Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Screen has mind of its own  (Read 3925 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Trophy2013

    • Trophy Junior  ‐    9
    • *
    • Topic Author

    Offline Trophy2013

    • Trophy Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 9
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Biggleswade
    Screen has mind of its own
    on: Jun 08, 2018, 10.39 am
    Jun 08, 2018, 10.39 am
    Hi
    when I leave the bike for a few days, and then switch it on the screen does not raise up to preset position, in fact the screen switch has no effect in raising the screen at all. Then all by itself after a good while, it decides to reset itself and start working. Please can anyone identify what is going on, as it is baffling me

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10074
    • *****
      #1

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10074
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Screen has mind of its own
    Reply #1 on: Jun 08, 2018, 05.54 pm
    Jun 08, 2018, 05.54 pm
    A few things you can check :

    Main Battery condition - check ( or have it checked ) that it is holding a full charge -
    On a 2013 Trophy it could be time for new battery !

    Are there any "Diagnostic Trouble Codes" ( DTC's ) stored ?
    ( See here : Servicing Data, Reference Info. & DTC ( Fault ) Codes - Scroll to Post Reply #8 )
    Note : There are no specific DTC's for the Screen motor, but it's always worth checking for any,
    whenever investigating any issues, as other unknown but related faults may be identified !

    Is there anything physically restricting the movement of the Screen
    that could be interfering with the Anti-Trap "feature".

    Access the Windscreen ( buried away under the cockpit ) motor
    and spray a little silicone lubricant on the worm drive gears.

    If you have the After-Market "DealerTool" device,
    you can carry out a process to set the Upper and Lower limit stop positions,
    which may resolve the problem.

    Cheers  :821:

    Last Edit: Mar 12, 2020, 05.57 pm by Coconut

  • Offline earthman   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2121
    • ****
      #2

    Offline earthman

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 2121
    • Country: gb
    Re: Screen has mind of its own
    Reply #2 on: Jun 08, 2018, 08.51 pm
    Jun 08, 2018, 08.51 pm
    This may not be the actual issue in your case but it's worth looking after all those linkages/pivot points that are behind the screen, if/when they start to bind, the movement of the screen can play up.
    Not all of them are easy to get at, I use a long straw on a can of GT85.

  • Offline 1675   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    963
    • ****
      #3

    Offline 1675

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 963
    • Bike: Trophy
    • City / Town: Spennymoor
    • Country: gb
    Re: Screen has mind of its own
    Reply #3 on: Jun 09, 2018, 08.39 am
    Jun 09, 2018, 08.39 am
    Had loads of similar bother with mine when the bike was new and believe others had too. Mine was a software issue and was eventually fixed, nut not before a new motor had been fitted in an effort to find the fault.
    Last Edit: Jun 09, 2018, 08.41 am by 1675

  • Offline earthman   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2121
    • ****
      #4

    Offline earthman

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 2121
    • Country: gb
    Re: Screen has mind of its own
    Reply #4 on: Jun 09, 2018, 10.28 am
    Jun 09, 2018, 10.28 am
    A software issue with the screen? Why doesn't that surprise me, Lol

    Now they need to solve the 'low voltage', 'No device' and 'Low TPMS battery' messages,....these are all software related faults I think.

  • Offline janfmiller   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    951
    • ****
      #5

    Offline janfmiller

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 951
    • No such thing a bad weather; just wrong clothes!
    • Bike: Was: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Superior Wisconsin
    • Country: us
    Re: Screen has mind of its own
    Reply #5 on: Jun 09, 2018, 02.13 pm
    Jun 09, 2018, 02.13 pm
    *Originally Posted by earthman [+]
    A software issue with the screen? Why doesn't that surprise me, Lol

    Now they need to solve the 'low voltage', 'No device' and 'Low TPMS battery' messages,....these are all software related faults I think.

    I have grown to know and love and blissfully ignore these messages... though I do get bored with the TES faulting until ridden 10 miles in cold conditions...  Well, they fixed MOST of the glitches.... ..
    1977 Suzuki TS-185
    1974 Kawasaki Z-1 903
    2021 Honda Africa Twin Adventure Sports ES NON-DCT

  • Offline earthman   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2121
    • ****
      #6

    Offline earthman

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 2121
    • Country: gb
    Re: Screen has mind of its own
    Reply #6 on: Jun 09, 2018, 05.17 pm
    Jun 09, 2018, 05.17 pm
    *Originally Posted by janfmiller [+]
    I have grown to know and love and blissfully ignore these messages... though I do get bored with the TES faulting until ridden 10 miles in cold conditions...  Well, they fixed MOST of the glitches.... ..

    I still say that the Trophy is the best bike I've owned but these glitches and their response to the ignition switch wiring etc is far from great to be honest.

    If I'm ever in the position to spend 10k plus on a bike, I'll be thinking twice about even looking at a Triumph.

  • Offline Trophy2013

    • Trophy Junior  ‐    9
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • #7

    Offline Trophy2013

    • Trophy Junior
    • *
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 9
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Biggleswade
    Re: Screen has mind of its own
    Reply #7 on: Jun 11, 2018, 07.02 am
    Jun 11, 2018, 07.02 am
    Thanks for all your ideas on what to check, I have a DTC code 1633, but do not know what that is.
    The screen is working again for now, however I am sure it will stop working once I leave the bike