Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Hi from SoCal  (Read 2785 times)

Offline ibpete

• Ex Member
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Triumph Trophy
  • City / Town: Chula Vista
Hi from SoCal
« on: May 29, 2013, 04:17:18 PM »
I just bought a very slightly used Trophy SE Monday 5/27/13. I am just getting around to reading the owner's manual. Other than my brief 15 mile test ride and a short ride to the store yesterday I haven't tested it out. We picked it up in LA and my son rode it the 200 miles back to San Diego.

I have been riding for 50+ years. This bike is replacing my 2000 K1200LT that I completely used up. It had 160K miles, 2 Iron Butt Rallies, a multitude of smaller rallies, and many IBA certification rides. I needed to get something smaller and I hope the Trophy fills the need and serves me as well.

I am retired now and have a hobby of making custom accessories for the Long Distance/Sport Touring community. I am looking forward to ripping into the Trophy and getting it set up for my long distance needs.

My plans for the bike include a Russel DayLong saddle, aux lighting, maybe HID conversion depending on how good the stock lighting is (the LT sucked), and definitely an aux fuel tank (I've had one for years and have been really spoiled having a 480+ mile range), and, of course, getting all my electronics connected.

I'd welcome any tips or tricks on working on this bike. Pointers to threads on how to take it apart would be very welcome.

Let me know what other information I can provide and thanks for having me.
__
Mike Langford [aka IB Pete] IBA#341
I really hate it when I commit to running a yellow light and the guy in front of me chickens out.
Mike Langford [aka IB Pete] IBA#341
I really hate it when I commit to running a yellow light and the guy in front of me chickens out.

Offline w8d4it

• Trophy God
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Triumph Trophy
  • City / Town: Houston Texas
Re: Hi from SoCal