Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Will not start  (Read 3221 times)

Offline BOBS928

• Trophy Junior
    • View Profile
  • Bike: TROPHY 900
  • City / Town: BURNLEY
Will not start
« on: March 31, 2013, 12:58:19 PM »
Hi to all
New member to this site
Ok
I have just bought a Brilliant Triumph Trophy 900 sports Tourer
Year 1994 M registered
I bought the bike from Great Yarmouth
Drove all the way back to Lancashire Burnley no problems, loads and loads of power, never coughed or spluttered once, not smoke or anything
So the day after looking to go for another ride on my brilliant Trophy, unfortunately it took me 3 hours to start, and charging the battery many times plus flooding the engine
Today I have the same problem, as it won’t fire up at all, the engines turns over no problems, but it won’t fire up.
So I am looking for any ideas that it could be, I have some knowledge of cars etc but very limited on this type of bike.
Thanks for reading
Bobs928

Offline davidw3d

• Trophy Pro
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Blue Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Bradford
Re: Will not start
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2013, 01:08:30 PM »
I suggest a good service at your local dealer should sort this out, it sounds as if you are not getting a good enough spark at the plugs. One thing to try though if you are getting flooding is to open the throttle fully while starting as this drags loads of air into the cylinders and might clear the excess petrol. Be ready to back it off though if it fires!
Might as well as wish we had.

Offline davidw3d

• Trophy Pro
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Blue Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Bradford
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2013, 01:10:20 PM »
By the way there is a seperate section on this forum for pre 2002 Trophys, might be a better place to post.
Might as well as wish we had.

Offline Triumph Trophy

• Admin/Moderator
  • Forum Help & Support
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2013, 02:02:34 PM »