Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Magnum tuning chip  (Read 2852 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline sunrunner

    • Trophy Junior  ‐    7
    • *
    • Topic Author

    Offline sunrunner

    • Trophy Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 7
    • Bike: trophy se
    • City / Town: leduc
    Magnum tuning chip
    on: Jan 23, 2017, 01.14 am
    Jan 23, 2017, 01.14 am
    Has anyone installed a magnum tuning chip on their trophy and did it work well

  • Offline kniterider   us

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    463
    • ***
      #1

    Offline kniterider

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 463
    • Country: us
    • Bike: 14 TTSE 86 GL1200
    • City / Town: Dunkirk, Md
    Re: Magnum tuning chip
    Reply #1 on: Jan 24, 2017, 05.51 pm
    Jan 24, 2017, 05.51 pm
    I googled it,  sounds interesting.  Me I think the TTSE has enough power, BUT always interested in better MPG, for my IBA rides PLUS get a bit more kick,,Make it easier to pull my loaded cargo trailer thru the mountains
    A nasty weather day riding is still better than any day working

  • Offline cropbiker   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    4934
    • *****
      #2

    Offline cropbiker

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 4934
    • Country: gb
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Worcester
    Re: Magnum tuning chip
    Reply #2 on: Jan 24, 2017, 07.29 pm
    Jan 24, 2017, 07.29 pm
    I'm always sceptical about a device that offers more power yet better MPG too. I'm sure if the engine mapping was really capable of that Triumph would have it.

    I tried a diesel tuning chip which also made similar claims and there was really no noticeable difference.
    Triumph Trophy! Not for every Tomaz, Dieter or Herman!🇬🇧

  • Offline sunrunner

    • Trophy Junior  ‐    7
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • #3

    Offline sunrunner

    • Trophy Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 7
    • Bike: trophy se
    • City / Town: leduc
    Re: Magnum tuning chip
    Reply #3 on: Jan 25, 2017, 01.49 am
    Jan 25, 2017, 01.49 am
    There is always more power on tap as factory tunes are moderated for noise emissions smoothness etc and not just raw power this power is available but what do you give up to get it might be quicker but not as nice a ride that's why I was hoping someone might be able to fill us in

  • Offline Xsv   us

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    477
    • ***
      #4

    Offline Xsv

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 477
    • Country: us
    • Bike: 2015 TTSE, 2017 BMW
    • City / Town: Washington State
    Re: Magnum tuning chip
    Reply #4 on: Jan 25, 2017, 03.19 am
    Jan 25, 2017, 03.19 am
    Aftermarket tuning devices seem to be almost non existent for the TTSE.  I keep hoping to see a power commander V come out for the Trophy.

    I had a pipe and power commander on my Concours.  That combined with butterfly removal actually smoothed out the bike and gave it more usable power mid range.

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9752
    • *****
      #5

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9752
    • Country: gb
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    Re: Magnum tuning chip
    Reply #5 on: Jan 25, 2017, 05.52 am
    Jan 25, 2017, 05.52 am
    I personally can't see the point in going to all the hassle and expense  :110:

    ( I don't "do" Car tyres on motorcycles,
    or try and run an engine on cheap vegetable oil either !  :015: )

    In addition to any Warranty issues that "might" arise,
    after informing your Insurance company of such a Modification,
    there is likely to be an increase in Premium to factor in,
    or if the Insurance company are not told about it,
    there's a risk of them denying any future claims  :012:

    Last Edit: Nov 15, 2020, 07.57 pm by Coconut

  • Offline john348   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1524
    • ****
      #6

    Offline john348

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 1524
    • Country: gb
    • Bike: sprint1050 tiger955
    • City / Town: Farndon
    Re: Magnum tuning chip
    Reply #6 on: Jan 25, 2017, 11.57 am
    Jan 25, 2017, 11.57 am
    I once had a car chipped it had a turbo so can play with pressures easily.  This was a replacement chip actually in the engine management system rather than a power commander type add on that plays with the readings going back to the ECU.  Unfortunately the car was a company car on lease.  When I went to get it serviced they were nice about it but refused but let me change back without telling the lease company???  SO I could not be bothered again

    On the other hand especially when fuel injection and emissions first started it was normal to have an engineered hole in the power delivery at the "testing" revs and it was 'normal' to upload a new tune to smooth things out.  The trophy ECU is locked by law and things have moved on without the holes in power and lumpy delivery so leading to less need to 'chip'.

    On yet the other hand (didn't know I had 3) especially things like changing exhausts used to mean changing tune to protect the engine and get the bike running right so in that case can see the need.  I think the trophy is a closed loop system so can adapt to some changing parameters.

    My opinion only and I may be wrong (I am often told I am??)

     



    tweedy-bunch