Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Fitting garmin 590  (Read 7532 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Animal

    • Trophy Member  ‐    39
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline Animal

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 39
    • Bike: Trophy
    • City / Town: Malmesbury
    Fitting garmin 590
    on: Aug 22, 2015, 05.35 pm
    Aug 22, 2015, 05.35 pm
    Hi, i will be fitting my 590 when i get back from my holiday.  My question is,  can i wire the power lead straight to the battery.  I have the standard Trophy not the SE. I realise it will be live all the time, but when i get off the bike the sat nav will come off too. So there won't be any drain on the battery when the bike isn't used.  Thanks guys.
    English not British !

  • Offline johnbut   gb

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    222
    • ***
      #1

    Offline johnbut

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 222
    • Bike: triumph trophy
    • City / Town: East Yorkshire
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fitting garmin 590
    Reply #1 on: Aug 22, 2015, 07.08 pm
    Aug 22, 2015, 07.08 pm
    Yes that's how I have done mine, no problems.

  • Offline Animal

    • Trophy Member  ‐    39
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline Animal

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 39
    • Bike: Trophy
    • City / Town: Malmesbury
    Re: Fitting garmin 590
    Reply #2 on: Aug 22, 2015, 07.12 pm
    Aug 22, 2015, 07.12 pm
    Excellent.  Thank you. There shouldn't be any problems as there is an in line fuse anyway isn't there x
    English not British !

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10627
    • *****
      #3

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10627
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fitting garmin 590
    Reply #3 on: Aug 22, 2015, 08.50 pm
    Aug 22, 2015, 08.50 pm
    .... or you could splice into the wires feeding the Power socket in the Glove box -

    They are easily accessible after removing the 2 screws holding the Glove box in place
    ( one outside and one inside ) and removng the glove box
    ( which is also held in at the front edge by two pegs pushed into rubber grommets,
    so after removing the screws, pull the glove box up and backwards to disengage them ).

    That power supply is live only when the Ignition is On,
    so you're Garmin would Power Up and Down with the Ignition  :028:


  • Offline Animal

    • Trophy Member  ‐    39
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Offline Animal

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 39
    • Bike: Trophy
    • City / Town: Malmesbury
    Re: Fitting garmin 590
    Reply #4 on: Aug 23, 2015, 08.30 am
    Aug 23, 2015, 08.30 am
    Didn't think of that. That's a better idea. Thanks x
    English not British !

  • Offline Animal

    • Trophy Member  ‐    39
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #5

    Offline Animal

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 39
    • Bike: Trophy
    • City / Town: Malmesbury
    Re: Fitting garmin 590
    Reply #5 on: Aug 23, 2015, 08.34 am
    Aug 23, 2015, 08.34 am
    If I'm using that socket to charge my phone etc, and running the sat nav off the same supply. Will it be ok. Or could it blow a  fuse.
    English not British !

  • Offline trophied   us

    • Trophy God  ‐    5649
    • *****
      #6

    Offline trophied

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 5649
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: New Braunfels, Tx
    • Country: us
    Re: Fitting garmin 590
    Reply #6 on: Aug 23, 2015, 03.53 pm
    Aug 23, 2015, 03.53 pm
    Without looking up the amp draw on the 590 my guess would be there is no way the Garmin and Phone could possibly overload the 12V socket since a 12V plug to USB adapter generally only furnish a max of 2.1A to power a phone or other device.  According to the 3BR Powersports website their waterproof USB's can furnish 2.1A and will power most phones, tablets, mp3 players, and gps', with the exception of Samsung tablets and Blackberrys that need a special cable.  So a phone and a gps would likely only be a max draw of not more than 4.2A.  According to the the owner's manual the auxilliary power sockets are all rated at 10A.  I think you're safe.
    One of the Founding Members of the Twisted Trophies

  • Offline Animal

    • Trophy Member  ‐    39
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #7

    Offline Animal

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 39
    • Bike: Trophy
    • City / Town: Malmesbury
    Re: Fitting garmin 590
    Reply #7 on: Aug 23, 2015, 07.00 pm
    Aug 23, 2015, 07.00 pm
    Thats great. Thank you so much for your comprehensive answer.  I'll wire the 590 through the 12v socket.
    English not British !

     



    tweedy-bunch