HOW TO : Remove the Fairing AND Fit R&G Adventure ( Crash ) Bars by Coconut
[Today at 08:47:14 am]

Best BT headset by fluxxcomp
[Yesterday at 11:53:03 pm]

"best" blutooth comms system? by trophied
[Yesterday at 11:42:24 pm]

Which garmin fit the standard triumph mount? by 1675
[Yesterday at 11:15:15 pm]

Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Accessory Grand Larceny...  (Read 5792 times)

Offline av8or-dave

• Trophy Pro
  • Got Mine 8 OCT '18 - officially in the club now!
    • View Profile
  • Bike: '17 TTSE & '82 SECA
  • City / Town: Liverpool
Accessory Grand Larceny...
« on: June 27, 2014, 11:37:36 pm »
I'm kind of new at shopping for a "new" motorcycle, have shopped for many new cars and truck in the past:  Does it TICK anyone else off that you can't just order the item on the bike the way you want it from the factory? 

For instance, have to buy the bike with standard seats, then pay another $380 rider / $330 passenger ($710) to buy heated seats to replace the standard seats.  Why can't customers just order heated seats from the factory and have them installed as the bike is being built, and pay a slightly higher price for the added Heating feature of the seats (maybe $50 each seems fair to me for an element and wiring), instead of replacing the whole seats!  What a waste!

BTW:  Corbin makes a nice looking  Dual Touring saddle with HEAT for $633, plus add back rests for another $218 or $360 w/ toolbox - depending on what you want).  http://www.corbin.com/triumph/ttry13.shtml

Then there's the cheaply engineered and expensive TOP BOX issue:  Have to buy a whole top box ($480), then buy another upper color coordinated lid part that color matches/coordinates with the rest of the bike of another $140, and toss the original upper lid part away, or set on a shelf to collect dust - total spent $620!  Again, what a waste!  Why not just charge $520 (+ $40) for a top box with choice of color?