Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: It is good to be home. When do we leave?  (Read 3049 times)

Offline 1150newguy

• Ex Member
    • View Profile
It is good to be home. When do we leave?
« on: October 28, 2014, 03:38:58 pm »
Our original plan called for a trip of close to 8000 miles. Due to my riding buddy having a family issue we were cut to around 5000 miles. I could have continued on to California on my own, but Jim and I have been riding together for close to 40 years and I felt it was only right to come home with him. California will be there next year. This is more of a report on the Trophy than it is a trip report. We did get from Ohio to Key West, Florida and then over to Arkansas and the Ozarks. 22 days, 4750 miles, 12 states, not a bad run.

I installed a new set of Avon Storm XM tires before I left. After heavy rain on the Blue Ridge Parkway and Virginia, near 90 degree heat in Florida, 40 degree temps in West Virginia, and touched down a foot peg or two in the Ozarks I must give them an A+. The front started cupping a bit at 4000 miles, but a two pound increase in pressure cured that. Run the front XM at 40, it is happier there.

The Trophy was great. Air Hawk R seat cushion was the only modification to my bike and it is without a doubt the most comfy bike I have ever had. Handling was superb for a bike this size. My buddy was on a much lighter Kawasaki Versys and commented a few times as to how well the TT must handle because he couldn't pull away in the twisties unless he really pushed hard.

According to the TT trip computer I rode 4674 miles. Used 86.5 gallons of gasoline. Averaged around 54 miles per gallon over the whole trip. The bike never skipped a beat or failed in any way. I now have put 19,036 miles on it in the ten months I have owned it. I am a happy camper.

Online Verdun95

• Trophy God
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy 1200 SE
  • City / Town: by CDG Airport