Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Switched power add  (Read 2704 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KaliforniaKook

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Sparks
  • Country: USA
Switched power add
« on: May 13, 2016, 01:57:55 am »
I just bought a dash cam, with a recorder that fits under the seat. I need to run power to the recorder. Anyone have any ideas on where I can get power, and if I need specific connectors, what their P/N might be? It's close to the distribution relays, but I don't have schematics.
I know that's a lot to ask. When I get this installed, I'll post to How To. It's a Innovv K1 Moto system, so I'll be installing cams fore and aft. Looks really cool, with 11 hours of HD video. I'll let you guys know what I think. So far, on the bench, this is a really cool system!

Offline tdragger

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 528
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2015 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Fredericksburg
  • Country: USA
Re: Switched power add
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2016, 12:55:57 pm »
A question back to you.  Do you want the switched lead to come on with the key or after the engine starts?
-------------------------------------
06 Triumph Rocket III
15 Triumph Trophy SE

IBA #609 (formerly 42146)

Offline azgman

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 726
  • Addicted to curves
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 Trophy
  • City / Town: Casa Grande
  • Country: USA
Re: Switched power add
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2016, 02:00:41 pm »
Fuse position 2 (10 Amp) in fuse box #1 (closest to front of the bike) is switched power. Green and Pink wire. This also goes to the power socket in the storage box.

« Last Edit: May 13, 2016, 02:03:03 pm by azgman »
Serial BMW rider

Offline KaliforniaKook

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Sparks
  • Country: USA
Re: Switched power add
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2016, 05:32:42 pm »
Thanks for responding, guys. I am looking for power with the key, not just with the engine running. That would give me the ability to do playback, but more importantly, see in real time where the cameras are pointing and make that and other appropriate adjustments without actually burning gas. In other words, I want it to act like the GPS power lead.

azgman, that looks like a good option. That's more than enough current - at least 8 times more. I just have to figure out how to splice into that cable.

Offline AZBob

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 921
  • Wubalubadubdub!
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Chandler, AZ
  • Country: USA
Re: Switched power add
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2016, 06:58:40 pm »
*Originally Posted by KaliforniaKook [+]
Thanks for responding, guys. I am looking for power with the key, not just with the engine running. That would give me the ability to do playback, but more importantly, see in real time where the cameras are pointing and make that and other appropriate adjustments without actually burning gas. In other words, I want it to act like the GPS power lead.

azgman, that looks like a good option. That's more than enough current - at least 8 times more. I just have to figure out how to splice into that cable.

Posi-Taps, 18awg - http://www.amazon.com/Lockitt-Posi-Tap-pack-605-16-18/dp/B00H242NNY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1463162629&sr=8-1&keywords=posi-tap+18awg.

Or a fuse tap. Either way, make sure you wire in an inline 2 amp fuse if the device's wiring doesn't already include one.

Alternatively, if you see yourself adding other stuff to the bike, you might want to consider a PDM60, Fuzeblock, Neutrino or some other power distribution block that makes it easy to add circuits to your bike and provide configurable protection for each circuit.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2016, 07:03:26 pm by AZBob »
2014 Triumph Trophy 1200 SE
2013 Honda CB1100

Offline DonTom

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 2016
  • Don & Tom in Gulin, China
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 TTSE & 9 others
  • City / Town: Auburn,CA or Reno,NV
  • Country: USA
Re: Switched power add
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2016, 08:02:47 pm »
*Originally Posted by KaliforniaKook [+]
Thanks for responding, guys. I am looking for power with the key, not just with the engine running. That would give me the ability to do playback, but more importantly, see in real time where the cameras are pointing and make that and other appropriate adjustments without actually burning gas. In other words, I want it to act like the GPS power lead.
Doesn't your action camera have it's own internal battery? If so, as most do, those things are not issues. You can run it at any time with no external battery power.

Mine uses the power from the left storage box, which requires engine to be running. But even without a key in the bike, I can use the wireless play back and everything else from from my Bullet Pro camera by using it's own internal battery. My Action Camera is the BulletHD-Biker Pro, installed under the headlamp.

It turns off and on with extermal power, but you can always press the button on the module to turn it on with its internal battery. I don't think I ever even saw one that didn't have an internal battery. Which model Action Camera  do you have?

-Don-  Reno, NV
1971 Black BMW R75/5/* 1984 Red Yamaha Venture* 2002 Yellow Suzuki DR200SE* 2013 Blue Triumph Trophy SE*2016 Orange/Black Kaw Versy 650 LT*2016 Orange Moto Guzzi Stelvio* 2017 Gold/Black Harley FLTRU RoadGlide Ultra*2017 Zero 6.5DS* 2017 Zero SR13 w/Pwr Tank*2020 Energica SS9

Offline KaliforniaKook

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Sparks
  • Country: USA
Re: Switched power add
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2016, 12:28:15 am »
Don, you're right, and it will run a pretty long time. Regardless, referring to https://www.triumph-trophy.com/index.php/topic,4122.0.html about top box installation, I found the power source I was  seeking. The top box has only been used to recharge phones and intercoms. Adding this to the circuit will not begin to load the fuse. The action cam is an Innovv K1 Moto (http://www.innovv.com/#!the-k1/c3r6).

Bob - thanks for the link. They'll arrive bright and early Monday. That should make my job easier. As you surmised, there is already a 2A fuse in the circuit.

I cancelled my appointment with the dealer to put in a tap. You guys are great!

 



tweedy-bunch