Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: TPMS  (Read 6790 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Iain

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Stornoway
  • Country: UK
TPMS
« on: May 14, 2014, 02:25:51 pm »
It may have been covered previously but thought it easier to start a new thread...if I remove my wheels and take them to my local garage for fitting new tyres is the TPMS an issue or will it be affected?My dealers on the other side of the country and don't want to make a trip to make a trip there just now.
Honda VFR 2002
Sprint ST 2007
Sprint ST 2009
Sprint GT 2011
Trophy SE 2013

Offline triucati

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
  • Bike: SOLD: 2013 Trophy
  • City / Town: Carson City, NV
  • Country: USA
Re: TPMS
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2014, 02:33:09 pm »
Just make sure you tell them to be very careful near the valve stems when removing and installing the tires.   There is a fairly large black electronic box located under each valve stem.

Offline TerryB

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Valencia, CA
  • Country: USA
Re: TPMS
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2014, 03:25:21 pm »
I do the same thing due my Triumph dealership being very far away. I take my tires to the local Honda dealership and they do a great job. I just made sure to point out the sensors and asked them to be careful. No problems at all.
Motorcycle and me, Motorcycle set me free - Daniel Ash

Offline Stumpyone

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • One life.....live it
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE 2013
  • City / Town: Havant
  • Country: UK
Re: TPMS
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2014, 12:01:58 pm »
Hi guys,

Interesting stuff. I've just been quotes £469 to put a set of PR4GT's on mine by my local dealer. The user manual states the TPMS has to be recalibrated after tyre replacement. I fancy there is a bit of triumph spin on that to get people to use their dealership...... What's involved in getting the TPMS re calibrated?

Cheers

Stumpyone
TTSE 2017... Blue - the new Red!!!
CBF1000
Vmax
FJ1200
Maxim 650

Offline john348

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1524
    • View Profile
  • Bike: sprint1050 tiger955
  • City / Town: Farndon
  • Country: UK
Re: TPMS
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2014, 12:06:48 pm »
Never heard of re calibrated.  I have had lots of tyres changed and no re calibration there is absolutely no need the air pressure is the air pressure does not depend on tyre.  On the other hand if the TPMS units are replaced then they have to be 'attached' to the ECU which is a plug in job.

Offline cropbiker

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4934
  • Midlands biker
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Worcester
  • Country: UK
Re: TPMS
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2014, 12:41:25 pm »
That is a ridiculous price....

I got a pair of GT4s delivered to my home address for £211 and then had them fitted by local motorcycle tyre shop for £35.

No recalibration required. just make sure to advise the tyre shop TPMS valves are fitted so they don't pull them off and damage them.

I got mine from tyreleader.co.uk

Triumph Trophy! Not for every Tomaz, Dieter or Herman!🇬🇧

Offline malcolm

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 460
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy 1200
  • City / Town: york
  • Country: UK
Re: TPMS
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2014, 03:44:34 pm »
*Originally Posted by Stumpyone [+]
Hi guys,

Interesting stuff. I've just been quotes £469 to put a set of PR4GT's on mine by my local dealer. The user manual states the TPMS has to be recalibrated after tyre replacement. I fancy there is a bit of triumph spin on that to get people to use their dealership...... What's involved in getting the TPMS re calibrated?

Cheers

Stumpyone

I think they are including the price of new senders and syncing them up to the ecu. If your batteries are ok you only need new tyres.

Offline Stumpyone

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • One life.....live it
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE 2013
  • City / Town: Havant
  • Country: UK
Re: TPMS
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2014, 08:53:15 pm »
I've asked that question.... But yes very expensive if not.

Having seen that there isn't an issue with the sensors as long as they know about them I'll get the tyres done at my normal place.

Cheers guys
TTSE 2017... Blue - the new Red!!!
CBF1000
Vmax
FJ1200
Maxim 650