Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] DealerTool & Windows 10.  (Read 5262 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline DonTom   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2016
    • ****
    • Topic Author

    Offline DonTom

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 2016
    • Don & Tom in Gulin, China
    • Bike: 2013 TTSE & 9 others
    • City / Town: Auburn,CA or Reno,NV
    • Country: us
    DealerTool & Windows 10.
    on: Nov 27, 2015, 08.16 am
    Nov 27, 2015, 08.16 am
    I didn't notice this mentioned anywhere in this forum so I thought I should pass on this info.

    I was just informed by DealerTool that the hardware that worked with Win 7 and Win 8 is NOT compatible with Windows 10:

    "Unfortunately Win10 is not compatible with your hardware, we now ship
    version 2.5 interfaces which use a different chipset. Sorry but this was
    out of our control. As a valued customer, if you want to upgrade we can
    offer you a new interface for 30 including postage - less than half
    price.
    kind regards
    DT"


    -Don-  Reno, NV
    1971 Black BMW R75/5/* 1984 Red Yamaha Venture* 2002 Yellow Suzuki DR200SE* 2013 Blue Triumph Trophy SE*2016 Orange/Black Kaw Versy 650 LT*2016 Orange Moto Guzzi Stelvio* 2017 Gold/Black Harley FLTRU RoadGlide Ultra*2017 Zero 6.5DS* 2017 Zero SR13 w/Pwr Tank*2020 Energica SS9

  • Offline Stelyn   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    931
    • ****
      #1

    Offline Stelyn

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 931
    • Bike: 2014 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Ashford, Kent.
    • Country: gb
    Re: DealerTool & Windows 10.
    Reply #1 on: Nov 27, 2015, 08.36 am
    Nov 27, 2015, 08.36 am
    Does not surprise me DonTom,  I removed Win 10 after I found  several program issues with it   :173:   , including NO  CD/DVD drivers  provided unless you buy them from Microsoft as an extra   :151:  ,  so much online about these Win 10 problems,  so I'll wait until Microsoft respond with a `fix',  due to customer pressure,    :006:
    `Only a Motorcyclist  knows why a dog rides with his head out of the car window '

  • Offline DonTom   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2016
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline DonTom

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 2016
    • Don & Tom in Gulin, China
    • Bike: 2013 TTSE & 9 others
    • City / Town: Auburn,CA or Reno,NV
    • Country: us
    Re: DealerTool & Windows 10.
    Reply #2 on: Nov 27, 2015, 10.07 am
    Nov 27, 2015, 10.07 am
    *Originally Posted by Stelyn [+]
    Does not surprise me DonTom,  I removed Win 10 after I found  several program issues with it   :173:   , including NO  CD/DVD drivers  provided unless you buy them from Microsoft as an extra   :151:  ,  so much online about these Win 10 problems,  so I'll wait until Microsoft respond with a `fix',  due to customer pressure,    :006:
    So far, Win 10 has worked well for me, other than this  DealerTool issue. However, I don't think I have tried a DVD yet. I wasn't even aware of that issue. But my CD's are working fine in this Win10 computer I am using right now.

    Let me go look for a DVD . . . .

    Also working perfectly on this Win10 computer.

    Computer compatibility issue there, perhaps?

    I have been using Win 10 for a couple of months now  on many computers and the DealerTool issue is the only problem I have found so far.

    -Don-  Reno, NV
    1971 Black BMW R75/5/* 1984 Red Yamaha Venture* 2002 Yellow Suzuki DR200SE* 2013 Blue Triumph Trophy SE*2016 Orange/Black Kaw Versy 650 LT*2016 Orange Moto Guzzi Stelvio* 2017 Gold/Black Harley FLTRU RoadGlide Ultra*2017 Zero 6.5DS* 2017 Zero SR13 w/Pwr Tank*2020 Energica SS9

  • Offline Stelyn   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    931
    • ****
      #3

    Offline Stelyn

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 931
    • Bike: 2014 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Ashford, Kent.
    • Country: gb
    Re: DealerTool & Windows 10.
    Reply #3 on: Nov 27, 2015, 10.54 am
    Nov 27, 2015, 10.54 am
    Hi Don, should have clarified,  the wifes  `Dell Laptop'  drives are OK,  but the office  PC, a tower system,   lost the drivers on loading win 10....... :155:  ( Glad you don't have this issue )
    `Only a Motorcyclist  knows why a dog rides with his head out of the car window '

  • Offline janfmiller   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    957
    • ****
      #4

    Offline janfmiller

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 957
    • No such thing a bad weather; just wrong clothes!
    • Bike: Was: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Superior Wisconsin
    • Country: us
    Re: DealerTool & Windows 10.
    Reply #4 on: Nov 27, 2015, 04.50 pm
    Nov 27, 2015, 04.50 pm
    I run DT on a Win10 laptop I upgraded from Win7.  Installed DT on Win7, so I have the older hardware.

     Usually if the interface has not been plugged in for a while, I have to go through the Update Drivers procedure to get the correct drivers installed again.   It appears as though Windows Update changes something that causes mis-identification of the DT interface and load incorrect drivers.  Going through the update allows you to respecify the correct drivers, and the DT interface will then work for a while, as long as you plug it into the same USB port.

    A pain, but work aroundable...   My crude but helpful mind-jogger doc attached.

    1977 Suzuki TS-185
    1974 Kawasaki Z-1 903
    2021 Honda Africa Twin Adventure Sports ES NON-DCT
    2016 Yamaha FJ-09

  • Offline DonTom   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2016
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • #5

    Offline DonTom

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 2016
    • Don & Tom in Gulin, China
    • Bike: 2013 TTSE & 9 others
    • City / Town: Auburn,CA or Reno,NV
    • Country: us
    Re: DealerTool & Windows 10.
    Reply #5 on: Nov 27, 2015, 07.17 pm
    Nov 27, 2015, 07.17 pm
    *Originally Posted by janfmiller [+]
    I run DT on a Win10 laptop I upgraded from Win7.  Installed DT on Win7, so I have the older hardware.
    DT never even mentioned such a fix to me, but that's okay, as I would have sent them the  30.00 for the upgraded unit anyway just  so I won't have to hassle with the software.

    However, I just found my old hard drive for my old Win7 laptop computer (was later updated to a SSD which somehow got some corrupted Windows files after not being used for months and wouldn't boot up). I put  in the old hard drive and it seems to be working fine. It's now doing it's 198 Windows 7 updates, and when that is done, I will format the SSD and then put the good Windows 7 on it. And then I will install the Win 7 version of DealerTool (then turning off the internet so no more updates to interfere with Dealertool). So then I should  have both versions of DealerTool working, FWIW.

    -Don-  Reno, NV
    1971 Black BMW R75/5/* 1984 Red Yamaha Venture* 2002 Yellow Suzuki DR200SE* 2013 Blue Triumph Trophy SE*2016 Orange/Black Kaw Versy 650 LT*2016 Orange Moto Guzzi Stelvio* 2017 Gold/Black Harley FLTRU RoadGlide Ultra*2017 Zero 6.5DS* 2017 Zero SR13 w/Pwr Tank*2020 Energica SS9

  • Offline atrophy   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    518
    • ****
      #6

    Offline atrophy

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 518
    • Bike: 13 Trophy SE silver
    • City / Town: SW Ohio
    • Country: us
    Re: DealerTool & Windows 10.
    Reply #6 on: Nov 28, 2015, 12.49 am
    Nov 28, 2015, 12.49 am
    Don, is this new interface software, hardware or both?
    I will certainly want to update mine. 
    Alan
    2016 Tiger 800XR  Black
    2013 Trophy Lunar Silver

    Exclusively using recycled electrons since 2004
    IBA 24605

  • Offline DonTom   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2016
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • #7

    Offline DonTom

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 2016
    • Don & Tom in Gulin, China
    • Bike: 2013 TTSE & 9 others
    • City / Town: Auburn,CA or Reno,NV
    • Country: us
    Re: DealerTool & Windows 10.
    Reply #7 on: Nov 28, 2015, 04.48 am
    Nov 28, 2015, 04.48 am
    *Originally Posted by atrophy [+]
    Don, is this new interface software, hardware or both?
    I will certainly want to update mine. 
    Alan
    Both. Not only that, you will have to retrieve a new code from the ECM, and send it in to DT, to get your new code. It's exactly like a fresh new start with DealerTool:

    "The new kit will use different codes so please dont use the old ones.
    We will of course issue the new codes free of charge.
    Kind regards
    DT"


    -Don-  Reno, NV
    1971 Black BMW R75/5/* 1984 Red Yamaha Venture* 2002 Yellow Suzuki DR200SE* 2013 Blue Triumph Trophy SE*2016 Orange/Black Kaw Versy 650 LT*2016 Orange Moto Guzzi Stelvio* 2017 Gold/Black Harley FLTRU RoadGlide Ultra*2017 Zero 6.5DS* 2017 Zero SR13 w/Pwr Tank*2020 Energica SS9