Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Fitting Autocom  (Read 2762 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Online baz1   gb

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    166
    • ***
    • Topic Author

    Online baz1

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 166
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: basingstoke
    • Country: gb
    Fitting Autocom
    on: May 02, 2019, 10.35 pm
    May 02, 2019, 10.35 pm
    Hopefully tomorrow my new ish TTSE should be delivered. I have a few jobs to do including fitting an Autocom hard wired system and Garmin 590. I have used this setup on my past three bikes so I know it will work fine, but does anyone know if will it integrate with the bikes radio via Bluetooth? No issues if not as Ill use my phone to stream a radio station.
    Cheers Baz
    Last Edit: May 03, 2019, 09.09 am by Trophy Moderator

  • Online baz1   gb

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    166
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #1

    Online baz1

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 166
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: basingstoke
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fitting Autocom
    Reply #1 on: May 03, 2019, 07.35 am
    May 03, 2019, 07.35 am
    Just noticed I missed most of the wording in the title, must have had one to many beers last night  :001:

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9767
    • *****
      #2

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9767
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fitting Autocom
    Reply #2 on: May 03, 2019, 07.39 am
    May 03, 2019, 07.39 am
    It probably depends on what you are trying to achieve,
    together with the capabilities of your helmet Bluetooth device,
    as there are different connection options.

    I have no knowledge of the Autocom system.

    The Trophy has a dedicated "NAV" Input plug ( 3.5mm stereo Jack Plug )
    which can be found behind and below the left mirror pod, usually taped up
    and with a black protective shroud over the plug, coming off the main harness.

    In the same are there is a dedicated "clean" Power supply socket - also blanked off,
    for which you can buy the corresponding multi plug ( 2 pin ) accessory cable
    for providing power to the Garmin.

    This is a useful Topic on fitting the Garmin Bracket :
    HOW TO: Fitting Triumph Sat Nav Mount & Zumo 660

    The way the NAV Input works ( NAV AUDIO has to be switched ON in the Trophy Menu ),
    is to mute all other Audio Output fromthe Trophy Audio Unit
    ( Radio / iPod on USB connection etc ) so that the SAT NAV voice instructions can be heard.

    Audio Output from the Trophy can be selected as either HEADSETS ( for Bluetooth Helmet )
    or SPEAKERS ( for the Trophy built in Loudspeakers ).


    There is NO wired Audio Output fromthe Trophy, which I seem to remember from a past Post
    that you might need for the Autocom system, but I also recall someone tapping into the
    Loudspeaker wires for this connection.

    The Bluetooth Output of the Trophy has 2 Channels ( numbered 1 & 2 ).

    Channel 1 is "HEADSET 1" ad Channel 2 is "DEVICE 2" in the Trophy Menu.
    ( Note the numbers are the Channels, there is no HEADSET 2 or DEVICE 1 ).

    HEADSET 1, as the name suggests, supports connection of a compatible Bluetooth Headset,
    while DEVICE 2 supports connection of a compatible Bluetooth Headset, or Mobile Phone,
    or Audio Streaming device.

    I will see if I can find more information on the Autocom and will let you know if I do,
    meanwhile I hope the above will be useful in planning your configuration.

    Cheers  :821:



    Last Edit: Jan 19, 2020, 04.41 pm by Coconut

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9767
    • *****
      #3

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9767
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fitting Autocom
    Reply #3 on: May 03, 2019, 07.54 am
    May 03, 2019, 07.54 am
    Found it ( from May 2013 ! ) :

    Hacking the bike speakers

    In the write up, it is suggested to connect to the Speaker wires as they exit their tubes
    behind and below the instrument panel, but also consider that by removing the stowage box under
    the riders seat ( just 4 Torx type screws to remove and it lifts out ), you can access all of the
    Speaker wires there, as long as you can identify which ones are which !



    I'll study the wiring diagram this evening and let you know if they are any particular colour(s).

    Meanwhile, for the Topic Title - if you can no longer Edit the post ( Editing being time limited ),
    just hit the "Report to Moderator" link, and ask them to change the Title to whatever you want.  :028:



    Cheers  :821:

    Last Edit: Jan 19, 2020, 04.40 pm by Coconut

  • Online baz1   gb

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    166
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #4

    Online baz1

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 166
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: basingstoke
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fitting Autocom
    Reply #4 on: May 03, 2019, 08.42 am
    May 03, 2019, 08.42 am
    Thanks for the response. My Autocom is a hard wired system into the helmet. My phone is paired to the Garmin unit which will also be hard wired to the Autocom. I wasn’t sure if I could use a Bluetooth dongle off the Autocom to pair with the bike radio as well. As for power, I took a PDM 60 off my last bike which I intend to use to power any accessories . It just wired into the battery and I will need to find a switched ignition trigger somewheee under the seat.
    I have a set of crash bars arriving today so it makes sense to do all the cabling at the and time. Cheers Baz

  • Online Novocastrian   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    621
    • ****
      #5

    Online Novocastrian

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 621
    • Bike: TTSE
    • City / Town: Tynemouth
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fitting Autocom
    Reply #5 on: May 03, 2019, 08.48 am
    May 03, 2019, 08.48 am
    One of the things that bugs me is I can't hear my Zumo 595 unless the radio is switched on.  That means I have to listen to the radio or music from my USB memory stick if I also want to hear the Sat nav voice instructions....unless I'm missing something.  Yes, I know I can link the Sat nav directly to my headset and bypass the Trophy system altogether, but I do occasionally listen to the Trophy audio.
    Ken Hastie
    TTSE, a handful of BSAs and an MGB

  • Online baz1   gb

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    166
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • #6

    Online baz1

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 166
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: basingstoke
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fitting Autocom
    Reply #6 on: May 03, 2019, 09.56 am
    May 03, 2019, 09.56 am
    I think I may just set up the Satnav & Autocom separate from the bikes audio system. I can stream music & radio from my phone or the GPS unit.

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9767
    • *****
      #7

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9767
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Fitting Autocom
    Reply #7 on: May 03, 2019, 02.34 pm
    May 03, 2019, 02.34 pm
    Novocastrian,

    Assuming the output of your Garmin is connected to the
    NAV input of the Trophy, and you don’t want to hear other Audio,
    just select “NAV” as the Audio Source.
    ( Repeated presses of button “M” to scroll through the Sources ).

    Cheers  :821:

    Last Edit: Jan 19, 2020, 04.39 pm by Coconut