Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Hello from Canada  (Read 5006 times)

Offline Tom the bomb

• Trophy Junior
    • View Profile
  • City / Town: Edmonton
Hello from Canada
« on: February 10, 2014, 04:20:49 am »

I need some advice. I'm getting back into riding once again, and I'm a bit confused by how big of a bike to get. It's been many years since I last rode.I'm 6'1" & 215 lbs.
People are telling me a Trophy is too big to start on. I'd really hate to make the wrong decision. The trophy is the type of bike I prefer.

Help  :187: 

Offline w8d4it

• Trophy God
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Triumph Trophy
  • City / Town: Houston Texas
Re: Hello from Canada
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 04:56:22 am »
First Welcome to the Forum :400:
Second the Trophy IS a big bike. I have to admit that even though I've been riding for 40 years  it took me 500 miles to get used to it.  Now the Trophy doesn't handle like a big bike but it certainly looks like a big bike. Once under speed it handles like a much smaller bike but still it is over 600 pounds.  So at low speeds it can be a handful.  If you haven't ridden in a very long time I suggest you spend some time on a Bonneville sized bike and then spend some time on the Trophy.  An experienced rider can't go wrong with the Trophy but if you think it will take you a bit of time to get used to riding again then you should go with a smaller bike.  Then invest in a Bonneville.  I know there is some hesitancy to buy twice thinking you might waste money.  But believe me avoiding accidents due to getting back into motorcycling to soon on too big of a bike will be worth it.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2014, 05:52:08 am by w8d4it »
Proudly Riding Triumph Since 1968
2013 Triumph Trophy SE
2001 Sprint 955 ST

Offline DonTom

• Trophy Master
  • Don & Tom in Gulin, China
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 TTSE & 9 others
  • City / Town: Auburn,CA or Reno,NV