Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Computer Re-Flash  (Read 3711 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline SW FL

    • Trophy Member  ‐    35
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline SW FL

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 35
    • Bike: Trophy SE
    • City / Town: CAPE CORAL
    Computer Re-Flash
    on: Feb 15, 2018, 03.05 am
    Feb 15, 2018, 03.05 am
    Does anyone know of a source for getting the Trophy SE computer Re-Flashed?  I had my Bonneville, by Thunderbird & my Rocket III Re-Flashed once I added K&N air filter and straight through mufflers on them. I added the same to my 2016 Trophy SE, but can't find any source to get it Re-Flashed? 

  • Offline Jubeeprince

    • Trophy Member  ‐    87
    • **
      #1

    Offline Jubeeprince

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 87
    • Bike: 2016 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Eldersburg
    Re: Computer Re-Flash
    Reply #1 on: Feb 15, 2018, 03.41 am
    Feb 15, 2018, 03.41 am
    I gotta imagine the folks who sold you the filters and/or muffler would have some ideas? Can't be the first time they've sold an aftermarket product and been asked...

    Just a thought,

    Steve

  • Offline john348   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1524
    • ****
      #2

    Offline john348

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 1524
    • Bike: sprint1050 tiger955
    • City / Town: Farndon
    • Country: gb
    Re: Computer Re-Flash
    Reply #2 on: Feb 15, 2018, 06.29 pm
    Feb 15, 2018, 06.29 pm
    Be careful it is reported that the ecu is locked to stop flashing and will lockout the bike if you try.  This might just be eu law or might be a myth put around to stop people trying but there are warnings on 'home devices to not try or it will break?  I think they say triumph dealers can do it with their tools so it looks like it is possible if you have the right kit.

  • Offline SW FL

    • Trophy Member  ‐    35
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #3

    Offline SW FL

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 35
    • Bike: Trophy SE
    • City / Town: CAPE CORAL
    Re: Computer Re-Flash
    Reply #3 on: Feb 15, 2018, 06.46 pm
    Feb 15, 2018, 06.46 pm
    My selling dealer agreed to load what use to be called the "off-road" flash (This is what was downloaded on my Bonneville, Thunderbird & Rocket III), but once he plugged into the ECU, he said that my 2016  used a newer ECU and that it was what they called,  "Self-teaching" and would automatically adjust to minimal modifications.  Never heard of such a thing.

  • Offline john348   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1524
    • ****
      #4

    Offline john348

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 1524
    • Bike: sprint1050 tiger955
    • City / Town: Farndon
    • Country: gb
    Re: Computer Re-Flash
    Reply #4 on: Feb 15, 2018, 07.25 pm
    Feb 15, 2018, 07.25 pm
    You can always put on a new muffler and go through the ecu retrain.  The way to do it has been published on this site.  It is a closed system so will retune as it needs to.

  • Offline SW FL

    • Trophy Member  ‐    35
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #5

    Offline SW FL

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 35
    • Bike: Trophy SE
    • City / Town: CAPE CORAL
    Re: Computer Re-Flash
    Reply #5 on: Feb 15, 2018, 10.26 pm
    Feb 15, 2018, 10.26 pm
    I have not seen that. I did a search under "ecu retrain" but came up blank. Could it be listed another way?

    Thank you in advance,

    Frank

  • Offline brenchley   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    535
    • ****
      #6

    Offline brenchley

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 535
    • Bike: 2021 Honda Gold Wing
    • City / Town: NE Florida
    • Country: us
    Re: Computer Re-Flash
    Reply #6 on: Feb 16, 2018, 01.50 am
    Feb 16, 2018, 01.50 am
    Perhaps you're looking for the 'Engine Adaptation' procedure.

    Previously explained by Coconut here:

    https://www.triumph-trophy.com/index.php/topic,6894.msg83847.html#msg83847
    Former 2014 Blue TTSE
    IBA #69644

  • Offline ShaunDW

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    213
    • ***
      #7

    Offline ShaunDW

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 213
    • Bike: Trophy A1
    • City / Town: Simonstone, Lancs
    Re: Computer Re-Flash
    Reply #7 on: Feb 19, 2018, 12.15 pm
    Feb 19, 2018, 12.15 pm
    *Originally Posted by SW FL [+]
    My selling dealer agreed to load what use to be called the "off-road" flash (This is what was downloaded on my Bonneville, Thunderbird & Rocket III), but once he plugged into the ECU, he said that my 2016  used a newer ECU and that it was what they called,  "Self-teaching" and would automatically adjust to minimal modifications.  Never heard of such a thing.
    My dealer also recommended a new ECU flash when I fitted a Trident can on my TT. However, when I asked them to do it during the recent 40K service, they admitted that there wasn't one for the TT.
    As Triumph themselves offer end cans for most of their bikes, I suspect that they also sell the ECU re-flash to go with them. However, as they don't offer a can for the TT, it follows that they do not have a suitable ECU flash available. Though my dealer obviously didn't realise that until they actually looked for it!
    Pacific Blue Trophy A1
    Honda Bros 650 (since import from Japan in '95)
    History (best of):
    KE125, CB250T, DT400, GS425, GS650G, XR200, CB900F2, FJ1200, K1200RS