Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Main Stand Problems - Still !!  (Read 12021 times)

Offline paulbaker1954

• Trophy Member
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE 2014
  • City / Town: Warrington UK
Main Stand Problems - Still !!
« on: March 17, 2015, 08:20:46 am »
Recently acquired a 2014 Trophy and really pleased except for one big issue.

I am quite small build and a short leg so have installed the Ling lowering kit which really helps with getting both feet down.

The big problem  is getting the beast on the main stand. :233: :233: :233:

I have watched aall the videos on "how to" but still cannot get this heavy burden on the main stand even if I put a one inch wood packer under real wheel to raise it first.

I had a 1050 Sprint before and had no issue at all getting this on the main stand. :002: :002: :002:

As a qualified engineer, I have come to the conclusion this is a fundamental Triumph design issue. Quite simple there is not enough leverage exerted. Maybe Triumph only wants Gorillas to ride Trophys, god forbid if you were a woman.

I think  the answer is to get the main stand shortened so here are my questions

1) Has anyone had similar experiences/views re the mainstand design

2) Has anyone shortened their main stand if so where did you cut/shorten it.
2014 Trophy Se
1971 Honda 500 Four K0

I'll just be 5 minutes !!!!

Offline Saaz

• Trophy Master
    • View Profile
Re: Main Stand Problems - Still !!
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2015, 08:36:36 am »
I find the main stand about the same or a bit easier than my ST1100. I know on the ST1100 that even fitting a slightly lower profile rear tyre made it harder to get on the centre stand, so lowering links must make it a lot harder, and not really as Triumph designed the bike so can't really blame them.  I am 5'8" and 70 kgs so no gorilla. You do have to be definite in standing on the foot of the stand while pulling up and back on the pillion rail even as standard.