Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Cruise control  (Read 5955 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Stumpyone

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • One life.....live it
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE 2013
  • City / Town: Havant
  • Country: UK
Cruise control
« on: January 02, 2016, 03:27:52 pm »
Hi guys,

Firstly...a very happy new year to you all. I hope you all have a very prosperous 2016.

So .... To my issue...

While out on a run yesterday, I notice that while doing 80 on the motorway, my cruise control wouldn't activate. Despite a number of attempts, I couldn't get it to work. Having investigated today, I have DTC code P0000 showing which I take as a healthy bike. I have done the reset sequence of button pushing and now need to go in a ride to check. Is There anything else I can or need to do before the road test??

Cheers fellas

Stumpy
TTSE 2017... Blue - the new Red!!!
CBF1000
Vmax
FJ1200
Maxim 650

Offline Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 9154
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: Cruise control
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2016, 07:05:37 pm »
Hi Stumpyone,

There are several reasons why the Cruise Control might not activate :

1. ( The obvious one first ! ) Make sure the Handlebar Switch push button is set to ON !

2. After 1. above, the most likely cause is that the Brake Light is stuck ON.
If it is then the Cruise will not engage - check the Front or more likely the Rear Brake light switches
as one of them may be stuck ON - the rear switch can be adjusted.

3.  Faulty Clutch switch - operating the clutch disengages the Cruise control,
a faulty switch could prevent Cruise being engaged.

4.  Faulty Throttle Roll Off switch - same principle as the Clutch switch.

5.  Recent changes / additions to the Tail / Stop Lighting circuits
can also affect the Cruise control operation.

6.  Less likely - Faulty Gear Position Sensor and / or speed sensors.
Cruise control can only be activated in 4th, 5th or 6th Gears
and can not be activated below 30MPH.

7.  Fault with ABS system and ABS Warning light on = Cruise control will be disabled.

Cheers  :821:




Offline Stumpyone

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • One life.....live it
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE 2013
  • City / Town: Havant
  • Country: UK
Re: Cruise control
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2016, 09:22:58 pm »
Cheers coconut.....i'll check the switches but I think they're all ok.

Cheers

Stumpy one
TTSE 2017... Blue - the new Red!!!
CBF1000
Vmax
FJ1200
Maxim 650

Offline triumphtrophyrider

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2000 & 2014 Trophy
  • City / Town: Wisconsin
  • Country: USA
Re: Cruise control
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2016, 09:42:52 pm »
Does the cruise work at a lower driving speed than 80? I don't have the manual in front of me but I thought there was an upper driving speed where the cruise doesn't engage?

Offline Stumpyone

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • One life.....live it
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE 2013
  • City / Town: Havant
  • Country: UK
Re: Cruise control
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2016, 10:05:50 pm »
Hi,

yes.... the speed range of the cruise control is 30MPH to 100MPH and you need to be in 4th gear or above. I was doing 80 in top gear!

Still need to do a test ride now I've reset it... hopefully that has done the trick.

cheers
TTSE 2017... Blue - the new Red!!!
CBF1000
Vmax
FJ1200
Maxim 650

Offline Dutchie

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
  • Bike: silver mothership
  • City / Town: Amersfoort
  • Country: Netherlands
Re: Cruise control
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2016, 07:40:37 am »
Hopefully the reset works in your case.

I have the same issue. Cruise control just doesn't work every now and then. The green light comes on, the speed indication blinks, you let go off the throttle and then it just drops out of the CC. Then, after a few attempts, it does work. There have been weeks that all just worked fine. Also, when doing speeds higher than about 120 km/h is seems I need fewer attempts to get it working than below that speed.

Have been to the dealer, resets, new software etc. Had to listen to their remarks about the right speed and gear, the on off button etc(they were wrong about speed and gear BTW). Did they really think I hadn't checked all that in the manual?? Anyway, they just don't know what's causing the issue.

I switched to another dealer(Triumph only), they say it must be caused by the "sensitivity" of the throttle together with the ride by wire. They know this from the Tiger explorer and will have a look at the bike's first service, which is due shortly.

The bike is a non SE 2014 leftover that I bought in May 2015, 13k KM so far.

If this Triumph dealer can fix it, I might also be switching to the 2015 bigger CC button.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2016, 08:13:47 am by Dutchie »

Offline Stumpyone

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • One life.....live it
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE 2013
  • City / Town: Havant
  • Country: UK
Re: Cruise control
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2016, 10:46:57 am »
Thanks Dutchie.. I hope the reset works too.

Test ride on Sunday!!

cheers
TTSE 2017... Blue - the new Red!!!
CBF1000
Vmax
FJ1200
Maxim 650

Offline earthman

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 2090
    • View Profile
  • Country: UK
Re: Cruise control
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2016, 09:21:45 pm »
The only bike I've owned  that had cruise control were a 1500 Goldwing, the only time that that didn't work were when the speedo cable broke,......I knew about the possibility of a brake or clutch switch fault. Looks like there's even more to go wrong on these modern cruise control systems then.