Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Tire Pressure Indicators/monitor  (Read 5927 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bigcountry

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 15 Trophy, 06 Tiger
  • City / Town: Gretna, LA
  • Country: USA
Tire Pressure Indicators/monitor
« on: April 07, 2016, 06:18:28 pm »
Hey Gents,
  Initially I was having an issue with my tire pressure monitor coming on-even after I filled my tires (I check them before I ride every time).   For the past month the monitor indicator has not come on.     I have not done anything different.   Was there a settling period?

My plan was have them looked at when I changed my tires.   Now that the indicator has been silent???
Big Country

Offline trophied

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4288
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: New Braunfels, Tx
  • Country: USA
Re: Tire Pressure Indicators/monitor
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2016, 07:12:22 pm »
Are you getting a tire pressure reading on the dash?
One of the Founding Members of the Twisted Trophies

Offline bigcountry

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 15 Trophy, 06 Tiger
  • City / Town: Gretna, LA
  • Country: USA
Re: Tire Pressure Indicators/monitor
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2016, 08:05:01 pm »
I did when I first got the bike.   I took it to the dealership and they advised that I wait until I change the tires because it was a bug that Triumph was working through.... (if it's on warranty I don't mess with it-learned a hard lesson).   It would pop-up on my dash over the radio station. 

I used to stop and pull out my tire pump and fix it on the spot.   Over the last month I haven't had the issue any more.   What does you reading say (tire pressure)?
Big Country

Offline trophied

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4288
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: New Braunfels, Tx
  • Country: USA
Re: Tire Pressure Indicators/monitor
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2016, 11:26:03 pm »
I keep the tire pressure up on the middle information panel in screen #1 all the time.  Screen #2 I use the middle information panel for other things, but when riding I only toggle in and out of screen 2 occasionally and leave it set on screen 1 so I can see if I have a leak in a tire while riding.  I think you must be seeing the low tire pressure warning at the very bottom of the info panel.  You can go into the setup and get the front and rear tire pressures to display constantly in one of the information panels so you will know if the pressure is dropping at a glance.  It takes a reliable gauge to check the pressures and see if your monitors are on the money or off by a few PSI, which you need to know.  Mine are on the money with two different gauges, one analog and one digital.
One of the Founding Members of the Twisted Trophies

Offline IMDMAN

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
  • Bike: vision,gsxr,S3,ktm,x
  • City / Town: aberdeen
  • Country: USA
Re: Tire Pressure Indicators/monitor
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2016, 04:57:51 am »
Is there a way to get the tpms to read the right pressure.  I use a quality gauge when checking my tires.  Run them at 42 psi and the tpms shows 51psi.  Seems like a big difference. When I got bike I was like dam last guy run rediculous psi but it's just reading high

Offline john348

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1524
    • View Profile
  • Bike: sprint1050 tiger955
  • City / Town: Farndon
  • Country: UK
Re: Tire Pressure Indicators/monitor
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2016, 09:21:18 am »
I have seen other people who have let all the air out and then repressurised the tyre to reset tpms issues.  Not sure how that works unless you spin the wheel and get them to power up?   But possibly it does something special when it gets to around 0PSi?  possibly worth a try?

Offline AZBob

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 921
  • Wubalubadubdub!
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Chandler, AZ
  • Country: USA
Re: Tire Pressure Indicators/monitor
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2016, 04:26:09 pm »
*Originally Posted by IMDMAN [+]
Is there a way to get the tpms to read the right pressure.  I use a quality gauge when checking my tires.  Run them at 42 psi and the tpms shows 51psi.  Seems like a big difference. When I got bike I was like dam last guy run rediculous psi but it's just reading high

Mine are dead-nuts accurate; that's weird. My rear only has a range of 1.5-2psi low before alerting. The front can be up to around 3 before it screams. Down only 3psi front and 2 rear (so 33/40), the bike rides like crap, IMO. Feels like I'm in a boat on the ocean.
2014 Triumph Trophy 1200 SE
2013 Honda CB1100

Offline IMDMAN

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
  • Bike: vision,gsxr,S3,ktm,x
  • City / Town: aberdeen
  • Country: USA
Re: Tire Pressure Indicators/monitor
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2016, 10:52:29 pm »
this is what mine looked like  just used soldering iron to reattach to new batteries