Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Garmin mount or mt garmin summit  (Read 3165 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline drstimpy

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 silver
  • City / Town: Rochester, MA
  • Country: USA
Garmin mount or mt garmin summit
« on: July 16, 2015, 11:51:54 pm »
I'm not asking for much...just a sano mount for my 660.

The triumph accessory wiring gives me a 4 hole mounting plate and 2 wires(12v supply).

The garmin mount barfs out a bunch of wires I don't need...sound, antenna, etc.  :084:

Has anyone stripped off the big black wire cover on their 660 mount so they can direct connect to a 2 wire 12v source?  Looking for a nice clean option.

Thanks
Some must watch while others must sleep

Offline Studley

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2015 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Vancouver
  • Country: Canada
Re: Garmin mount or mt garmin summit
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 03:28:20 am »
Hey drstimpy. Did that last night in fact. Black = - red = +, in line fuze and Bob's your uncle. I don't listen to Silicon Sally "your off route" either so you should be good with that. I went straight to battery so I can power up and route without starting the bike.

Hope that helps

Studley

Offline Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 9389
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: Garmin mount or mt garmin summit
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2015, 08:05:59 am »
Hi drstimpy,

I've never taken one apart, but Forum Member sin_tiger has,
and in this post : Zumo installation frustration 
I managed to obtain a wiring schematic from Garmin ( Reply #5 ),
for the various pin connections, which might be useful for you.

Cheers  :821:



Offline drstimpy

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 silver
  • City / Town: Rochester, MA
  • Country: USA
Re: Garmin mount or mt garmin summit
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2015, 11:58:45 am »
Exactly what I needed. Thanks! :028:
Some must watch while others must sleep

Offline drstimpy

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 silver
  • City / Town: Rochester, MA
  • Country: USA
Re: Garmin mount or mt garmin summit
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2015, 12:14:33 pm »
*Originally Posted by Studley [+]
Hey drstimpy. Did that last night in fact. Black = - red = +, in line fuze and Bob's your uncle. I don't listen to Silicon Sally "your off route" either so you should be good with that. I went straight to battery so I can power up and route without starting the bike.

Hope that helps

Studley
Did you just cut all the other unnecessary wires?
Thanks
Some must watch while others must sleep

Offline Studley

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2015 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Vancouver
  • Country: Canada
Re: Garmin mount or mt garmin summit
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2015, 04:16:12 pm »
Hey drstimpy, I did not cut off any of the other wires, and I don't reccomend you do that, just bundle them up with a couple of zip ties and tuck them under the space by the LH mirror. When you look at your wires coming from the cradle you should see something like the attached. Two wires are labeled on the connectors. One will say audio out, one will say mic, from left to right those would be the left two connectors in the photo. The third strand of wire with the loosest outer sheathing, which should also be the longest of the three, is the one that contains the red and black leads to battery.

Hope that helps

Studley

Offline drstimpy

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 silver
  • City / Town: Rochester, MA
  • Country: USA
Re: Garmin mount or mt garmin summit
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2015, 07:43:03 pm »
 I am tempted to cut, silicone, and discard everything I don't need.  I have a 12 V power supply out and readily available. I'd prefer not to have to lift the panels again
Some must watch while others must sleep

Offline Studley

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2015 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Vancouver
  • Country: Canada
Re: Garmin mount or mt garmin summit
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2015, 08:27:09 pm »
Hey drstimpy, IMO there is nothing to be gained by snipping wires. Take the gaggle of wires and pull the power ground wire off to the side. That should leave you with 3 cables. If you braid the three together [left over middle then right over middle then repeat] you will get a manageable bundle of wires. When you get near the end make sure you have enough of the "audio out cable" [says on the connector], to plug into the "audio in / input" of the Triumph audio system. Tape your braided lines together at the end so they don't become un-braided and fold them over into a bundle roughly 3 - 4 inches long. Zip tie your bundle and both ends and it will tuck into the space under the mirror ahead of the glove box.

The connection to the audio in/out will give you the ability to hear tunes stored on your mini SD card in the Garmin play as well as GPS navigation prompts.. You may not want that feature but the person who buys your bike may find that valuable.

Hope that helps

Studley