Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Fuel gauge shows 0 bars and Miles to Empty shows 0 miles  (Read 4400 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline GizmoRider

    • Trophy Member  ‐    20
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline GizmoRider

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 20
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE A1
    • City / Town: Durham, NC
    Fuel gauge shows 0 bars and Miles to Empty shows 0 miles
    on: Feb 10, 2019, 12.23 am
    Feb 10, 2019, 12.23 am
    Even though there is fuel in the tank (probably 4 gallons or more), my gauge shows 0 bars and reads 0 miles to empty.  I have seen this subject on another (old) thread, but:
    1) Is this a common occurrence?
    2) Where do I start looking for the problem?

    I have had electronics issues in the past with this Trophy (didn't recognize that it had a sound system, twice), so I'd appreciate any guidance with whether this is likely a computer, wiring harness or hardware issue.

    2013 Trophy SE A1

    Thanks,

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9767
    • *****
      #1

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9767
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fuel gauge shows 0 bars and Miles to Empty shows 0 miles
    Reply #1 on: Feb 10, 2019, 11.45 am
    Feb 10, 2019, 11.45 am
    Hi GizmoRider,

    NOTE : If the Main Battery has been disconnected or allowed to fall to a low voltage level, this
    could result in an apparently false indication of the fuel level when the Ignition is switched back on.

    The Fuel level indication is not refreshed immediately, for example after refuelling,
    and this is explained in the Owners Handbook, Page 34 :

    After refuelling, the fuel gauge and range to empty
    information will be updated only while riding the motorcycle.
    Depending on the riding style, updating could take up to five minutes.

    It is therefore recommended to ride the Trophy for a few miles / over 5 minutes
    to see if the Fuel Level display is updated.

    NOTE : If the Fuel level is still not indicated, is worth checking that the Main Battery
    is fully charged,  then disconnecting the Battery, leaving it for a few minutes, then reconnecting it.
    This has been known to "reset" some apparently unusual faults !

    If neither of these rectify the problem, check for any Diagnostic Trouble Codes ( DTC's ).
    See here : Servicing Data, Reference Info. & DTC ( Fault ) Codes -
    Scroll to Reply #8 for information on how to display DTC's on the Instrument Panel. 
    At the end of that Post is a downloadable document listing the DTC's,
    and explaining their meanings, together with other useful information.

    DTC "P0460" is "Fuel Level Sensor Circuit Malfunction".
    NOTE : This fault does NOT illuminate the MIL
    ( Malfunction Indicator Light /  Engine Management Light ).

    The tests for rectifying this fault are limited to :
      checking the wiring connector from the Fuel Level sensor is secure,
      Checking the continuity between Terminal 1 of the sensor to terminal B22 of the ECU
      ( Black wire with Yellow Stripe )
      Checking the continuity between Terminal 2 of the sensor to Ground
      Checking for short circuit between Terminal 1 of the sensor and Ground

    Fortunately the wiring connector from the Fuel Level sensor is quite accessible
    behind the left Side Panel, forward of the Relays :
    ( Note the wiring colours from the connector to the Sensor difffer from those
    at the Main Harness side which run to the ECU ) :




    If no faults can be identified with the wiring and connections, and there are no DTC's,
    then the most obvious step to take next would be to replace the Fuel Level Sensor.


    Cheers  :821:




    Last Edit: Jan 26, 2020, 04.47 pm by Coconut

  • Offline GizmoRider

    • Trophy Member  ‐    20
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline GizmoRider

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 20
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE A1
    • City / Town: Durham, NC
    Re: Fuel gauge shows 0 bars and Miles to Empty shows 0 miles
    Reply #2 on: Feb 10, 2019, 11.04 pm
    Feb 10, 2019, 11.04 pm
    Thanks for the help, Coconut!  I understand the delay regarding fuel level change (I've had the Trophy from new and 22,000 miles), but I have ridden the Trophy for about 45 minutes with no change in fuel level indications.  I pulled up two DTC codes, P0460 and P1698.  I have already tried disconnecting the battery, with no change in fuel level reading.  Will start pulling bodywork to do the tests.  I will let the forum know how this turns out.
    Last Edit: Feb 10, 2019, 11.11 pm by GizmoRider

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9767
    • *****
      #3

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9767
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fuel gauge shows 0 bars and Miles to Empty shows 0 miles
    Reply #3 on: Feb 11, 2019, 07.38 am
    Feb 11, 2019, 07.38 am
    DTC P1698 is "5 Volt sensor supply malfunction".

    This fault code often crops up when there are Low Main Battery issues - see previous reply.

    The Tests described in the Service Manual for this fault do not specifically mention
    the Fuel Level Sensor, but describe checking the integrity of the wiring connections
    at Pins B18 and B34 of the main ECU, Short circuit between those Pins,
    the wiring connections between the ECU and the MAP Sensor, Ambient Pressure Sensor,
    and Fall Detection Switch, and other wiring related tests for short circuits.





    Last Edit: Jan 26, 2020, 04.45 pm by Coconut

  • Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    346
    • ***
      #4

    Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 346
    • Bike: '12 S10 '15 TTSE
    • City / Town: Nashvegas, TN
    Re: Fuel gauge shows 0 bars and Miles to Empty shows 0 miles
    Reply #4 on: Mar 29, 2019, 03.24 pm
    Mar 29, 2019, 03.24 pm
    So this spring my bike has started doing a similar thing. For me, it all seems to be working fine, but when I get down to 2 bars, it will stay on 2 bars for maybe 20-30 miles, then go right to 0 bars and 0 miles of range on the display. When I stop for gas at this point, the tank will typically take just over 5 gallons to fill, which is clearly not nearly '0 miles' of range.

    I have repeated this three times in a row, so it's definitely 'a thing.' Has anyone looked into this further?

  • Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    346
    • ***
      #5

    Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 346
    • Bike: '12 S10 '15 TTSE
    • City / Town: Nashvegas, TN
    Re: Fuel gauge shows 0 bars and Miles to Empty shows 0 miles
    Reply #5 on: Mar 29, 2019, 03.27 pm
    Mar 29, 2019, 03.27 pm
    *Originally Posted by GizmoRider [+]
    Thanks for the help, Coconut!  I understand the delay regarding fuel level change (I've had the Trophy from new and 22,000 miles), but I have ridden the Trophy for about 45 minutes with no change in fuel level indications.  I pulled up two DTC codes, P0460 and P1698.  I have already tried disconnecting the battery, with no change in fuel level reading.  Will start pulling bodywork to do the tests.  I will let the forum know how this turns out.

    How did it go?

  • Offline GizmoRider

    • Trophy Member  ‐    20
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #6

    Offline GizmoRider

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 20
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE A1
    • City / Town: Durham, NC
    Re: Fuel gauge shows 0 bars and Miles to Empty shows 0 miles
    Reply #6 on: Mar 29, 2019, 04.27 pm
    Mar 29, 2019, 04.27 pm
    Sorry for not following up yet...life took a dump on me and the Trophy slid way down the priority list.  I will follow up as soon as I get back to Trophy work/riding.

  • Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    346
    • ***
      #7

    Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 346
    • Bike: '12 S10 '15 TTSE
    • City / Town: Nashvegas, TN
    Re: Fuel gauge shows 0 bars and Miles to Empty shows 0 miles
    Reply #7 on: Mar 29, 2019, 06.05 pm
    Mar 29, 2019, 06.05 pm
    *Originally Posted by GizmoRider [+]
    Sorry for not following up yet...life took a dump on me and the Trophy slid way down the priority list.  I will follow up as soon as I get back to Trophy work/riding.

    Sorry to hear that. I hope things are looking up for you.

    On a side note, I am planning to ride to Durham in the not-too-distant future to visit friends...maybe we can have a little Trophy meet-up?