Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Alarm Remote problems  (Read 10010 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Stelyn

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 930
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Ashford, Kent.
  • Country: UK
Alarm Remote problems
« on: July 29, 2015, 01:45:15 pm »
Hi All, any of you `Electro' wizards  :165:  out there have any ideas on how to resolve this issue  :084:  ;    frequently  both the Datatool remote's failed to disarm the Bike,    resulting in the alarm activating to the annoyance of my neighbours as well as failure to then start the Bike.  :110:   ( Yes I know hit it with a hammer !!.   :173: )     Both remotes have new CR1616 batteries fitted.  Only by removing and re-inserting these batteries,  does this sometimes seem to work after several attempts ?    Bike is a late 2014,  and the I believe the S4 alarm unit was already fitted on it ,  probably when new.      Local Dealer suggest taking the unit out /disconnecting it as they are a PITA,    He suspects as its BOTH remotes failing to communicate with the main unit,  it may be defective..     Can I just fit a `blanking plug.  ( OEM part T2500203 ) or should I just have the bloody thing taken out as Dealer suggests ?   :017:
`Only a Motorcyclist  knows why a dog rides with his head out of the car window '

Offline clarge

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Qualicum Beach
  • Country: Canada
Re: Alarm Remote problems
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2015, 02:12:51 pm »
as long was you have jumper plug to back on when you disconnect the alarm all will be good. I leave my alarm on the bike and just have it disconnected. If go some where not to trusting it is easy to reconnect by removing the jumper plug and reconnecting the alarm plug.

Worst alarm i have seen.

Offline Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 9483
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: Alarm Remote problems
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2015, 07:03:07 pm »
Does this happen onky in a particular area ?

It has been known for external radio interference to prevent such alarm remotes from operating !

[img width=64 height=71]https://www.triumph-trophy.com/avatars_uploaded/avatar_278_1429778266.gif[/img

Offline Stelyn

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 930
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Ashford, Kent.
  • Country: UK
Re: Alarm Remote problems
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2015, 07:26:04 pm »
Hi Coconut, that's an interesting point,   as  a British Telecom building and  radio masts are  approx  600 mts  away and its within this area I have mainly had  the problems  :084:  .
Local dealer has a Blanking Plug that will be fitted as a `freebe' as it only takes minutes to fit,  so I'll go down that route,    as `clarge'  has suggested,     I can always swap it back to reactivate the system.   Never did get on with Bike Alarms..... :110:    Thanks for the help.   :028:
« Last Edit: July 30, 2015, 11:34:53 am by Stelyn »
`Only a Motorcyclist  knows why a dog rides with his head out of the car window '

Offline Nudger

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy 2013
  • City / Town: Dartford. Kent
  • Country: UK
Re: Alarm Remote problems
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2015, 08:36:23 am »
Stelyn,
Interesting to hear about your alarm issues.  I have a Datatool fitted to my 2013 Trophy, touch wood, I haven't had any problems with the alarm thus far.  However, like you, I'm not a fan of alarms.  I've decided that if it does play up in the future, I'II get rid of it.  The blanking plug sounds like a quick and convenient way of doing this.  I've not heard of it before, do you know if all Triumph Dealers offer this fix?

Offline Stelyn

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 930
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Ashford, Kent.
  • Country: UK
Re: Alarm Remote problems
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2015, 11:07:06 am »
Hi Nudger,  apparently some dealerships keep the `plugs'  back when fitting these units,  not sure if that means they originally come with the Kit or that they are stocked items.     Plenty of info via Google on these.  The only part number I could find was an OEM  T2500203 if that helps.   You just fit the plug into the main feed to deactivate and allow` starting' as its a `wiring loop' .    I'm getting one next week,  I'll ask the Dealer about stock / ordering in for you.   ( they check the part against your VIN to verify correct plug for wiring loom )
Regards
Steve....... :305:
« Last Edit: July 30, 2015, 11:13:06 am by Stelyn »
`Only a Motorcyclist  knows why a dog rides with his head out of the car window '

Offline clarge

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Qualicum Beach
  • Country: Canada
Re: Alarm Remote problems
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2015, 01:12:48 am »
the "blanking plug" is one the bike from factory. they just remove it to install the alarm as the alarm is made of the bike. The plug is suppose to be sent back to the alarm company after it is fitted. also when the alarm is fitted that are to install shrink warp around the connection to stop tampering with the alarm.
When my alarm was fitted, they handed me the plug and that shrink in case i wanted to remove the alarm.
AS the bike comes with an immobilizer any ways. the alarm many just makes noise if the bike is tampered with.
Having had my bike towed home because the alarm screwed up, i always kept the plug with me just in case in need to disable the alarm.

Offline Nudger

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy 2013
  • City / Town: Dartford. Kent
  • Country: UK
Re: Alarm Remote problems
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2015, 08:52:19 am »
Stelyn and Clarge,

Thanks for that information, its very helpful.  I'm going to try and get a blanking plug, you never know when you might need it.  I was on a short European tour a couple of years ago with some friends. One on a BMW was stranded in France because of an alarm problem.  A blanking plug would have provided a simple and quick fix, as it was he was stuck for two days.

 



tweedy-bunch