Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: RAM GPS Mount  (Read 2833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bigcountry

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 292
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 15 Trophy, 06 Tiger
  • City / Town: Gretna, LA
  • Country: USA
RAM GPS Mount
« on: March 15, 2015, 07:00:08 pm »
Gents,

I wanted to add the OEM GPS mount to my new Trophy.   I wasn't sure if it would allow me to use my Garmin 550 (waterproof/motorcycle version); consequently, I tried the RAM mount that used for my 2010 Tiger.  I loaded the images to my Gallery (new) and I will attempt to post the shot here.    I went for ride yesterday using my new contraption, at times I had to adjust for angle/sun....once I got it right it worked fine.   I got both items (3 years ago) from Amazon for under $200.00 (refurbished GPS).   I wanted to share.   Cheers BC
[smg id=1042]
[smg id=1043];
Big Country

Offline cropbiker

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4934
  • Midlands biker
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Worcester
  • Country: UK
Re: RAM GPS Mount
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2015, 07:04:39 pm »
The RAM kit is certainly a very flexible and adaptable system... Will give a mounting option for pretty much anything, anywhere!
Triumph Trophy! Not for every Tomaz, Dieter or Herman!🇬🇧

Offline Stoney

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 818
    • View Profile
  • Bike: '13 & '17 TT SE
  • City / Town: Simi Valley, Ca
  • Country: USA
Re: RAM GPS Mount
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2015, 07:28:12 pm »
*Originally Posted by cropbiker [+]
The RAM kit is certainly a very flexible and adaptable system... Will give a mounting option for pretty much anything, anywhere!

Yes it is!  I use RAM mounts for motorcycles, bicycles, and several items in my Jeep. I've never had anything of theirs break, ever!  I wish I had invested in their company early on - it must be worth a fortune now! 
STONEY

Offline silverstripes

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1071
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy
  • City / Town: Chudleigh, Devon, UK
  • Country: UK
Re: RAM GPS Mount
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2015, 08:34:16 pm »
Hi Zumo 550 does fit the oem mount. Just use bottom hole of cradle in top holes of mount. This move it up a little to clear the gear indicator. I did make a plate to sandwich between mount and cradle. Plenty have done this search garmin 550 mounted.  :062:
It wasn't me !!

Offline bigcountry

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 292
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 15 Trophy, 06 Tiger
  • City / Town: Gretna, LA
  • Country: USA
Re: RAM GPS Mount
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2015, 10:59:37 pm »
Ok silverstripe, good to know.   At this point, free was better than $85 U.S.  I do like the look of the OEM mount too! 
Big Country

Offline ibpete

  • Ex Member
  • *
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Triumph Trophy
  • City / Town: Chula Vista
  • Country: USA
Re: RAM GPS Mount
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2015, 03:14:51 am »
*Originally Posted by bigcountry [+]
I wanted to share.   Cheers BC

While we're sharing. I've got more crap than one mount will handle.
I made some triple tree RAM mounts but the GPSs were too far below field of vision so I made the dash shelf. The triple tree mount is now for my cup holder or Spot or whatever.
Mike Langford [aka IB Pete] IBA#341
I really hate it when I commit to running a yellow light and the guy in front of me chickens out.