Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Tomtom Rider 400 - Volume in Earphones  (Read 3885 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline duncanmacster

    • Trophy Member  ‐    58
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline duncanmacster

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 58
    • Bike: Trophy SE, 2 BMWs
    • City / Town: Melbourne
    Tomtom Rider 400 - Volume in Earphones
    on: Jun 22, 2017, 11.44 am
    Jun 22, 2017, 11.44 am
    It appears that inadequate volume in the earphones is an issue with this GPS, making turn by turn instructions inaudible.

    Is there a fix, or shall I return the unit to Tomtom as unsuitable for purpose and go back to a Garmin?
    I believe

  • Offline imar11

    • Trophy Member  ‐    21
    • **
      #1

    Offline imar11

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 21
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy
    • City / Town: Buckley
    Re: Tomtom Rider 400 - Volume in Earphones
    Reply #1 on: Jul 28, 2017, 08.43 am
    Jul 28, 2017, 08.43 am
    i have a 400 and have a similar issue but the other way around. i have a cardio bluetooth rider / passenger and if i set the passenger volume the TomTom is way to loud. it doesnt seem to make any difference what the settings are on the TomTom the volume level never changes
    08 Speed Triple
    09 Tiger 1050
    09 Rocket Touring III
    13 Thunderbird 1600 (8 ball paint)

  • Offline Travelling2bob   au

    • Trophy Master  ‐    544
    • ****
      #2

    Offline Travelling2bob

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 544
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Sale
    • Country: au
    Re: Tomtom Rider 400 - Volume in Earphones
    Reply #2 on: Jul 29, 2017, 05.32 am
    Jul 29, 2017, 05.32 am
    *Originally Posted by duncanmacster [+]
    It appears that inadequate volume in the earphones is an issue with this GPS, making turn by turn instructions inaudible.

    Is there a fix, or shall I return the unit to Tomtom as unsuitable for purpose and go back to a Garmin?

    G'day Duncan,

    What earphones are you using? I turn down the TT 400 volume on my SMH10 not problems as the intercom and audio volumes are on different settings.

    Wherever you go, there you are.
    Triumph Trophy SE
    Triumph Thunderbird 1600
    Triumph Sprint ST
    Ducati ST3

  • Offline duncanmacster

    • Trophy Member  ‐    58
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #3

    Offline duncanmacster

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 58
    • Bike: Trophy SE, 2 BMWs
    • City / Town: Melbourne
    Re: Tomtom Rider 400 - Volume in Earphones
    Reply #3 on: Jul 29, 2017, 09.44 am
    Jul 29, 2017, 09.44 am
    *Originally Posted by Travelling2bob [+]
    G'day Duncan,

    What earphones are you using? I turn down the TT 400 volume on my SMH10 not problems as the intercom and audio volumes are on different settings.

    Bob, I have Schuberth SRC, which are Cardo Scala.
    I believe

  • Offline imar11

    • Trophy Member  ‐    21
    • **
      #4

    Offline imar11

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 21
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy
    • City / Town: Buckley
    Re: Tomtom Rider 400 - Volume in Earphones
    Reply #4 on: Jul 29, 2017, 08.24 pm
    Jul 29, 2017, 08.24 pm
    You can alter the volume with the cardio, problem is the tomtom is at one level and your passenger is at another, normally loud tomtom volume and quiet passenger. The volume setting on the Tomtom seems to be for when the unit is not bluetoothed and uses its speaker, I haven't found a way to alter the Bluetooth volume level via the unit
    08 Speed Triple
    09 Tiger 1050
    09 Rocket Touring III
    13 Thunderbird 1600 (8 ball paint)

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10059
    • *****
      #5

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10059
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Tomtom Rider 400 - Volume in Earphones
    Reply #5 on: Jul 29, 2017, 09.18 pm
    Jul 29, 2017, 09.18 pm
    Hi imar11,

    Which particular Model of Cardo ( not Cardio ) Bluetooth helmet set do you have ?

    I have never owned a Cardo Bluetooth kit, but reading through the User Instructions
    for the Cardo Scala Rider Freecom 4, ( Section 4.1.1 ) it says that the Kit can be accessed
    via the "SmartSet App", which allows you to set individual volume levels for each Audio Source,
    ( Mobile Phone, Intercom, Music, FM, Announcements, Parallel Audio Streamig ).

    You can probably alter these using the PC Based "Cardo Community" software,
    but the instructions I looked at don't mention this, so you would have explore the Menu.

    Hope that helps   :028:

    Last Edit: Mar 28, 2020, 09.09 pm by Coconut

  • Offline imar11

    • Trophy Member  ‐    21
    • **
      #6

    Offline imar11

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 21
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy
    • City / Town: Buckley
    Re: Tomtom Rider 400 - Volume in Earphones
    Reply #6 on: Jul 30, 2017, 10.05 am
    Jul 30, 2017, 10.05 am
    I'm on Q2 so might have to read the tomtom instructions ...... Very rare I bother :087: :087:
    08 Speed Triple
    09 Tiger 1050
    09 Rocket Touring III
    13 Thunderbird 1600 (8 ball paint)

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10059
    • *****
      #7

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10059
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Tomtom Rider 400 - Volume in Earphones
    Reply #7 on: Jul 30, 2017, 02.18 pm
    Jul 30, 2017, 02.18 pm
    Aah - I don't think the Q2 has the functionality of being able to adjust individual volmes via the App.

    Have you tried adjusting the volume while the Q2 is actually receiving audio from the TomTom,
    and then adjusting it again while receiving audio from the Intercom,
    to see if the two individual volume settings are saved ?

    There's a note in the TomTom 400 instructions that says,
    Important :
    When using a headset, the volume control may not be available because your headset
    doesn't support remote volume control.
    If this is the case, use the volume control button on the headset itself to change the volume.

    So that may be your issue if the Q2 doesn't support "Remote Volume Control",
    although you could try turning the Volume down on the TomTom device,
    by selecting the "Quick Setttings" button from the Main Menu, Map view or Guidance View,
    and altering the Volume Slider position.

    If that doesn't work, try turning the volume down on the TomTom
    and THEN Pairing it to your Q2, to see if that makes any difference.

    Cheers  :821:

    Last Edit: Mar 28, 2020, 09.08 pm by Coconut

     



    tweedy-bunch