Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Remote control for warning lights  (Read 2624 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jofo

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
  • Bike: TTSE Blue
  • City / Town: Paris
  • Country: France
Remote control for warning lights
« on: March 31, 2015, 12:35:46 pm »
Bonjour Ó toutes et Ó tous.

Riding in Paris, especially the Ring is a daily challenge.

I'm used to it but for better being seen, as 90% of the french riders, I prefer to lit the warning lights on.

But, the central button is not really easy to find whilst riding (even dangerous).

I tried a search and I didn't find anything about the possibility of adding a remote control for the warning lights.

Any ideas ?

Jofo
Before I owned a BMW... But that was before...

Offline silverstripes

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1071
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy
  • City / Town: Chudleigh, Devon, UK
  • Country: UK
Re: Remote control for warning lights
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2015, 12:57:27 pm »
Hi Jofo

Why not fit something like these:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4LED-Emergency-Flashing-Strobe-Dashboard-Lightbar-Car-Truck-Van-Yellow-Amber-/221717752942?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item339f686c6e

I have two fitted under the main light under the small panel with two bolts that the sensor is mounted to. They work very well can be switched and yet you still use your indicators.
It wasn't me !!

Offline jofo

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
  • Bike: TTSE Blue
  • City / Town: Paris
  • Country: France
Re: Remote control for warning lights
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2015, 01:12:47 pm »
Hello Silverstripes,

From a legal standpoint, it doesn't seem to be allowed in France, but it looks good.

From a personnal standpoint, I wish to keep the lady as is, avoiding additional parts (except crashbars, but that's done).

Anyway, thanks for the idea.

Jofo
Before I owned a BMW... But that was before...

Offline sin_tiger

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 325
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE Lunar
  • City / Town: Maybole
  • Country: UK
Re: Remote control for warning lights
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2015, 02:30:33 pm »
This might suit you:-

Helmet Lights

Or if you just want something that could be added to the bars:-

MotoGadget M-Switch

Offline TriumphTrophySeRider

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • 2013 TTSE Silver
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Kortenberg
  • Country: Belgium
Re: Remote control for warning lights
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2015, 09:15:48 pm »
Bonsoir Jofo,

I have the same issue riding during traffic jams in Brussels. Most Belgian bikers do use the warning lights when filtering on the highway or in the city and you are right about the switch beeing badly placed to be activated quickly and/or safely. 

I think the best way would be to rewire a switch on the bars. An original Tiger switch (see Tiger accessories) can be mounted on the front brake fluid tank fittings right on the bars. I was thinking do do the same.

And actualy the m-Switch is not so bad. It can be ordered with 3 buttons. Can be switching fog lihts front, back and the warning signal too  :046:

Ride safely
Billy     
« Last Edit: April 01, 2015, 09:53:37 pm by TriumphTrophySeRider »

Offline jofo

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
  • Bike: TTSE Blue
  • City / Town: Paris
  • Country: France
Re: Remote control for warning lights
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2015, 09:50:37 pm »
Bonsoir Billy,

It's probably where I'm going.

Putting a switch on the bar is the best thing to do, and you're right rewiring should be possible, and it will keep the system as is.

I was considering drilling the battery cover plate but after parsing the forum I found better ideas.
https://www.triumph-trophy.com/index.php/topic,1730.0.html

Anyway, once it's done I put some pictures.

Jofo
Before I owned a BMW... But that was before...

Offline TriumphTrophySeRider

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • 2013 TTSE Silver
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Kortenberg
  • Country: Belgium
Re: Remote control for warning lights
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2015, 10:11:31 pm »
Bonsoir Jofo,

Maybe on the trottle box there is a place where a big switch can be mounted. As on the left hand grip box, there are two, the lights swith and the scroll switch?

Let us know when you're done it? I'm really intersted!

Bonne nuit et roule cool :017:
Billy