Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Volume Up Switch Turns On Audio, But oes Not Increase Volume  (Read 1488 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Woodsy

    • Trophy Member  ‐    18
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline Woodsy

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 18
    • Bike: 2017 TTSE
    • City / Town: Douglasville, GA
    Volume Up Switch Turns On Audio, But oes Not Increase Volume
    on: May 07, 2019, 06.41 pm
    May 07, 2019, 06.41 pm
    I rode out from Georgia to Texas last week for a rally.  My audio system had been working, but them stopped.  I used the audio volume up button to turn on the system and I am able to select the source, but the volume does not increase as I hit the up arrow button and no sound comes out.  Y'all are a great resource and are very helpful.  Any thoughts on this?
    Woodsy
    IBA # 65452, Premier Member
    2019 Tour Of Honor, Flag #220

  • Offline trophied   us

    • Trophy God  ‐    4776
    • *****
      #1

    Offline trophied

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 4776
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: New Braunfels, Tx
    • Country: us
    Re: Volume Up Switch Turns On Audio, But oes Not Increase Volume
    Reply #1 on: May 07, 2019, 07.08 pm
    May 07, 2019, 07.08 pm
    Are you using a headset, or the Trophy speakers?  If you are using a headset the Cardo G9 or better will give you handlebar control of the volume.  If it is any other brand of bluetooth headset the only volume control you have is on the headset itself and you can enable one of the AVC settings on the Trophy to increase the volume automatically with increased road speed to your preference.  The Sena 20S also has AVC settings available in the setup menus.
    One of the Founding Members of the Twisted Trophies

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9767
    • *****
      #2

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9767
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Volume Up Switch Turns On Audio, But oes Not Increase Volume
    Reply #2 on: May 07, 2019, 07.08 pm
    May 07, 2019, 07.08 pm
    Hi Woodsy,

    First off, if your Trophy is a 2017 then it may still be covered by the 2 year warranty,
    so check that, and if it's getting close to the 2 years, get it to a Dealer asap
    so the issue is recorded while still under warranty !  :169:

    If the Volume UP button turns the Radio ON, then it proves that the Button works !


    The next single Press UP should go to "MUTE" and, assuming the Audio Output is set to "SPEAKERS",
    further presses should then increase the volume progressively with a graphic on the
    central area of the Instrument Panel display showing the Volume level increasing.

    However if the Audio Output is set to "HEADSETS", then the Volume output level is fixed,
    ( except for certain Headsets as explained by trophied below ),
    and Volume control is adjusted by using the Volume controls of your Headset.

    If "SPEAKERS" are definitely selected as the Audio Output, and you can't get any sound out of them,
    then you could try disconnecting the main motorcycle battery, leaving it for a couple of minutes
    then reconnecting to see if this makes a difference. It has fixed some strange issues for other Members !

    If still no joy, remove the stowage box under the Rider's seat ( four "Torx" type screws to remove
    then the box lifts out ), and you will see the Radio Unit under there - Check the Multi Plug is firmly
    inserted into the socket of the Radio.

    Failing that, or a warranty repair, the Radio Manufacturers are in the U.S. ( RadioSound inc )
    and do offer an exchange / repair service,  Details are contained within this Topic :

    XM Radio issues.

    Cheers  :821:



     



    Last Edit: Jan 08, 2020, 05.50 pm by Coconut

  • Offline Novocastrian   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    621
    • ****
      #3

    Offline Novocastrian

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 621
    • Bike: TTSE
    • City / Town: Tynemouth
    • Country: gb
    Re: Volume Up Switch Turns On Audio, But oes Not Increase Volume
    Reply #3 on: May 07, 2019, 07.16 pm
    May 07, 2019, 07.16 pm
    I'm puzzled.  Both Coconut and Trophied stated if audio is set to Headset then the radio volume is fixed (unless a Cardo G9). Mine is set to Headset (via Bluetooth to Interphone FX4) and the handlebar volume control definitely works.....because I use it all the time.  I also have the volume control on the FX4 headset as well.

    Maybe I misunderstood what was being said here, but this is my experience  :084:
    Last Edit: May 07, 2019, 07.20 pm by Novocastrian
    Ken Hastie
    TTSE, a handful of BSAs and an MGB

  • Offline trophied   us

    • Trophy God  ‐    4776
    • *****
      #4

    Offline trophied

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 4776
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: New Braunfels, Tx
    • Country: us
    Re: Volume Up Switch Turns On Audio, But oes Not Increase Volume
    Reply #4 on: May 07, 2019, 08.21 pm
    May 07, 2019, 08.21 pm
    That's a new one on me.  This is the first post from anyone with anything other than a Cardo that can state the handlebar volume control works with their headset.  Thanks for the response, I'm sure others may be interested to know that.
    One of the Founding Members of the Twisted Trophies

  • Offline Novocastrian   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    621
    • ****
      #5

    Offline Novocastrian

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 621
    • Bike: TTSE
    • City / Town: Tynemouth
    • Country: gb
    Re: Volume Up Switch Turns On Audio, But oes Not Increase Volume
    Reply #5 on: May 07, 2019, 09.02 pm
    May 07, 2019, 09.02 pm
    My pleasure, Trophied.  Because I only use the handlebar volume control, I assumed all bluetooth headsets were the same. That's why I questioned the statement that it is usual to alter the volume on the headset (apart from the Cardo). I've never touched the volume on my Interphone FX4 headset because I've never needed to, I guess.

    I bought the Interphone FX4 as a twin kit (bulk supply, whatever that means) using eBay UK from an Italian supplier. It was quite low cost and here in 3 days. Works well.
    Ken Hastie
    TTSE, a handful of BSAs and an MGB

  • Offline Novocastrian   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    621
    • ****
      #6

    Offline Novocastrian

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 621
    • Bike: TTSE
    • City / Town: Tynemouth
    • Country: gb
    Re: Volume Up Switch Turns On Audio, But oes Not Increase Volume
    Reply #6 on: May 08, 2019, 09.49 am
    May 08, 2019, 09.49 am
    The one thing I forgot to mention is that whilst the handlebar volume control works with the Interphone FX Bluetooth headset, you don't see a bar display on the Trophy's screen as you do when the audio output is to speakers. I can live with that, though  :002:

    I also upgraded the headset speakers to Sena 40mm upon someone's recommendation in this group. A worthwhile upgrade at relatively low cost, although to connect to the Interphone harness is not for anyone who can't solder....

    I think the FX4T may now be discontinued.  I can't find it listed anymore. Maybe it was remaining stock...at 90 for the twin kit (shipped FOC from Italy) it did seem a good price. However, it works well.
    Last Edit: May 08, 2019, 09.58 am by Novocastrian
    Ken Hastie
    TTSE, a handful of BSAs and an MGB

  • Offline trophied   us

    • Trophy God  ‐    4776
    • *****
      #7

    Offline trophied

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 4776
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: New Braunfels, Tx
    • Country: us
    Re: Volume Up Switch Turns On Audio, But oes Not Increase Volume
    Reply #7 on: May 08, 2019, 02.20 pm
    May 08, 2019, 02.20 pm
    Interphone has a lot of different models now on their website, and reasonably priced in today's market.
    One of the Founding Members of the Twisted Trophies

     



    tweedy-bunch