Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Range to empty display  (Read 3763 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Phil

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy
  • City / Town: London
  • Country: UK
Range to empty display
« on: July 06, 2015, 11:12:10 pm »
Has anyone tested the accuracy of the "Range to Empty" display.   I don't trust them since running out of fuel when the display read 37 miles.   OK, it was on a different bike and a few years ago so hopefully Triumph are using more up to date technology and the display gives an accurate indication.  This evening the display showed 25 miles to empty and it was still going strong? 


Freeway Phil    :084:

Offline Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 9392
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: Range to empty display
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2015, 11:22:00 pm »
.... the display showed 25 miles to empty and it was still going strong?

Fuel is drawn from the bottom of the tank, so as long as there is still fuel being delivered to the engine,
it will still be"going strong"  ..... until the fuel runs out then it will be "going nowhere" !   :015:


Offline atrophy

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 512
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 13 Trophy SE silver
  • City / Town: SW Ohio
  • Country: USA
Re: Range to empty display
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2015, 11:33:25 pm »
I just filled mine when it said 60 miles left.  It also said I had used 4.5 gallons.
 I put 5.5 gallons in it. 
I'll look at those displays but I'll still reset the mileage and fill up based on that.  This thing is too heavy to push.
2016 Tiger 800XR  Black
2013 Trophy Lunar Silver

Exclusively using recycled electrons since 2004
IBA 24605

Offline RocketSteve

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 587
    • View Profile
  • Bike: TTSE & Boss Hoss
  • City / Town: Bideford
  • Country: UK
Re: Range to empty display
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2015, 09:10:38 am »
I had a fun moment with that dash option recently and decided to self impose my Reserve Tank limit to 1 gallon - or - 45 miles max, anything beyond that can get a bit hairy! :002:

Edit: Reserve Tank is measured after the orange fuel warning light switches on :038:
« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 09:15:03 am by RocketSteve »
To test a man's character, give him (horse) power.

Offline Verdun95

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2781
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy 1200 SE
  • City / Town: by CDG Airport
  • Country: France
Re: Range to empty display
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2015, 09:16:59 am »
*Originally Posted by Phil Freeway [+]
Has anyone tested the accuracy of the "Range to Empty" display.   Freeway Phil    :084:

I don't think it's very acurate since I let it go down to zero and still could do another 25 kms  (16 miles) before refueling. I did not dare going beyond that eventhough I was not riding alone and my friend had a hand syphon on board!
An old biker must be a good rider

Offline w8d4it

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 5337
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Triumph Trophy
  • City / Town: Houston Texas
  • Country: USA
Re: Range to empty display
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2015, 09:18:23 am »
You may find the answers extensively  discussed in this related thread helpful

https://www.triumph-trophy.com/index.php/topic,3746.msg47895.html#msg47895
Proudly Riding Triumph Since 1968
2013 Triumph Trophy SE
2001 Sprint 955 ST

Offline Volfy

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 690
    • View Profile
  • City / Town: Gulf Coast
  • Country: USA
Re: Range to empty display
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2015, 02:24:26 pm »
*Originally Posted by atrophy [+]
I'll look at those displays but I'll still reset the mileage and fill up based on that.  This thing is too heavy to push.
+1.
Converto, ergo sum.       '15 300RR, '15 250XCF-W, '14 K1600GT, '12 VFR1200, '05 GSXR600 (track).

Offline Ernest T

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1088
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Salado, Texas
  • Country: USA
Re: Range to empty display
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2015, 02:26:57 pm »
It's not very accurate and pretty pessimistic.  I've ridden more than 30 miles with "0" showing on the display.