Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: How To: Install the factory top box  (Read 31832 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Jockland   nl

    • Trophy Member  ‐    10
    • **
      #48

    Offline Jockland

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 10
    • Jockland
    • Bike: Trophy 1200 se
    • City / Town: Rosendaal
    • Country: nl
    Re: How To: Install the factory top box
    Reply #48 on: May 07, 2022, 07.30 pm
    May 07, 2022, 07.30 pm
    All done and happy , but no power to box .  Used official triumph install kit but on test meter no power at case connector on slider .  Any ideas and which fuse will this be drawing from ?

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9941
    • *****
      #49

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9941
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: How To: Install the factory top box
    Reply #49 on: May 07, 2022, 07.41 pm
    May 07, 2022, 07.41 pm
    Hi Jockland,

    I'm assuming you found the connector buried behind the rear left panel,
    and connected the plug for the Sliding Carriage wiring into the socket there,
    but did you fit the Relay into the spare position behind the Right hand Side Panel ?

    Relay Number 4 :



    Power to the Relay actually comes from Fuse Number 6 of the rear Fusebox
    which also controls the Position Lights, Brake Light and Horn, so if those work - it's not the fuse !

    Cheers  :821:

    Last Edit: May 07, 2022, 07.47 pm by Coconut

  • Offline Jockland   nl

    • Trophy Member  ‐    10
    • **
      #50

    Offline Jockland

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 10
    • Jockland
    • Bike: Trophy 1200 se
    • City / Town: Rosendaal
    • Country: nl
    Re: How To: Install the factory top box
    Reply #50 on: May 07, 2022, 11.00 pm
    May 07, 2022, 11.00 pm
    I placed relay it on the left side Ö.. thatís tomorrows job - thanks coconut will get back to you

  • Offline Jockland   nl

    • Trophy Member  ‐    10
    • **
      #51

    Offline Jockland

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 10
    • Jockland
    • Bike: Trophy 1200 se
    • City / Town: Rosendaal
    • Country: nl
    Re: How To: Install the factory top box
    Reply #51 on: May 07, 2022, 11.43 pm
    May 07, 2022, 11.43 pm
    *Originally Posted by Jockland [+]
    I placed relay it on the left side Ö.. thatís tomorrows job - thanks coconut will get back to you
    @coconut - you are a star , couldnít wait until tomorrow Ö..all working - thank you
    Last Edit: May 07, 2022, 11.45 pm by Jockland

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9941
    • *****
      #52

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9941
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: How To: Install the factory top box
    Reply #52 on: May 08, 2022, 07.44 am
    May 08, 2022, 07.44 am
    Thanks for the update - Good to see you now have it working  :152:

    Happy to have been able to help - as always !  :028:

    Cheers  :821:

    ( p.s. the "@" thing isn't used in this Forum ! )


  • Offline Novocastrian   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    652
    • ****
      #53

    Offline Novocastrian

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 652
    • Bike: TTSE
    • City / Town: Tynemouth
    • Country: gb
    Re: How To: Install the factory top box
    Reply #53 on: May 08, 2022, 09.18 am
    May 08, 2022, 09.18 am
    I've found out this week that when you remove and replace the factory base unit that accommodates the top box, it is very easy to nip the power supply cable and cut right through it if it should get in the way of the base unit rests.  This was particularly annoying as I only had to remove the base unit to then remove my entire INNOVV K2 installation to send to away for repair/replacement.

    What then infuriated me is finding out I thought I had bought a British product but had to send it back to China, where their helpdesk and supply operation is, despite masquerading under the pretence they were based in Great Britain using a UK address and telephone number and website suffix code......sneaky.

    A few lessons learnt from this experience  :006:
    Ken Hastie
    TTSE, a handful of BSAs, a Vespa 300 and an MGB