Author [ES] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [SE] [FI] [NO] Topic: starcom digital  (Read 3241 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline madmechanic

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
  • Bike: trophy se
  • City / Town: blackpool
  • Country: UK
starcom digital
« on: July 28, 2013, 07:56:56 PM »
Hi can anyone see a problem wiring my starcom digital intercom straight to the battery for power.
  It only powers up when you plug in  the riders headset and turns off when you unplug it,
My thinking wiring to the battery is that A. keeps power on when you turn ignition off in case you require to turn off bike and keep intercom
 B. eliminate interference
 I had it wired this way on my ex BMW k1200gt and my Honda st1300 and it worked fine     :435: :435: :084:

Offline cropbiker

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4933
  • Midlands biker
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Worcester
  • Country: UK
Re: starcom digital
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2013, 09:47:32 PM »
I don't see why it wouldn't work.

As you say, if the power is automatically cut when y unplug the headset then won't drain the battery
Triumph Trophy! Not for every Tomaz, Dieter or Herman!🇬🇧

Offline Roger

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 431
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Kent
  • Country: UK
Re: starcom digital
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2013, 10:16:07 PM »
Hi Mad mechanic

The dealer where I bought my bike ran my starcom power cable from the battery too under the seat so that I could plug it straight into the starcom unit so they are happy with that, I need to find out if I can Bluetooth the bike radio to the starcom unit and then use the two helmets through the cables ( not Bluetooth ) I prefer the idea of plugging the cable and going rather than wondering if the battery in the Bluetooth thingy is charged

Is that what you want to do ?

Roger

Roger

Offline cropbiker

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4933
  • Midlands biker
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Worcester
  • Country: UK
Re: starcom digital
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2013, 10:18:53 PM »
Hi Roger.

I run an Autocom unit and Bluetooth the bike to that no problem..

Like you I prefer a cable to the helmet so I am not worrying about things being charged or not..

I am sure the Starcom will connect no problem!
Triumph Trophy! Not for every Tomaz, Dieter or Herman!🇬🇧

Offline clarge

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Qualicum Beach
  • Country: Canada
Re: starcom digital
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2013, 12:22:25 AM »
My understanding is that the Starcom WILL NOT connect via blue tooth to  the the audio system. I have the starcom  digital system and even had the part ordered to go blue tooth. they contacted me and then gave me a refund as they said it wouldn't work as they hadn't got it working.

Offline cropbiker

  • Trophy God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4933
  • Midlands biker
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Worcester
  • Country: UK
Re: starcom digital
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2013, 06:18:52 AM »
So much for international communication standards!  :191:
Triumph Trophy! Not for every Tomaz, Dieter or Herman!🇬🇧

Offline Tlrtone

  • Trophy Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Poole
  • Country: UK
Re: starcom digital
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2013, 09:03:23 AM »
I couldn't get my Starcom with Bluetooth to connect to the bike, so I ordered a pair of Sena SMH-10's and they connected no problem!

I did have my Starcom wired directly to the battery with no problems, apart from the fact that I couldn't use the bike audio/ipod connection. 


Offline Roger

  • Trophy Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 431
    • View Profile
  • Bike: Triumph Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Kent
  • Country: UK
Re: starcom digital
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2013, 09:10:31 AM »
Hi Cropbiker

So with your starcom do you listen to the bike radio through it ? if so how ?

I know Triumph don't want anyone chopping into the loom which is fair enough, but I was wondering if where the loom connects to the speakers you could make a connection, I may look at that idea someday if I am unable to Bluetooth the starcom unit.

Roger