Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Rear brake not as effective as I think it should be, how's yours?  (Read 15144 times)

Offline Duck Tape

• Trophy Member
    • View Profile
Hi - I have about 1,600  km on my '14 Trophy SE, from new it has seemed that the rear brake pedal is mushy, it requires a lot of travel of the pedal for the brake to engage, and when it does engage it doesn't do a lot.  To provide a bit of context I have been riding dirt and street for just over 40 years, last bike (for six years) was a 650 V-Strom with ABS, the new Trophy is the largest bike I have ever had.

I have had the bike in to the dealer twice to have their mechanic address the rear brake, but not much improvement either time.  Today I stopped in at the dealer and asked their service manager to try my bike, afterward he said the rear brake was soft, but then he and I tried a '14 Trophy SE demo bike and it's brakes were pretty much the same.  The service manager's conclusion was that the rear brakes on this model simply aren't that great, which came as a bit of a disappointment given the positive comments I have seen on this site.

Given the subjective nature of good versus meh rear brakes, can I ask if anyone else here with a recent model Trophy SE could try a simple experiment for me - from a speed of perhaps 60 km/h (40 mph) on dry asphalt, pull in the clutch and push hard on just the rear brake.  Does the rear brake have the power to lock up the rear tire (presumably causing the ABS to engage)?  On my bike the rear tire doesn't come close to locking up (or engaging ABS), it would be nice to know if this was normal, or if there is still an unresolved problem.

Thanks for any advice,

Mark

Offline w8d4it

• Trophy God
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Triumph Trophy
  • City / Town: Houston Texas
Re: Rear brake not as effective as I think it should be, how's yours?
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2014, 10:37:32 pm »