Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Fuse for Cruise control  (Read 12629 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline jordbarnet   us

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    156
    • ***
    • Topic Author

    Offline jordbarnet

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 156
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Marlton
    • Country: us
    Fuse for Cruise control
    on: Apr 11, 2015, 01.47 pm
    Apr 11, 2015, 01.47 pm
    Just drove up to Newark from Southern NJ .   After pulling out of a rest stop, the Cruise control refused to turn back on.   I am presuming it is a fuse.    It had been working until I gassed up to resume my travel.   The owners manual doesn't seem to identify or note the location for the fuse for cruise control.

    Any guidance?

    Thank you in advance!

  • Offline Older traveler

    • Trophy Member  ‐    54
    • **
      #1

    Offline Older traveler

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 54
    • USE IT !!!
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Bridgeton NJ
    Re: Fuse for Cruise control
    Reply #1 on: Apr 11, 2015, 01.54 pm
    Apr 11, 2015, 01.54 pm
    The same thing happened to me. Lucky I was in driving range of the dealer. It turned out to be a short in the switch. Dealer said it was a bad solder job. I had about 1200 miles on the bike when it happened. Sorry I canít help you out with the fuse but this gives you something else you might look at if itís not the fuse.

    Good Luck
    Gene

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10138
    • *****
      #2

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10138
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fuse for Cruise control
    Reply #2 on: Apr 11, 2015, 05.17 pm
    Apr 11, 2015, 05.17 pm
    Hi jordbarnet,

    I'll check the Service Manual later to see if that gives any guidance on a fuse for the Cruise control,
    however there are several reasons why the Cruise control might not engage :

    Cruise Control On/Off switch set to OFF !  :138:   :008:
    Indicated Speed out of range ( must be between 30 & 100 MPH ),
    Incorrect gear selected ( must be 4th, 5th or 6th ),
    Faulty Clutch lever switch ( stuck ON ),
    Faulty Front Brake switch ( stuck ON ),
    Faulty Rear Brake switch ( stuck ON ),
    Faulty Throttle "Roll-Off" switch ( stuck ON ).

    Do you have any Fault Codes showing up ?
    ( See here for how to display them on your Instrument Panel : Servicing Data and Reference Information





    Last Edit: Apr 11, 2015, 05.20 pm by Coconut

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10138
    • *****
      #3

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10138
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fuse for Cruise control
    Reply #3 on: Apr 11, 2015, 06.25 pm
    Apr 11, 2015, 06.25 pm
    Update :

    There does not appear to be a specific Fuse for the Cruise Control.


  • Offline shyoung1

    • Trophy Member  ‐    73
    • **
      #4

    Offline shyoung1

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 73
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Front Royal
    Re: Fuse for Cruise control
    Reply #4 on: Apr 12, 2015, 04.38 am
    Apr 12, 2015, 04.38 am
    I am probably a big dummy, because it took me a year of cussing that cruise control, only using on trips, never use it locally, before I figured out, the on/off switch is a two position switch. In other words, the switch would be in and I would push it to activate cruise control, and I would be turning it off! When I finally figured it out, I just always keep the switch pushed in or on, so the cruise is ready to use at any time! Anyone else have this problem?

  • Offline Saaz   au

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1079
    • ****
      #5

    Offline Saaz

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 1079
    • Country: au
    Re: Fuse for Cruise control
    Reply #5 on: Apr 12, 2015, 05.42 am
    Apr 12, 2015, 05.42 am
    I just leave the button on all the time. It is so easy to go too fast through speed cameras, so I use it as much as I do in the car.

    No mention at all in the wiring diagram of the cruise control switches, which is odd as it must have wires going somewhere into the ECU.

  • Offline john348   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1524
    • ****
      #6

    Offline john348

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 1524
    • Bike: sprint1050 tiger955
    • City / Town: Farndon
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fuse for Cruise control
    Reply #6 on: Apr 12, 2015, 12.25 pm
    Apr 12, 2015, 12.25 pm
    Yes also just leave it turned on and then the rocker switch (+ - and Set Reset) ready to use. 

  • Offline jordbarnet   us

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    156
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #7

    Offline jordbarnet

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 156
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Marlton
    • Country: us
    Re: Fuse for Cruise control
    Reply #7 on: Apr 12, 2015, 02.23 pm
    Apr 12, 2015, 02.23 pm
    I discovered on the ride home pulling the rear break pedal up with my toe allowed the cruise control to work.  I clearly have to adjust one of the two cylinder thingies ( no idea what to call them) which latch onto the rear break pedal.   Which one? 

     



    tweedy-bunch