Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Another Hello from the Pacific Northwest  (Read 1017 times)

Offline Senpro

• Trophy Junior
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 99 Tropyh 1200
  • City / Town: Hillsboro
Another Hello from the Pacific Northwest
« on: March 05, 2013, 05:16:15 PM »
Hello world wide web owners of Trophies,

I am fairly new to riding. Got my first bike about a year ago. Actually it was two bikes in hundreds of pieces in the back of a pickup. Assembled the parts to make one okay but mechanically sound 80 Honda CX500C. Took my safety course and got my MC endorsement. Had a great time riding until a young man made an illegal turn in front of me. We collided even with evasive maneuvers.  I survived that one thanks to God. but the CX500 was totaled.

While I was down a friend gave me a 84 Honda CB650SC Nighthawk. It had a bad conrod bearing so I bought a used motor and dropped it in. Nice bike but that motor lasted only 200 miles before the starter chain broke. Now its in the process of getting an overhaul.

I missed the CX500 so I bought another. 81 500C. Its in cherry condition and I really like that bike but.... I'm 6' 250lbs and my wife likes to go on short rides with me. It works but it's small. Hence the need for more CCs and room.

I spent quite a bit of time looking for the next bike. I like the cruiser looks but everyone seems to be riding big cruisers with T-shirts and skull caps or crotch rockets with uncomfortable riding positions. I wanted something different, reliable, safe, lots of power, dual headlights, (yes I want to be more visible) and hard sided luggage and cost effective.