Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Fuse for Cruise control  (Read 10827 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jordbarnet

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Marlton
  • Country: USA
Fuse for Cruise control
« on: April 11, 2015, 01:47:15 pm »
Just drove up to Newark from Southern NJ .   After pulling out of a rest stop, the Cruise control refused to turn back on.   I am presuming it is a fuse.    It had been working until I gassed up to resume my travel.   The owners manual doesn't seem to identify or note the location for the fuse for cruise control.

Any guidance?

Thank you in advance!

Offline Older traveler

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • USE IT !!!
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Bridgeton NJ
  • Country: USA
Re: Fuse for Cruise control
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2015, 01:54:23 pm »
The same thing happened to me. Lucky I was in driving range of the dealer. It turned out to be a short in the switch. Dealer said it was a bad solder job. I had about 1200 miles on the bike when it happened. Sorry I can’t help you out with the fuse but this gives you something else you might look at if it’s not the fuse.

Good Luck
Gene

Offline Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 9475
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: Fuse for Cruise control
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2015, 05:17:41 pm »
Hi jordbarnet,

I'll check the Service Manual later to see if that gives any guidance on a fuse for the Cruise control,
however there are several reasons why the Cruise control might not engage :

Cruise Control On/Off switch set to OFF !  :138:   :008:
Indicated Speed out of range ( must be between 30 & 100 MPH ),
Incorrect gear selected ( must be 4th, 5th or 6th ),
Faulty Clutch lever switch ( stuck ON ),
Faulty Front Brake switch ( stuck ON ),
Faulty Rear Brake switch ( stuck ON ),
Faulty Throttle "Roll-Off" switch ( stuck ON ).

Do you have any Fault Codes showing up ?
( See here for how to display them on your Instrument Panel : Servicing Data and Reference Information





« Last Edit: April 11, 2015, 05:20:44 pm by Coconut »

Offline Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 9475
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: Fuse for Cruise control
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2015, 06:25:42 pm »
Update :

There does not appear to be a specific Fuse for the Cruise Control.


Offline shyoung1

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Front Royal
  • Country: USA
Re: Fuse for Cruise control
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2015, 04:38:10 am »
I am probably a big dummy, because it took me a year of cussing that cruise control, only using on trips, never use it locally, before I figured out, the on/off switch is a two position switch. In other words, the switch would be in and I would push it to activate cruise control, and I would be turning it off! When I finally figured it out, I just always keep the switch pushed in or on, so the cruise is ready to use at any time! Anyone else have this problem?

Offline Saaz

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1079
    • View Profile
  • Country: Australia
Re: Fuse for Cruise control
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2015, 05:42:12 am »
I just leave the button on all the time. It is so easy to go too fast through speed cameras, so I use it as much as I do in the car.

No mention at all in the wiring diagram of the cruise control switches, which is odd as it must have wires going somewhere into the ECU.

Offline john348

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1524
    • View Profile
  • Bike: sprint1050 tiger955
  • City / Town: Farndon
  • Country: UK
Re: Fuse for Cruise control
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2015, 12:25:26 pm »
Yes also just leave it turned on and then the rocker switch (+ - and Set Reset) ready to use. 

Offline jordbarnet

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Marlton
  • Country: USA
Re: Fuse for Cruise control
« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2015, 02:23:28 pm »
I discovered on the ride home pulling the rear break pedal up with my toe allowed the cruise control to work.  I clearly have to adjust one of the two cylinder thingies ( no idea what to call them) which latch onto the rear break pedal.   Which one? 

 



tweedy-bunch