Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Immobiliser Fault  (Read 1664 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 6711
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: Immobiliser Fault
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2017, 07:22:57 PM »
That early ECU Recall was for the Main Engine Control ECU,
not the combined Immobiliser & TPMS ECU which is a different item.

Smiles are infectious,and they are FREE,
so if you see someone without one, give them one of yours :-)

Offline earthman

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1232
    • View Profile
  • Country: UK
Re: Immobiliser Fault
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2017, 10:59:48 PM »
Sorry to hear of this, personally I think (and hope) that it's most likely down to a wiring problem or bad/corroded connector or pin rather than the actually component failing.

To think of how many vehicles on the roads that do rely on such complex immobiliser systems, I guess that a small percentage will fail sooner than later. :012:   

Offline davidw3d

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Blue Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Bradford
  • Country: UK
Re: Immobiliser Fault
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2017, 04:14:18 PM »
Well the dealer swapped an ecu from another bike and no improvement so he tried the antenna and that was faulty. Currently being replaced but it’s part of the lock so I’ll end up with a different key for the ignition. A lot cheaper though.
Might as well as wish we had.

Offline peejayess

  • Trophy Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Noli illegitimi te carborundum
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Tiger Sport
  • City / Town: Cheltenham
  • Country: UK
Re: Immobiliser Fault
« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2017, 04:20:25 PM »
Full marks to the dealer! The trouble with electronics these days is that it's too easy to swap a plug-in bit rather than investigate - though if the dealer had bought in a replacement ECU he'd have been stuck with it, I guess.

Offline SprintST1050

  • Ex Member
  • *
  • Posts: 247
    • View Profile
  • Bike: '15 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Charlotte, NC
  • Country: USA
Re: Immobiliser Fault
« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2017, 03:18:25 AM »
*Originally Posted by davidw3d [+]
My Trophy broke down at the services after I had stopped for a few minutes. The dashboard lit up but the bike wouldn't start. There red immobiliser light was on constantly and I had to be recovered. The dealer says the immobiliser ECU is faulty and wants £804.00 for a replacement.
Does anyone know if it can be removed or disabled. The trophy is only 4 years old with 17,000 miles on the clock.
Has this happened to anyone else?

When you state 'immobiliser ECU' are you referring to the optional Triumph/Datatool dealer installed immobiliser unit?  I'm somewhat familiar with the Datatool device.

Online Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 6711
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: Immobiliser Fault
« Reply #13 on: October 14, 2017, 09:03:22 AM »
SpintST1050,

This was NOT the DataTool S4 Alarm.

The Trophy has a combined Immobiliser and TPMS ECU,
where a Transponder inside the key - coded to that ECU,
is sensed and read by an antenna in the Ignition switch.
( See Image below )
 
If the correct coded transponder is present,
the Immobiliser ECU allows the engine to be started.

Cheers  :821:


Smiles are infectious,and they are FREE,
so if you see someone without one, give them one of yours :-)

Offline SprintST1050

  • Ex Member
  • *
  • Posts: 247
    • View Profile
  • Bike: '15 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Charlotte, NC
  • Country: USA
Re: Immobiliser Fault
« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2017, 11:04:07 AM »
*Originally Posted by Coconut [+]
SpintST1050,

This was NOT the DataTool S4 Alarm.

The Trophy has a combined Immobiliser and TPMS ECU,
where a Transponder inside the key - coded to that ECU,
is sensed and read by an antenna in the Ignition switch.
( See Image below )
 
If the correct coded transponder is present,
the Immobiliser ECU allows the engine to be started.

Cheers  :821:




Thanks for the info.  My setup is a bit redundant with the addition of the Triumph-Datatool device; hoping it was done right as the dealer tech installed it this time. Wishing my Sprint had the transponder/immobiliser ECU setup as I removed the Datatool device earlier this year.

Online Coconut

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 6711
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
  • City / Town: South Birmingham
  • Country: UK
Re: Immobiliser Fault
« Reply #15 on: October 14, 2017, 11:39:20 AM »
Without the DataTool S4 Alarm / Immobiliser the Trophy is Immobilised
unless the correct Transponder is present.

After fitting the DataTool S4 you also need the DataTool Fob to disarm the system.

If your Dealer installed it then it almost certain to have been done correctly.
( DataTool advise that this product should ONLY be fitted by a Dealer,
but I fitted my own - it's not difficult, and the instructions can be downloaded
from the Triumph Instructions web site !

It should "Beep" and Auto Arm about 30 seconds after switching off the Ignition.

When the Beeps stop the Trophy is Immobilised.

If you press the grey button of the Remote before it has Auto-Armed,
( which gets rid of those annoying Beeps ! ),
then you are also switching on the Alarm -
which will activate on any electrical activity,
rear seat being removed, or any movement / shock to the bike.

Cheers  :821:



Smiles are infectious,and they are FREE,
so if you see someone without one, give them one of yours :-)