Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: CB Radio  (Read 6814 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jeffb

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
  • City / Town: Columbus OH
  • Country: USA
CB Radio
« on: October 14, 2015, 05:27:25 am »
Hi All -

I was wondering if anybody has mounted a CB radio, and if so, what and how?  TIA

Offline Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 9341
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: CB Radio
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2015, 06:16:51 am »
Not much call for CB Radio in the UK these days -
try using the Search Button and entering "CB Radio" -
You will get several responses to Browse through !  :028:


Offline csquared

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 Blue Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Springboro, OH
  • Country: USA
Re: CB Radio
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2015, 01:52:24 pm »
Jeff,

Welcome to the forum. You may want to introduce yourself in the New Members section so that we'll know a bit about you.

To answer your question, YES. I've mounted a Midland unit on my Trophy. If you do a search, you'll also find that some of our members have also mounted GRMS/FRS radios and some have even mounted S/W (HAM) radios. I've even read somewhere that the folks in Europe have some kind of radio that they have mounted but I'm unsure of what it's called.

I use a Sena SR10 as my hub to connect the CB or FRS/GRMS (I have both) to my Sena SMH10R.The CB or FRS/GRMS is mounted to the handlebar mirror socket using RAM components. It works pretty well although it does have a limited range, at least the way I have it configured. My use is for monitoring traffic when I'm on the interstate.

I'll post pictures later with a list of the RAM components I used.

Chuck
« Last Edit: October 14, 2015, 01:54:04 pm by csquared »
Every day is a Saturday when you're retired!

Offline silverstripes

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1071
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy
  • City / Town: Chudleigh, Devon, UK
  • Country: UK
Re: CB Radio
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2015, 04:49:42 pm »
Hi

Yes I have PMR and a licenced radio (when working with British cycling). All mounted under the seat (Non SE) and connected through an autocom, up the my helmet. Ptt mounted next to instruments on clutch side. Radio powered by the bike via a voltage regulator set for radio 7.4v.

The trick is to avoid ground loop interfrerence. Radio is powered from the battery via a relay, herefore only live when engine running as I picked the feed for the relay from the rear of the socket in the glove box. Most important thing is all the earths are common in hat they are all joined and run back to the - side of the bike battery.

Works a treat  :046: and very compact as the radio is in fact a small handheld (Boafeng GT3)
It wasn't me !!

Offline Studley

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2015 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Vancouver
  • Country: Canada
Re: CB Radio
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2015, 05:16:46 pm »
Hey Jeffb, welcome to the group. Mounted a J&M Handlebar radio to a plate that screws onto on the clutch reservoir. Wired the press to talk function into the "flash to pass"  button. J&M integrator brings the GPS & music to the party via hard wired connection to Air Rider Headset / mic.

Hope that helps

Studley

Offline Jeffb

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
  • City / Town: Columbus OH
  • Country: USA
Re: CB Radio
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2015, 06:33:06 pm »
*Originally Posted by Studley [+]
Hey Jeffb, welcome to the group. Mounted a J&M Handlebar radio to a plate that screws onto on the clutch reservoir. Wired the press to talk function into the "flash to pass"  button. J&M integrator brings the GPS & music to the party via hard wired connection to Air Rider Headset / mic.

Hope that helps

Studley

Yes, that does help.  Thanks!  Any chance of some pics?  I've got a J&M handlebar mount cb on my current ride ('98 Honda Valkyrie).  It has it's own PTT lever on the unit.  Are you somehow wiring in to that?

csquared - yours sounds like an interesting solution, also.  Yes, I would love some pics of your set-up, also!

Offline Studley

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2015 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Vancouver
  • Country: Canada
Re: CB Radio
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2015, 06:14:35 pm »
*Originally Posted by Jeffb [+]
Yes, that does help.  Thanks!  Any chance of some pics?  I've got a J&M handlebar mount cb on my current ride ('98 Honda Valkyrie).  It has it's own PTT lever on the unit.  Are you somehow wiring in to that?

Hey Jeffb, photo's attached. As you can see my J&M has a PTT lever on the unit as well. Thought it was a little bit of a reach so I did wire the PTT into the "Flash to pass" switch on the LH grip. Both now work. That PTT mod was done two bikes before the Trophy so please don't ask what color wires were involved. Hope the photo's help. Make sure before your final placement / fabrication that your J&M does not block rear view mirror visibility. Mine is borderline impeding view.

Hope that helps

Studley

Offline Jeffb

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
  • City / Town: Columbus OH
  • Country: USA
Re: CB Radio
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2015, 06:53:52 pm »
Thanks for the pics, Studley.  I wasn't following before, but it makes sense now.