Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Considering a Trophy  (Read 18228 times)

Offline NonEntity

• Trophy Junior
    • View Profile
  • Bike: In the market
  • City / Town: Lake Placid FL
Considering a Trophy
« on: November 02, 2014, 01:54:30 am »
I know asking if I should buy a Trophy on a Trophy forum is a silly exercise, but my questions are more specific than that.  Many of my google searches keep bringing me to this forum, but I have not been able to get answers to a couple of specific questions, not all of which are specific to the Trophy.

My wife and I have been riding for two years; this was her idea - we did the MSF class for our 20th anniversary (You have to love a woman who demands that you go buy motorcycles).  I was not hung up on having a Harley, but 9 out of ten used bikes I was finding locally were HD, the local wrench in our town had a strong preference for the brand, and I found an olive drab Nightster that I fell in love with.  That bike only lasted three months before it was stolen, by my wife, who told me I needed to go buy another one.  Since then I have been riding a 99 Road King and am tired of it's constant mechanical problems.

We went out of town to test drive a Thunderbird LT, as I thought that would be the closest to the bike I was familiar with, without having the letters H or D on it.  Everything they say about that new seat is true, it is quite cushy, but the bike did not really sing to me.  I remarked on the Trophy parked next to it, and the dealership sent me out on a second test drive.  When I returned, my wife's comment was "You were not grinning like that when you came back with the T-bird."

I had not considered anything but another cruiser based motorcycle before now.  In reading up on sports tourers in general and the Trophy in particular, I have a few questions.

Has anyone here transitioned from a cruiser to the Trophy?  How long did it take to adjust to the riding position?