Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Throttle Balance  (Read 3604 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Wilko   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    622
    • ****
    • Topic Author

    Offline Wilko

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 622
    • Bike: TTSE Pacific Blue
    • City / Town: Rowley Regis
    • Country: gb
    Throttle Balance
    on: Jan 20, 2019, 06.12 pm
    Jan 20, 2019, 06.12 pm
    Why is this,

    Someone on facebook has taken a photo of his dealertool / pc showing that his throttles are balanced at 67-66-66, while mine is saying balanced at 72-70-70  :027:

    Why is this, and what is kPa.





    EDIT : Title only edited to aide future Forum Searches.
    From "Throttle Ballance" to "Throttle Balance" ( Typo ).
    Trophy Moderator
    Last Edit: Jan 22, 2019, 04.48 pm by Trophy Moderator
    Paul Wilko

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10005
    • *****
      #1

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10005
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Throttle Balance
    Reply #1 on: Jan 20, 2019, 08.18 pm
    Jan 20, 2019, 08.18 pm
    Thoughts on this one ....

    Was the engine at normal operating temperature when you checked the figures ?
    ( I don't know how much difference it would make ).

    Before checking the Throttle Body Balance did you carry out the "Adaption" Process ?
    I mention this because the Service Manual Page 10.138 Para. 10 describes carrying out
    the Adaption process immediately prior to the Section on balancing the Throttle Bodies ?

    ( The description of how to carry out the Adaption process is at Page 10.142 ).

    The process involves refitting the Airbox etc, and allowing the engine to run up
    to normal operating temperature.

    The procedure for Balancing the Throttle bodies needs the Airbox to be removed again !

    I have not carried out this task myself, and can't advise further.

    Cheers  :821:






    Last Edit: Jan 29, 2020, 06.46 pm by Coconut

  • Offline earthman   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2121
    • ****
      #2

    Offline earthman

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 2121
    • Country: gb
    Re: Throttle Balance
    Reply #2 on: Jan 20, 2019, 08.37 pm
    Jan 20, 2019, 08.37 pm
    From what I remember, using old school gauges, it didn't matter what the figures actual were so long as they all read the same, well within a point or two shall we say.

    kPa stands for Kilopascal by the way.

  • Offline rpeters549   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    750
    • ****
      #3

    Offline rpeters549

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 750
    • Bike: 2015 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Lowell, Or
    • Country: us
    Re: Throttle Balance
    Reply #3 on: Jan 21, 2019, 02.37 am
    Jan 21, 2019, 02.37 am
    I agree with earthman.  Pretty sure the documentation also pretty much says the same thing.
    Year round rider here!

  • Offline Wilko   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    622
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Offline Wilko

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 622
    • Bike: TTSE Pacific Blue
    • City / Town: Rowley Regis
    • Country: gb
    Re: Throttle Balance
    Reply #4 on: Jan 21, 2019, 08.52 pm
    Jan 21, 2019, 08.52 pm
    Evening Coconut / Earthman.

    When I had completed the work, I fitted the airbox, started the bike from cold and let it warm up, I actually went inside for a cuppa.
    I plugged the DealerTool in and ran the program, no faults, instrument test etc, and throttle balance check, I had the green text saying all was okay, I'm just wondering if cylinder 1 would give a higher reading if it was drawing air between the airbox and throttle body, I had a play with the DealerTool when I first had it, never adjusted anything, but I got the same reading then 72-70-70..


    Coconut, I did not do the  "Adaption" Process, should I of had done  :084:, and If I have to, can this be done without stripping the bike again  :110: ...I have not adjusted the throttles.

    As I stated earlier, as of yet, I have not test ridden the bike, but all "appears" normal.
    Paul Wilko

  • Offline earthman   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    2121
    • ****
      #5

    Offline earthman

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 2121
    • Country: gb
    Re: Throttle Balance
    Reply #5 on: Jan 21, 2019, 09.34 pm
    Jan 21, 2019, 09.34 pm
    Every time the battery is disconnected/reconnected, you should do that adaption process. :002: 

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10005
    • *****
      #6

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10005
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Throttle Balance
    Reply #6 on: Jan 22, 2019, 10.17 am
    Jan 22, 2019, 10.17 am
    Wilko,

    The Service Manual isn't clear as to whether you "should" have completed the Adaption process,
    but from your description you may have done it without even realising ..... !

    It certainly won't do any harm to carry out the procedure,
    which is performed with the Trophy fully assembled :

    1. Ensure the engine is COLD
    2. Start the engine but DO NOT touch the throttle.
    3. Allow the engine to idle and warm up until the Radiator Fans cut in.
    4. Leave the engine running for a further 12 minutes.
    4. Switch off.

    An alternative method is desxribed in the service Manual of carrying out a "Fast" Adaption
    via the ( Triumph ) Diagnostics software, after which it would seem that,
    ( again the Service Manual { Page 10.142 } isn't too clear on this !),
    a further procedure may need to be performed : "Cruise Control Switch Check Function Test",
    where the various Cruise Control switches are operated in a specific order.

    ( See Page 10.35 of the Service Manual ).

    I don't believe this needs to be done after a "Manual" Adaption,
    only when initiated ( Reset ) by the Triumph diagnostics software,
    but is another "useful to know" procedure as :
    "The Cruise Control switch check is required after certain DTC's
    have been repaired which relate to the ride by wire system
    or cruise control system, or after the adaptions have been reset...."  :087:

    Cheers  :821:


    Last Edit: Jan 29, 2020, 06.41 pm by Coconut

  • Offline Ernest T   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    1092
    • ****
      #7

    Offline Ernest T

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 1092
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Salado, Texas
    • Country: us
    Re: Throttle Balance
    Reply #7 on: Jan 24, 2019, 05.35 pm
    Jan 24, 2019, 05.35 pm
    I think you're talking about me as that sounds like my picture.  I think the exact numbers are irrelevant, but variable based on a few things.  One is elevation because Kilopascal or kPa is a measure of pressure and static air pressure changes with elevation.  1 kPa is approximately the pressure exerted by a 10g mass resting on a 1 square cm area. 101.3 kPa = 1 atm at sea level.  The ECM will adjust the fuel air mixture to account for elevation changes.  I think the reason you have to balance the throttle bodies with the air box off is so there are no restrictions in the air flow which can skew the reading.

     



    tweedy-bunch