Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: TPMS Battery low  (Read 23245 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online trophied

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2887
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: New Braunfels, Tx
  • Country: USA
Re: TPMS Battery low
« Reply #80 on: May 24, 2018, 11:40:47 PM »
Best to you. :028:
One of the Founding Members of the Twisted Trophies

Offline DonTom

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1977
  • Don & Tom in Gulin, China
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 TTSE & 8 others
  • City / Town: Auburn,CA or Reno,NV
  • Country: USA
Re: TPMS Battery low
« Reply #81 on: May 27, 2018, 04:33:35 AM »
I disabled the TTSE TPMS and put in a cheap Chinese one as I mentioned in a previous message in this thread. Other than my software hassles, to disable the TPMS, the complete installation took about three minutes.

The front sensor clears the right front brake caliper by around a half inch at the worse case.

I have it installed on top of the left lid using a metric screw and a couple of nuts and washers.  I plugged a cheap one dollar  12V to five volt plug in  converter (From a dollar store here in the USA)  into the 12 volt outlet inside the lid and drilled a couple of small holes in the lid, one for the metric mounting screw (not supplied--as it comes with a handlebar mount that I am not using). The other hole to fit the USB cable. This cheap TPMS will display with its own internal battery and will charge and display while the engine is running. It also has an audio alarm to get your attention, if psi goes below or above where thresholds are set. For tire temp also. I will try using the defaults for now. If it's loud enough to hear on the freeway, I doubt, but display will always be on when riding. It comes on by the slightest vibration, such as riding or a small tap on the unit when parked.  Mine will stay on for 62 seconds after the tap.

The psi shown below reads exactly the same as my $42.00 Harley Davidson tire gauge. This cheap unit is even more accurate than the TTSE's TPMS.


 Here is a photo of what I did:




-Don-  Reno, NV
Original owner of:
1971 Black BMW R75/5, 1984 Red Yamaha Venture
2002 Yellow Suzuki DR200SE
2013 Blue (the faster color!) Triumph Trophy SE
2016 Orange/Black Kaw Versy 650 LT/2016 Orange Moto Guzzi Stelvio/2017 Zero 6.5 DS/2017/Zero SR 13 w/Pwr Tank/2017 Gold/Black Harley FLTRU Road Glide Ultra

Online trophied

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2887
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: New Braunfels, Tx
  • Country: USA
Re: TPMS Battery low
« Reply #82 on: May 27, 2018, 10:14:03 PM »
I already have a waterproof USB port for my GPS velcro'd with adhesive back on the front of the tank cover, and I have another one so I could add another in the same spot to power the TPM receiver unit.
One of the Founding Members of the Twisted Trophies

Offline DonTom

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1977
  • Don & Tom in Gulin, China
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 TTSE & 8 others
  • City / Town: Auburn,CA or Reno,NV
  • Country: USA
Re: TPMS Battery low
« Reply #83 on: May 27, 2018, 11:28:34 PM »
I went for a 150 mile ride today.  And here are a couple of very minor changes I made.

The default for the alarm sounded and flashed the display for the rear tire high PSI when the rear tire got to 46 psi. So I adjusted the high PSI alarm to 52 psi and all was fine.

The left handle bar, when riding straight, made it very difficult to view the TPMS monitor without a special effort. So I used a horn bracket to move the TPMS monitor up by the right corner of the left speaker, so I can now view it with no effort. I am using the same mounting screw to hold the horn bracket. The door will still open normally, even with everything left connected.

The alarm sound is very weak. Cannot be heard until stopped. But the flashing of the problem tire psi on the display makes it obvious, such as I got with my high PSI alarm today.

-Don-  Reno, NV
« Last Edit: May 27, 2018, 11:30:26 PM by DonTom »
Original owner of:
1971 Black BMW R75/5, 1984 Red Yamaha Venture
2002 Yellow Suzuki DR200SE
2013 Blue (the faster color!) Triumph Trophy SE
2016 Orange/Black Kaw Versy 650 LT/2016 Orange Moto Guzzi Stelvio/2017 Zero 6.5 DS/2017/Zero SR 13 w/Pwr Tank/2017 Gold/Black Harley FLTRU Road Glide Ultra

Offline DonTom

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1977
  • Don & Tom in Gulin, China
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 TTSE & 8 others
  • City / Town: Auburn,CA or Reno,NV
  • Country: USA
Re: TPMS Battery low
« Reply #84 on: May 28, 2018, 10:39:45 PM »
Here is what the completed job looks like:

Bracket side view:



After parked for a couple of minutes:



After a light tap on TPMS monitor With handlebars for riding straight (as seen while riding):





-Don-  Reno, NV
Original owner of:
1971 Black BMW R75/5, 1984 Red Yamaha Venture
2002 Yellow Suzuki DR200SE
2013 Blue (the faster color!) Triumph Trophy SE
2016 Orange/Black Kaw Versy 650 LT/2016 Orange Moto Guzzi Stelvio/2017 Zero 6.5 DS/2017/Zero SR 13 w/Pwr Tank/2017 Gold/Black Harley FLTRU Road Glide Ultra

Offline Big Chris

  • Trophy Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Crowborough
  • Country: UK
Re: TPMS Battery low
« Reply #85 on: August 03, 2018, 07:31:53 PM »
Hi Guys,

New here and seriously considering buying a 2014 with 28,000 miles on the clock. Only issue seems to be that the good old TPMS is not working. Nothing is showing on the panel.

Questions:

If the batteries run competely flat, will there be NO indication on the instrument panel and NO flashing light.

I know our dear main dealers say they are sealed unit and need to be replaced but has anyone replaced the batteries successfully and what number battery is it?

If batteries are replaced, does it need to be recalibrated or is this only when a TPM is replaced.

Thanks guys.

I need to make a decision on this bike but first need a bit help in assessing how big a problem I have here.

Offline ikkieman

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Silver Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Gouda
  • Country: Netherlands
Re: TPMS Battery low
« Reply #86 on: August 03, 2018, 08:05:59 PM »
Hey Chris,
First thing, TPSM isn't a be all, end all and it should NOT be a dealbreaker. Batteries can be replaced (see here on the forum), sensors can be replaced (ask your dealer) but nothing can replace a ride.
Especially one as nice as the trophy.
You should ask for either a replacement of the TPMS-sensors or a deal of about $500 off to replace the sensors yourself, using the guide posted elsewhere on the forum
There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man; true nobility is being superior to your former self.

Offline Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 6953
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: TPMS Battery low
« Reply #87 on: August 03, 2018, 08:16:36 PM »
Hi Big Chris,

First of all - have you taken the Trophy for a Test Ride ?

The TPMS Pressure readings are only activated after the bike
has started moving, and exceeds 12 MPH !

If you HAVE had the test Ride ( why haven't you already bought it ?  :745: ) .....

From the Owners Handbook :

When the battery voltage in a pressure sensor is low,
"TPMS - BATTERY LOW - FRONT ( or  REAR ) TYRE"
will be displayed for eight seconds.

If the batteries are completely flat, only dashes will be visible in the display screen,
the Red TPMS warning light will be ON, and the TPMS symbol will flash continuously.

If the batteries have completely flattened, as above,
the previous Owner may have had the TPMS system disabled -
either by a Triumph Dealer, or themself - if it was within the last 4 months or so,
when a Software update allowed use of the after market DealerTool device,
for owners to enable or disable this system.

Some Members have reported success in replacing the batteries of the TPMS sensor,
but there appear to be two different types - one which is well sealed, and the other with a lid that can be carefullty prised off, and you won't know which type you have until you get the tyre off,
or at least completely deflated, to enable you to access it !

Here's a Topic about replacing the batteries :

Replace tpms battery

Individal sensors have individual Code numbers that are programmed to the Trophy ECU,
and this can ONLY be done by a Triumph Dealer, the function is not ( yet ! ) available in DealerTool.

Some Members have also tried other solutions such as the Garmin externally mounted
Tyre Pressure sensors, connected to their compatible Garmin Sat Nav device,
but these aren't "cheap" either !

Hope this helps !



 
« Last Edit: August 03, 2018, 08:38:08 PM by Coconut »
Smiles are infectious,and they are FREE,
so if you see someone without one, give them one of yours :-)

 


tweedy-bunch