Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Audio system is totally inert on new bike  (Read 10860 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    346
    • ***
    • Topic Author

    Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 346
    • Bike: '12 S10 '15 TTSE
    • City / Town: Nashvegas, TN
    Audio system is totally inert on new bike
    on: May 05, 2018, 03.30 pm
    May 05, 2018, 03.30 pm
    I bought a 2015 model with 27 miles on it (used...?) and the audio system is completely inert. I'm reading the instructions that say to press either the volume up or mode button to turn it on, but when I do that nothing at all happens...no sound, no change on the display, etc.

    Any thoughts would be appreciated.

  • Offline trophied   us

    • Trophy God  ‐    4773
    • *****
      #1

    Offline trophied

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 4773
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: New Braunfels, Tx
    • Country: us
    Re: Audio system is totally inert on new bike
    Reply #1 on: May 05, 2018, 05.32 pm
    May 05, 2018, 05.32 pm
    If the display shows "Mute" or "Radio Off", the volume up button should turn it on.  If there is no display at all, check the audio fuse, in case it has been removed due to the wrong version of software causing a dead battery.  If that isn't the issue, look for the audio display at the bottom of the dash and try changing the mode with the "M" button to see if you get a Weatherband (3), AM, FM,  or Satellite radio station, No Device, or No Signal in the display.  If you get any of those displays, go to the audio setup menu, scroll down to select audio output and press ""p" to see if it is set to "headset".  If it is there is no audio through the speakers.  You can toggle with the scroll up/down switch between the headset or speaker settings then press "p" for your preference, and then scroll up and press "p" to exit out of the menu.  Hope this helps.
    One of the Founding Members of the Twisted Trophies

  • Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    346
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 346
    • Bike: '12 S10 '15 TTSE
    • City / Town: Nashvegas, TN
    Re: Audio system is totally inert on new bike
    Reply #2 on: May 05, 2018, 05.56 pm
    May 05, 2018, 05.56 pm
    I appreciate the response. All fuses are good, and I tried to reset by disconnecting the battery, no joy. There is no display or sound of any kind regardless of button pushing. No audio menu, etc. The area at the bottom of the display remains blank after the TES self test.

    Thanks for trying to help!


  • Offline Mr. B.

    • Trophy Member  ‐    90
    • **
      #3

    Offline Mr. B.

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 90
    • Bike: Goldwing GL1800
    • City / Town: Berlin
    Re: Audio system is totally inert on new bike
    Reply #3 on: May 05, 2018, 08.44 pm
    May 05, 2018, 08.44 pm
    Do you have a standard Trophy or a SE?
    Only the SE has the radio.
    Klaus

  • Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    346
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 346
    • Bike: '12 S10 '15 TTSE
    • City / Town: Nashvegas, TN
    Re: Audio system is totally inert on new bike
    Reply #4 on: May 05, 2018, 08.52 pm
    May 05, 2018, 08.52 pm
     Can only get the SE here. Also, I wouldn't have been so detailed in my description if I didn't have an audio system to turn on.  :002:

  • Offline SprintST1050

    • Ex Member
    • Trophy Pro  ‐    247
    • *
      #5

    Offline SprintST1050

    • Ex Member
    • Trophy Pro
    • *
    • Posts: 247
    • Bike: '15 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Charlotte, NC
    Re: Audio system is totally inert on new bike
    Reply #5 on: May 06, 2018, 05.04 am
    May 06, 2018, 05.04 am
    I bought my 2015 'brand new' last summer with 35 miles on the odometer.  Your bike should still have a warranty unless you bought it off of Craigslist in a back alley transaction down in a Mexican hovel - contact the local Triumph dealer and/or the American distributor.

  • Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    346
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #6

    Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 346
    • Bike: '12 S10 '15 TTSE
    • City / Town: Nashvegas, TN
    Re: Audio system is totally inert on new bike
    Reply #6 on: May 06, 2018, 05.14 am
    May 06, 2018, 05.14 am
    *Originally Posted by SprintST1050 [+]
    I bought my 2015 'brand new' last summer with 35 miles on the odometer.  Your bike should still have a warranty unless you bought it off of Craigslist in a back alley transaction down in a Mexican hovel - contact the local Triumph dealer and/or the American distributor.

    Actually the bike would still have the same warranty coverage even if I did buy it off Craigslist in a back alley transaction, as it's transferable regardless of who is selling it. As it happens, I have 11 days of warranty remaining because while I bought it used, it hasn't quite been 2 full years since it was sold. I will be doing what you suggest; what I was looking for was advice to directly address the issue, in case this is a user-serviceable issue that is known.. I should have been more clear.

    Thanks for the reply!

  • Online Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9765
    • *****
      #7

    Online Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9765
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Audio system is totally inert on new bike
    Reply #7 on: May 06, 2018, 08.35 am
    May 06, 2018, 08.35 am
    Remove the under seat storage box - ( 4 x (15) Torx screws -
    The Audio Module is underneath there - Check that the cable connections are secure  :028:

    ( Photo below is the UK version without the XM Antenna cable connected ).



    Also check for any stored "DTC's" ( Error codes ) that may help further identify what's wrong.

    See here : Servicing Data, Reference Info. & DTC ( Fault ) Codes - Scroll down to Reply #8  :028:

    Cheers  :821:

    Last Edit: Mar 12, 2020, 07.42 pm by Coconut