Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] No Device  (Read 2721 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Ernest T   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1092
    • ****
    • Topic Author

    Offline Ernest T

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 1092
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Salado, Texas
    • Country: us
    No Device
    on: Sep 24, 2015, 11.48 pm
    Sep 24, 2015, 11.48 pm
    I've had an iPod plugge in from day 1 and today I got the no device message. Everything else works. I removed and replaced the iPod and the audio fuse. I have the latest firmware update. Any ideas what else to check?

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10202
    • *****
      #1

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10202
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: No Device
    Reply #1 on: Sep 25, 2015, 06.30 am
    Sep 25, 2015, 06.30 am
    Remove the Glove box : 2 screws - 1 on the outside and one on the inside,
    then lift the front edge up and rearwards to disengage the lugs from the rubber grommets,
    and then check the security of the wiring plug that attaches to the rear of the USB Socket.

    It is held on with a "bar" type of spring clip where you push the bar in to release it.
    ( Very similar to the wiring plug for the front indicators ).

    When putting it back on it should "click" into place - I've heard other Members mention
    that theirs wasn't latched on properly and over time it worked loose  :028:

    Cheers  :821:


  • Offline Ernest T   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1092
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline Ernest T

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 1092
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Salado, Texas
    • Country: us
    Re: No Device
    Reply #2 on: Sep 25, 2015, 05.25 pm
    Sep 25, 2015, 05.25 pm
    Thanks Coconut, I'll give that a try before I go to the dealer.....again.

  • Offline clarge

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    124
    • ***
      #3

    Offline clarge

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 124
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Qualicum Beach
    Re: No Device
    Reply #3 on: Sep 25, 2015, 05.30 pm
    Sep 25, 2015, 05.30 pm
    pull the fuse... easy to do. first. worked for me.

  • Offline w8d4it   us

    • Trophy God  ‐    5340
    • *****
      #4

    Offline w8d4it

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 5340
    • Bike: 2013 Triumph Trophy
    • City / Town: Houston Texas
    • Country: us
    Re: No Device
    Reply #4 on: Sep 25, 2015, 07.05 pm
    Sep 25, 2015, 07.05 pm
    Good advice all.  Also ( I mentioned this in your "had enough" post but will mention again here in case you don't see it, check with another Apple cable.  Apple cables fail frequently and even those which were known to be good can go bad.  I have several times experienced a cable which continues to provide electrical power but doesn't provide the audio connection.  I've also had the reverse occur.
    Proudly Riding Triumph Since 1968
    2013 Triumph Trophy SE
    2001 Sprint 955 ST

  • Offline Ernest T   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1092
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • #5

    Offline Ernest T

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 1092
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Salado, Texas
    • Country: us
    Re: No Device
    Reply #5 on: Sep 25, 2015, 10.26 pm
    Sep 25, 2015, 10.26 pm
     So I get home and gather up a new cable and an Allen wrench. I turn the key on, open the lid to the compartment and navigate to the iPod on the audio screen and ithe iPod comes on!  I wiggled the cable, but couldn't get the no device message. I don't know what the issue was, but it's working again.

  • Offline DaMonk45   us

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    278
    • ***
      #6

    Offline DaMonk45

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 278
    • Bike: TEX
    • City / Town: Houston
    • Country: us
    Re: No Device
    Reply #6 on: Sep 26, 2015, 02.06 pm
    Sep 26, 2015, 02.06 pm
    I Hate it when that happens.
    Electrical issues are hard enough to figure out.
    Random working, not working just makes it harder.

    I would have a look at the connectors. Did one work a bit lose?
    Any corrosion to be seen?
    Maybe a bit of di electric greese?