DTC's show up take a Photograph of the screen ( useful to show a Dealer later on )
    or at the very least write them down.  If there are multiple DTC's, use the Scroll buttons to view them.
    Switch the Ignition OFF after noting any DTC's.

    If you find any DTC's, refer to this Topic and scroll to the Message dated Mar 11, 2015
    titled, "Diagnostic Trouble Codes ( DTC's ) / Fault Codes"where you can download
    a list of all the DTC's and their meanings, plus other information :

    Servicing Data, Reference Info. & DTC ( Fault ) Codes

    Information relating to further investigation of DTC's and Pinpoint tests to conduct
    can be found in the official Service Manual, or post the DTC information in the Forum
    and one of the Members will offer further help.

    I have just helped another Forum Member with a rough Idling problem,
    and the DTC he had was P0108 ( "Manifold absolute pressure sensor 1 open circuit
    or short circuit to 5 Volt sensor supply" )

    After carrying out some checks, the MAP Sensor was replaced,
    which cured the problem, and he now has "P0000".

    Cheers  :821:










     


  • Offline Shoco

    • Trophy Junior  ‐    3
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline Shoco

    • Trophy Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 3
    • Bike: trophy SE
    • City / Town: Drogheda
    Re: Throttle actuator
    Reply #2 on: Aug 28, 2022, 01.08 pm
    Aug 28, 2022, 01.08 pm
    Hi coconut
    Thanks for your reply
    No fault codes, runs like a dream over 3000rpm
    Will idle for about 3 minutes from cold start but once it tries to idle after that it will stall so cannot complete adaptation
    Everything reads ok on dealer tool and tuneecu
    Im boggled

    Shoco

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10141
    • *****
      #3

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10141
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Throttle actuator
    Reply #3 on: Aug 28, 2022, 04.41 pm
    Aug 28, 2022, 04.41 pm
    It's difficult to diagnose or advise if there are no DTC's,
    but possible culprits are an air leak at one of the transition pieces
    of the Throttle bodies, where the retaining clips are reported
    to be "quite fiddly" to fit correctly making a good seal,
    or a faulty temperature related sensor ( Air / Coolant etc ) ?



  • Offline Shoco

    • Trophy Junior  ‐    3
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Offline Shoco

    • Trophy Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 3
    • Bike: trophy SE
    • City / Town: Drogheda
    Re: Throttle actuator
    Reply #4 on: Sep 09, 2022, 03.04 pm
    Sep 09, 2022, 03.04 pm
    Hi Coconut
    I have compared all the values from your Dealertool video (which is brilliant thank you)
    the only difference i have seen is that when the bike comes back to idle the Throttle %(page 1) goes immediately to 0% when the engine is running but shows 0.8% with the ignition on but engine not running where yours will show 2.0% with only ignition on and 0.8% while idling
    Closed throttle shows as not adapted because bike wont idle to run adaptation process
    Any thoughts you have would be greatly appreciated

    Thanks in advance
    Mark

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10141
    • *****
      #5

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10141
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Throttle actuator
    Reply #5 on: Sep 09, 2022, 08.34 pm
    Sep 09, 2022, 08.34 pm
    I don't think you can make a direct comparison and expect all of the values to be identical
    unless everything else is, such as Ambient Temperature, Air Temperature,
    Engine / Coolant Temperature, Atmospheric pressure etc.

    It's beyond my knowledge and capabilities to be able to advise on your figures,
    and I think you may have to revert to a Dealer and have them check for Air Leaks
    at the Intake, Valve condition / Compression Test, Throttle Position Sensor settings,
    and for any Sensor faults that may not have thrown up a DTC, such as with the MAP Sensor,
    which could cause the Idling problem.

    Sorry I couldn't help further.



     



    tweedy-bunch