Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Potential New Owner  (Read 3175 times)

Offline atvtinker

• Trophy Pro
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Grand Cane, LA
Potential New Owner
« on: November 11, 2013, 02:28:25 pm »
Hi, my name is Ernie and I just joined the site, but am not an actual Trophy owner yet! I'm from Louisiana and I test rode one about a couple of days ago and now kind of have the fever. I've never ridden a sport touring bike. These things are phenomenal! I have been riding a Victory Vision for the last 5 years and even though the 2 bikes have basically the same weather protection, the Trophy definitely has all around of power. So I have some questions for some of you guys who may have come from a V-twin to a Trophy about some of the pros and cons about the switchover. I already know that I'm going to have to order the tall seat for I'm 6' with a 34" inseam and my legs seem a little cramped.
1. Do they make any kind of handlebar risers to raise the bars about an inch or so?
2. Is the tour windshield that much more effective?
3. How good are the heated grips? Have them on my Vision and even with thick gloves they work fairly well.
4. Any accessories that are a must for long rides? When I go on trips, it is usually 600 to 700 miles a day for 7 days or more.
'09 Yamaha Grizzly 550
'14 Triumph Trophy SE

Offline Roger

• Trophy Pro
    • View Profile
  • City / Town: Kent
Re: Potential New Owner
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2013, 03:00:13 pm »
Hi Ernie

Welcome, there are some interesting and knowledgeable people on this forum and me. I pretty sure there are some members that have had a Victory so they will be more accurate with comparisons, but I will answer as best I can

1. I don't think that handle bar risers are available yet
2. I didn't like the weather protection and noise levels on the standard screen so I bought the medium Calsci screen which does a good job.