Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: New TPS &Twist grip sensor fitted.  (Read 3551 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline BUBBY

    • Trophy Junior  ‐    3
    • *
    • Topic Author

    Offline BUBBY

    • Trophy Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 3
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy se
    • City / Town: Newark
    New TPS &Twist grip sensor fitted.
    on: Jun 28, 2017, 08.40 am
    Jun 28, 2017, 08.40 am
    Hello. I have just fitted  two new sensors to my T T se  Twist grip sensor &  TPS . I have had the bike running but its not running right.  does anyone know for a fact  that these sensors have to be synchronised by a Triumph agent ?  I  think I have gone as far as possible with my Dealertool.

  • Offline john348   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1524
    • ****
      #1

    Offline john348

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 1524
    • Bike: sprint1050 tiger955
    • City / Town: Farndon
    • Country: gb
    Re: New TPS &Twist grip sensor fitted.
    Reply #1 on: Jun 28, 2017, 02.08 pm
    Jun 28, 2017, 02.08 pm
    I would imagine you would have to do a reset.  That is from cold start the bike without touching the throttle.  Then leave to tick over for a long time if I remember right it is 20 mins after it warms up.  But it is written up somewhere on here.

    John also inNewark

  • Offline john348   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1524
    • ****
      #2

    Offline john348

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 1524
    • Bike: sprint1050 tiger955
    • City / Town: Farndon
    • Country: gb
    Re: New TPS &Twist grip sensor fitted.
    Reply #2 on: Jun 28, 2017, 02.12 pm
    Jun 28, 2017, 02.12 pm

  • Offline earthman   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2121
    • ****
      #3

    Offline earthman

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 2121
    • Country: gb
    Re: New TPS &Twist grip sensor fitted.
    Reply #3 on: Jun 28, 2017, 02.14 pm
    Jun 28, 2017, 02.14 pm
    What happened to make you replace the fly by wire sensors in the first place? Could the problem you still have be down to something else?

    I wouldn't be surprised if these sensors need some programming though,....have you tried starting the bike and left it for X amount of time for the ECU to adjust/take all the readings?

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9765
    • *****
      #4

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9765
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: New TPS &Twist grip sensor fitted.
    Reply #4 on: Jun 28, 2017, 06.48 pm
    Jun 28, 2017, 06.48 pm
    BUBBY,

    Carry out the "adaption" procedure that john348 has Linked to,
    and if it still isn't running right, check for any stored DTC's
    ( Diagnostic Trouble Codes ).

    See here for how to do that :
    Servicing Data, Reference Info. & DTC ( Fault ) Codes - Post Reply #8  :028:

    Cheers  :821:

    Last Edit: Apr 25, 2020, 05.09 pm by Coconut

  • Offline BUBBY

    • Trophy Junior  ‐    3
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • #5

    Offline BUBBY

    • Trophy Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 3
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy se
    • City / Town: Newark
    Re: New TPS &Twist grip sensor fitted.
    Reply #5 on: Jun 29, 2017, 06.42 am
    Jun 29, 2017, 06.42 am
    First off thanks for for the attention & input. In my rush to do this post  I should have put, had the bike running  fine  (done  the start from cold & leave  running  for 15 mins thing) so far so good, runs good smooth tick over etc. Turn off wait for screen etc to do its stuff about 8-10 seconds re start, perfect, tick over & throttle  response spot on.  will do this again & again.  When I leave  it turned off for around  a minute   and hear a faint click from the relay area now try to start it & its all lost. I think this is because there is no set adaptations button on the dealertool  & if  it has to go to a Triumph dealer or has anyone  had any success  with  the tuneecu bluetooth app I saw near Johns link (thanks John).

  • Offline john348   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1524
    • ****
      #6

    Offline john348

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 1524
    • Bike: sprint1050 tiger955
    • City / Town: Farndon
    • Country: gb
    Re: New TPS &Twist grip sensor fitted.
    Reply #6 on: Jun 29, 2017, 06.21 pm
    Jun 29, 2017, 06.21 pm
    I have failed with Bluetooth modules in trophy.  Doesn't seem to understand the protocol.  They work on my sprint and my tiger.  I do have wired versions but not played much.  I do use tuneecu though not yet on trophy.

    Should have said the Bluetooth was to phone which is where the protocol problem probably is.  I think others have had it working in this forum.

  • Offline GavJ

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    261
    • ***
      #7

    Offline GavJ

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 261
    • Bike: R1250RT
    • City / Town: Strathaven
    Re: New TPS &Twist grip sensor fitted.
    Reply #7 on: Jun 29, 2017, 06.55 pm
    Jun 29, 2017, 06.55 pm
    John, I have used Tune ECU on my tiger for years, but when I got the trophy I noticed it wasn't listed... I mailed TuneECU but they replied saying it wasn't compatible and they were not going to update to include the trophy. Pity  :151: