Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: dodgy starting  (Read 3465 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

  • Offline demonbane

    • Trophy Member  ‐    94
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline demonbane

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 94
    • Bike: trophy se
    • City / Town: Stirling
    dodgy starting
    on: May 27, 2017, 09.34 am
    May 27, 2017, 09.34 am
    anyone else had this symptom?

    press start button with clutch in to start ,

    starts to turn over, stops , starts to turn over then starts .

    its like a 1/4 second pause during starting

    tried it stand up, down sat on stood by etc

    seems no rhyme or reason
    does not do it all the time!

    ( booked in to get looked at as only a year old and a few thousand miles )

  • Offline Vansflyer

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    135
    • ***
      #1

    Offline Vansflyer

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 135
    • Bike: Trophy SE, Thrux R
    • City / Town: In the Middle
    Re: dodgy starting
    Reply #1 on: May 27, 2017, 10.24 am
    May 27, 2017, 10.24 am
    That switchcube unit can get corrosion on the starter button, I had it on my previous Tiger. Easy enough to take the cube apart and emery cloth the contacts or wait and take it in the dealer. It was intermittent on my Tiger for a while till one day (the day before I was going on a weekend trip to Jockistan) it wouldn't turn over at all! Obviously it could be s-stand switch or clutch switch etc etc but try cleaning the contacts first.
    Let us know how you get on.

  • Offline demonbane

    • Trophy Member  ‐    94
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline demonbane

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 94
    • Bike: trophy se
    • City / Town: Stirling
    Re: dodgy starting
    Reply #2 on: May 27, 2017, 10.33 am
    May 27, 2017, 10.33 am
    no point, under warranty and would not want them saying void as i had fiddler fingers  :017:

  • Offline Vansflyer

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    135
    • ***
      #3

    Offline Vansflyer

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 135
    • Bike: Trophy SE, Thrux R
    • City / Town: In the Middle
    Re: dodgy starting
    Reply #3 on: May 27, 2017, 10.57 am
    May 27, 2017, 10.57 am
    Putting it in the dealers with an intermittent fault doesn't always get a result... if the tech starts it 20 times without issue it may be "no fault found' and you are no further forward with a solution.
    Taking a switchcube apart is unlikely to invalidate the warranty ... especially if you were stuck at the side of the road with bike that wouldn't start. The dealer doesn't need to know you were in your garage at the time.. but up to you what you do.

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10000
    • *****
      #4

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10000
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: dodgy starting
    Reply #4 on: May 27, 2017, 12.07 pm
    May 27, 2017, 12.07 pm
    .... just to add ...

    Whenever there is ANY fault it's always a good idea
    to check for any Diagnostic Trouble Codes ( "DTC's" )
    This is especially so for an intermittent fault as some Codes
    are erased for the Memory after "X" number of
    "no Fault" starts, leaving no clues for you or the Dealer !

    These can easily be displayed on the Instrument Panel ...

    See here for instructions and a downloadable Word document explaining what the Codes mean :

    Servicing Data, Reference Info. & DTC ( Fault ) Codes - Reply #8  :028:

    Last Edit: Apr 28, 2020, 04.28 pm by Coconut

  • Offline cropbiker   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    4934
    • *****
      #5

    Offline cropbiker

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 4934
    • Midlands biker
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Worcester
    • Country: gb
    Re: dodgy starting
    Reply #5 on: May 27, 2017, 04.58 pm
    May 27, 2017, 04.58 pm
    Have had what seems a similar symptom a few times when starting....

    It has always gone onto start on the second press of the tit, never been any fault code shown and it certainly has not happened frequently....

    I have just put it down to the crank shaft not being in the right position or arrangement at the time and the first turn just doesn't fire.

    If it did it repeatedly before starting then I would consider it an issue
    Triumph Trophy! Not for every Tomaz, Dieter or Herman!🇬🇧

  • Offline 1675   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    950
    • ****
      #6

    Offline 1675

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 950
    • Bike: Trophy
    • City / Town: Spennymoor
    • Country: gb
    Re: dodgy starting
    Reply #6 on: May 27, 2017, 05.08 pm
    May 27, 2017, 05.08 pm
    MY 2013 displayed a similar fault. If I pushed the start button square to the bar it didn't turn. With upward pressure it did. Took the switch apart and put some ACF 50 on the contacts and seems okay now. One for the dealer if still under warranty though!

  • Offline Vansflyer

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    135
    • ***
      #7

    Offline Vansflyer

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 135
    • Bike: Trophy SE, Thrux R
    • City / Town: In the Middle
    Re: dodgy starting
    Reply #7 on: May 27, 2017, 06.26 pm
    May 27, 2017, 06.26 pm
    It won't show a fault code as the bike doesn't know you are pressing the switch ... if that makes sense  :001: The dealer connects the bike up to the OBD lead and runs a program that gives a real time view of the switches, sensors etc, when he presses the starter button and it still shows open he knows it's the switch, connectors or the loom, maybe ECU but not likely. However it's all down to the test on the day to see if the switch plays up or not. Having said all of that... they do sometimes take a while to "energise" and start cranking... no particular reason just taking it's time...lots of bikes / cars do it now.