Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: London to Venice - Advice and suggestions  (Read 5143 times)

Offline Mordiglio

• Trophy Member
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophie SE
  • City / Town: Epsom
London to Venice - Advice and suggestions
« on: January 07, 2014, 01:54:41 PM »
Hello and happy new year to all the riders on the forum   :046:

I'm starting to plan a trip riding to Italy from London at the end of June and, being my first long trip, I need some advice on a few things.  :187:
I'll be riding with pillion (wife)
I'm thinking 3 days to get there, 3 days staying (with family), 3 days ride back

Any suggestion on route, miles per day, costs, equipment needed/suggested, hotels on the way, and anything else that comes to mind?

As I mention, this is my first European trip, although I've been riding touring bikes for the last 10 years (embarrassing  :034:), but I know some of you have done this several times and might be able to help preparing and planning.

Many thanks in advance

Offline Berber

• Trophy Master
    • View Profile
  • Bike: K1600GTL (Pegasus)
  • City / Town: Nottingham
Re: London to Venice - Advice and suggestions
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2014, 02:40:25 PM »
Allocate each of you a bag for a pannier and roll each days teeshirt, socks separately. Use the top box for other items (will mostly be taken up by your missus).

I used the tank bag for camera and other to hand items.
'The farther one travels, the less one knows.......'

George Harrison

Offline Chaos

• Trophy Master
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Hoyland
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2014, 05:22:41 PM »
A good start is google maps. Put in a start point and a destination and it will give you a route. Then break it down into mileage you would like to cover each day and look for accommodation for the end of each day. Then you can always tweak if you have the time to call at other points of interest along the way.