Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Heat  (Read 5459 times)

Offline carlh

• Trophy Junior
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Terrebonne, Oregon
Heat
« on: November 24, 2014, 04:32:59 pm »
Well, I have managed to get 600 miles on my new SE, in between rain and snow storms.  I have noticed a few comments about engine heat on riders lower legs/ankles.  I will need to make a decision in the early spring about shipping my SE or H-D Ultra across the country for a return ride.  Should I let peoples "heat comments" influence my decision?  If you have summer experience, let me know your thoughts.  Thanks.
Carl

Offline w8d4it

• Trophy God
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Triumph Trophy
  • City / Town: Houston Texas
Re: Heat
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2014, 04:57:53 pm »
I have been riding for more than 40 years.  At the moment I ride primarily in the South.  I find the heat on my ankles to be excessive.  If I wear short boots or sneakers I have to wear long socks otherwise my ankles will be very uncomfortable to the point of lightly burned.  I know that others have said they have experienced no discomfort which surprises me. 
Proudly Riding Triumph Since 1968
2013 Triumph Trophy SE
2001 Sprint 955 ST

Offline azgman

• Trophy Master
  • Addicted to curves
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 Trophy
  • City / Town: Casa Grande
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2014, 05:08:31 pm »
I live in southern AZ... hot as hell. I always ride with motorcycle boots and overpants and have not noticed any excessive heat (actually any heat at all). Triumph has done a good job of copying the BMW RT heat management design so the only heat I could see being radiated at your feet is coming off of the transmission casing. YMMV as evidenced by the comments from W8d4it
Serial BMW rider

Offline Travelling2bob

• Trophy Master
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Sale
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2014, 08:42:25 pm »