Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Standard TT Tyre Pressure Monitoring System  (Read 9155 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Tiny Tim

    • Trophy Member  ‐    79
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline Tiny Tim

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 79
    • Bike: 2015 Trophy
    • City / Town: Chepstow
    Standard TT Tyre Pressure Monitoring System
    on: Dec 14, 2015, 12.38 pm
    Dec 14, 2015, 12.38 pm
    The only thing that I wish my standard TT had that the SE has is the TPMS.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/FOBO-FB1574-Bluetooth-Advanced-Monitoring/dp/B00WBD00FO

    However, I've found this on the net. It's available from Amazon in the UK for around 73.00 and monitors pressure and temperature via Bluetooth to an IOS or Android phone. Batteries are replaceable and last around 2 years.

    It's on my Santa List. Just need to stop being naughty for a couple of weeks.
    The world is divided into 10 types. Those who understand the binary system and those who don't.

    Regards

    Tiny Tim

  • Offline Studley   ca

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    377
    • ***
      #1

    Offline Studley

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 377
    • Bike: 2015 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Vancouver
    • Country: ca
    Re: Standard TT Tyre Pressure Monitoring System
    Reply #1 on: Dec 14, 2015, 06.45 pm
    Dec 14, 2015, 06.45 pm
    I've run one TPMS system or another for 10+ years now and can't see myself running without one now. I do miss the tire temp function. It can be real valuable in terms of when you can go to the whip without fear of a low-side.

    I have no experience with the model you reference but if it does as indicated I'm sure you'll be pleased

    Studley

  • Offline earthman   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2121
    • ****
      #2

    Offline earthman

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 2121
    • Country: gb
    Re: Standard TT Tyre Pressure Monitoring System
    Reply #2 on: Jan 13, 2016, 08.08 pm
    Jan 13, 2016, 08.08 pm
    This is the first vehicle that I've owned that's got TPMS and I'm kind of torn between the idea because I'm already experiencing the 'low battery' message and have seen the cost/trouble that's involved to get the system working again.

    I'm wondering if any of these 'screw on the valve' type ones can be programmed to work with the on bikes system? At least that way, when the batteries need replacing, the owner can do that cheaply and easy themselves.

    Other than that, if I can get a dealer to remove all sensor codes/disable the system on my SE model so that the message or red light doesn't come on, will the bike still pass it's MOT when it needs one??

  • Offline cropbiker   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    4933
    • *****
      #3

    Offline cropbiker

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 4933
    • Midlands biker
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Worcester
    • Country: gb
    Re: Standard TT Tyre Pressure Monitoring System
    Reply #3 on: Jan 13, 2016, 08.12 pm
    Jan 13, 2016, 08.12 pm
    I have a Garmin 590 GPS which provides TPMS via screw on caps. I think when mine go inside the tyres I will buy the Garmin caps which are much cheaper to start with and provide user replaceable batteries!  :001:
    Triumph Trophy! Not for every Tomaz, Dieter or Herman!🇬🇧

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10529
    • *****
      #4

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10529
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Standard TT Tyre Pressure Monitoring System
    Reply #4 on: Jan 13, 2016, 09.00 pm
    Jan 13, 2016, 09.00 pm
    earthman,

    PM sent, but for the benefit of anyone else reading this .....

    The TPMS system does not fall within the scope of the UK MOT Test for Class 2 motorcycles,
    so if the TPMS system is non operastional this will not fail the MOT Test.

    Last Edit: Jan 13, 2016, 10.00 pm by Coconut

  • Offline RocketSteve   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    605
    • ****
      #5

    Offline RocketSteve

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 605
    • Bike: TTSE & Boss Hoss
    • City / Town: Bideford
    • Country: gb
    Re: Standard TT Tyre Pressure Monitoring System
    Reply #5 on: Jan 13, 2016, 09.50 pm
    Jan 13, 2016, 09.50 pm
    *Originally Posted by cropbiker [+]
    I have a Garmin 590 GPS which provides TPMS via screw on caps. I think when mine go inside the tyres I will buy the Garmin caps which are much cheaper to start with and provide user replaceable batteries!  :001:

    I have the 390 LM fitted which offers the same dust cap sensor option and thought about doing the same swap when the time comes.

    Although... I've never had this dash facility in the last 40+ years so I'm also asking myself if I really need to know the pressures while riding :084:


    EDIT: Not had time to set up my ECU Dealertool purchase yet - but does anyone know if I can disengage the sensors via the Dealertool?
    Last Edit: Jan 13, 2016, 09.53 pm by RocketSteve
    To test a man's character, give him (horse) power.

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10529
    • *****
      #6

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10529
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Standard TT Tyre Pressure Monitoring System
    Reply #6 on: Jan 13, 2016, 09.59 pm
    Jan 13, 2016, 09.59 pm
    ... does anyone know if I can disengage the sensors via the Dealertool?

    No - that's a Dealer only job !


  • Offline earthman   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2121
    • ****
      #7

    Offline earthman

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 2121
    • Country: gb
    Re: Standard TT Tyre Pressure Monitoring System
    Reply #7 on: Jan 13, 2016, 10.01 pm
    Jan 13, 2016, 10.01 pm
    I assumed that it would have been an MOT failure on a bike so that's good to know. I'll see what happens, when the red light comes on, if that bothers me too much.

    Like I've said, I'm kind of split on it,....if there is a reasonable cost/way to keep the system going, I'll probably stick with it.

     



    tweedy-bunch