Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: Garmin 660 wiring help?  (Read 6212 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chgosprint09

  • Trophy Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy
  • City / Town: Chicago
  • Country: USA
Garmin 660 wiring help?
« on: July 26, 2013, 02:39:20 pm »
I am becoming a new owner of a Trophy today. I am trading in my Victory Vision which has a Garmin 660 installed and the mount and wiring is permanent. Does anyone know if the wiring kit and Mount from Triuph includes the cradle for the 660 or do I need to purchase a new cradle and wiring for the gps? Thank you

Offline Berber

  • Trophy Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 1182
    • View Profile
  • Bike: K1600GTL (Pegasus)
  • City / Town: Nottingham
  • Country: UK
Re: Garmin 660 wiring help?
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2013, 03:21:21 pm »
In one word yes. The Triumph mount is indeed for the Garmin 600 althoguh some others can fit it with some fudging.
'The farther one travels, the less one knows.......'

George Harrison

Offline cropbiker

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4933
  • Midlands biker
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Worcester
  • Country: UK
Re: Garmin 660 wiring help?
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2013, 03:23:12 pm »
Yes, agreed. The Triumph mount is designed specifically with the Garmin 660 in mind. It does not come with the cradle and harness though. You would need to either strip that off your Victory or buy a new one..
Triumph Trophy! Not for every Tomaz, Dieter or Herman!🇬🇧

Offline chgosprint09

  • Trophy Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy
  • City / Town: Chicago
  • Country: USA
Re: Garmin 660 wiring help?
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2013, 04:07:02 pm »
Thank you for clearification

Offline madshep

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
  • City / Town: Boston, Lincolnshire
  • Country: UK
Re: Garmin 660 wiring help?
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2013, 04:07:33 pm »
Got my bike in June, and like you, had the 660 fitted to my previous bike.

Triumph supply a sat nav mounting bracket, (I had this fitted by the dealers), but as this is designed to allow many different types of devices to be fitted, you'll then need to also get the specific kit for the 660 fitted to that, and get that wired in too.

Again, I had this all done in the dealers before I picked the bike up, but I did have to buy the 660 specific bracket  (with wiring loom attached) and take it to them a week before I was due to pick up the bike.

Got mine from e-bay
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GARMIN-ZUMO-660-MOTORCYCLE-MOUNT-010-11270-03-/230815493228?pt=UK_CE_GPS_Accessories_Software_ET&hash=item35bdacec6c

Offline chgosprint09

  • Trophy Junior
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy
  • City / Town: Chicago
  • Country: USA
Re: Garmin 660 wiring help?
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2013, 06:02:24 pm »
Thank You MADSHEP that is exactly what I am having to do with mine. Thank You

Offline cropbiker

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4933
  • Midlands biker
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Worcester
  • Country: UK
Re: Garmin 660 wiring help?
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2013, 06:05:39 pm »
Just make sure your dealership knows to connect the audio out on the Garmin loom to the bike audio in plug.

There are a couple of threads on here about how this is done and how several dealers seems unaware of it and did not connect it meaning you don't get the audio and a trip back to be rectified.
Triumph Trophy! Not for every Tomaz, Dieter or Herman!🇬🇧

Offline enGage

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 402
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2013 Trophy
  • City / Town: Grand Rapids
  • Country: USA
Re: Garmin 660 wiring help?
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2013, 05:57:16 pm »
*Originally Posted by cropbiker [+]
Just make sure your dealership knows to connect the audio out on the Garmin loom to the bike audio in plug.

There are a couple of threads on here about how this is done and how several dealers seems unaware of it and did not connect it meaning you don't get the audio and a trip back to be rectified.

Just so I understand.  One buys the Garmin 660, then gets the mount/wiring kit.  For reading other posts it sounds like Triumph provides wiring for the Garmin behind the front fairing.  Is that righ.  Does that wiring power the Garmin directly or hook into the wiring kit?

 



tweedy-bunch