Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: New radio glitch  (Read 3271 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline w8d4it

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 5337
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Triumph Trophy
  • City / Town: Houston Texas
  • Country: USA
New radio glitch
« on: July 22, 2014, 02:04:19 am »
Has anyone else experienced this?  Went to ride yesterday.  Instrument panel said "Radio Off".   Not no audio, not no device, no low voltage.  Just "Radio Off".  No matter what I did with volume control, station control, mode control nothing would turn the radio on.  I turned the bike off and on several times and finally the audio started functioning as normal and has been fine so far.  I'm not going to worry about this unless it happens again but I'm curious if anyone else has experienced this.
Proudly Riding Triumph Since 1968
2013 Triumph Trophy SE
2001 Sprint 955 ST

Offline Stoney

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 818
    • View Profile
  • Bike: '13 & '17 TT SE
  • City / Town: Simi Valley, Ca
  • Country: USA
Re: New radio glitch
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2014, 04:13:15 am »
That's a new one. I've had the 'No Audio' issue twice (both times water related), but not sure what causes the 'Radio Off' message.  But I'm listening!  (Pun intended)
STONEY

Offline Travelling2bob

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 544
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Sale
  • Country: Australia
Re: New radio glitch
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2014, 04:17:28 am »
Loose connection perhaps?
Wherever you go, there you are.
Triumph Trophy SE
Triumph Thunderbird 1600
Triumph Sprint ST
Ducati ST3

Offline w8d4it

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 5337
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Triumph Trophy
  • City / Town: Houston Texas
  • Country: USA
Re: New radio glitch
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2014, 05:12:33 am »
I would think if there were a loose connection that I would get something indicating no audio, or no device, something indicating the lack of a connection.  But this consistently said "Radio Off".  Like I said it has been fine for the last two days so maybe just an electronic gremlin. 
Proudly Riding Triumph Since 1968
2013 Triumph Trophy SE
2001 Sprint 955 ST

Offline cropbiker

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4934
  • Midlands biker
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Worcester
  • Country: UK
Re: New radio glitch
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2014, 06:19:52 am »
Did you feed it after midnight, get it wet or expose it to bright lights??? :008:
Triumph Trophy! Not for every Tomaz, Dieter or Herman!🇬🇧

Offline zeakers

  • Non Active
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE
  • City / Town: DE
  • Country: USA
Re: New radio glitch
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2014, 05:42:17 pm »
I would pull the radio fuse to reset the module. This has happened to me before.

Offline w8d4it

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 5337
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Triumph Trophy
  • City / Town: Houston Texas
  • Country: USA
Re: New radio glitch
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2014, 06:00:46 pm »
*Originally Posted by zeakers [+]
I would pull the radio fuse to reset the module. This has happened to me before.
When you say it has happened to you before do you mean that your instrument panel said "Radio Off" and that no matter how much you manipulated the controls it continued to say "Radio Off"?  As for pulling the fuse I was going to do that if turning the bike on and off several times had not solved the problem.
Proudly Riding Triumph Since 1968
2013 Triumph Trophy SE
2001 Sprint 955 ST

Offline AVI.INC

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Hawthorne CA.
  • Country: USA
Re: New radio glitch
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2014, 12:32:27 am »
When i first got the bike i had that happen pulled fuse never happend again.
I must be going too fast for too long evey time i get back i'm younger!!