Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Another Newb...  (Read 5524 times)

Offline FLTRI

• Trophy Member
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2016 Road Glide Ultr
  • City / Town: Las Vegas, NV
Another Newb...
« on: October 12, 2015, 11:08:50 pm »
Hello All, Newbie here.

I'm currently riding a brand new 2016 Harley Davidson Road Glide Ultra. It's my 4th Road Glide, and I'm loving the improvements. I've also owned a 2005 BMW R1200RT, but sold it several years ago. So, what in the world am I posting on a Triumph forum for anyway, right?  :112:

Well, I have a friend that is looking for a Sport Touring bike and she wanted my advise. Knowing her riding style, I took her to the Beemer dealer. She was interested in the F800 GT. We looked at it, and it was too much sport and not enough tour for her, so she looked at the current RT. It was a *maybe* bike for her, and so we headed over to the local Triumph dealer. They had two, new and unsold, 2013 Trophy SE's on hand, and were very motivated to move them.

She currently has a broken foot, so she couldn't take a test ride. She asked me to ride it, and give her an opinion. I took out their demo bike and did about 40 miles. As I rolled back into the lot, she was waiting anxiously for my opinion. I flipped up my helmet chin bar and said, "Write 'em a check!"

Wow, what an impressive machine. Torque down low like my HD, and a top end that never seems to run out! Extremely neutral handling, light and so flickable. Much more so than I remember my BMW being. She made the deal, and had a Tour Pac (er, top box I believe it's called outside of the Harley circles) and heated grips thrown into the deal. I'm going to pick it up for her Wednesday, and she asked me if I'd put the break in miles on it. I actually thought she was kidding, but she was dead serious. What a treat, I can hardly wait for next weekend! My shiny new Harley is gonna stay parked for a bit, I'm thinking...