Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Power port questions/suggestions  (Read 1287 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline KGB

    • Trophy Member  ‐    44
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline KGB

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 44
    • Bike: 2015 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: WILMINGTON MASS
    Power port questions/suggestions
    on: Jul 25, 2019, 02.44 am
    Jul 25, 2019, 02.44 am
    Ok after owning and loving this bike for the last 2+ years, I've decided to use the power ports.
    Ideally I'd use the right front with a longish cable for my phone. The one in the fairing pocket has my Ipod in it, so no room to get there.   

    What do you use for plugs or connectors?    DIN style?   I've seen some on Amazon for BMW's
    Are they all the same size?  I also have the tail trunk with the built in port.
    Some have a voltage gauge built in. Seems like a good idea.

    I figure I can connect my phone to charge and drop it in the tank bag
    I don't use heated gear, yet   
    I have heated grips and seats, both a Triumph and a Corbin heated seat.

    As always, Thanks !
    You guys are the best on the web!
    Keith
    1997 Triumph Sprint Sport--Sold it and miss it
    1980 Suzuki GS1000S--aka Wes Cooley
    Ever notice you never see a motorcycle parked in front of a psychiatrist office?

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9765
    • *****
      #1

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9765
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Power port questions/suggestions
    Reply #1 on: Jul 25, 2019, 08.03 am
    Jul 25, 2019, 08.03 am
    Ideally I'd use the right front .....

    There isn't one !

    Do you mean Front Left, by the Riders left knee ?  :084:

    That socket ( and the Rear left one for the Pillion ), are both "DIN" / "HELLA" type sockets.
    The one shown below has a removable adapter cap for use in the larger Power sockets
    found in the Glove Box and Top Box ( if fitted ):



    The one by the Riders knee is permanently Live ( and often useful for connection of a Battery Tender ),
    whereas the Rear Pillion socket is powered when the Ignition is ON and the engine is running.

    Cheers  :821:





     
    Last Edit: Jan 07, 2020, 07.13 pm by Coconut

  • Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    346
    • ***
      #2

    Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 346
    • Bike: '12 S10 '15 TTSE
    • City / Town: Nashvegas, TN
    Re: Power port questions/suggestions
    Reply #2 on: Jul 25, 2019, 09.48 pm
    Jul 25, 2019, 09.48 pm
    Interestingly, I just started using my rear port this past week. I changed trunks, and I used a Powerlet plug in it to power the trunk. I rode to MA and back (about 2200 miles) and when I got back, the connection is loose. I have to wiggle it around to get the power to stay on. Is this a common issue? I haven't done any diagnostics yet, so I don't know if it's the plug or the socket, but I suspect the socket.

    Thoughts?

  • Offline Stoney   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    818
    • ****
      #3

    Offline Stoney

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 818
    • Bike: '13 & '17 TT SE
    • City / Town: Simi Valley, Ca
    • Country: us
    Re: Power port questions/suggestions
    Reply #3 on: Jul 26, 2019, 04.14 am
    Jul 26, 2019, 04.14 am
    *Originally Posted by dietDrThunder [+]
    Interestingly, I just started using my rear port this past week. I changed trunks, and I used a Powerlet plug in it to power the trunk. I rode to MA and back (about 2200 miles) and when I got back, the connection is loose. I have to wiggle it around to get the power to stay on. Is this a common issue? I haven't done any diagnostics yet, so I don't know if it's the plug or the socket, but I suspect the socket.

    Thoughts?

    Each time I've used the factory top box port, it has loosened up to the point of no connection, so I quit using that one.  The two Powerlet ports have been great - I use the engine one for charging headsets while having lunch on a long ride, and the pillion one for charging my phone or headset while underway.  If you have a non-OEM powerlet port in your top box, I would assume that to be the problem.  The Powerlet/BMW/Hella/DIN (lots of names for this) style is a much more positive connection than the old-school cigarette-style version.
    STONEY

  • Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    346
    • ***
      #4

    Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 346
    • Bike: '12 S10 '15 TTSE
    • City / Town: Nashvegas, TN
    Re: Power port questions/suggestions
    Reply #4 on: Jul 26, 2019, 04.22 am
    Jul 26, 2019, 04.22 am
    I am using the rear powerlet port to power the box, and that port/plug combo is the problem. The inside of the box is all good. I don't even know what the factory trunk power connection is...must be tucked into the tail somewhere I suppose?

  • Offline Stoney   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    818
    • ****
      #5

    Offline Stoney

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 818
    • Bike: '13 & '17 TT SE
    • City / Town: Simi Valley, Ca
    • Country: us
    Re: Power port questions/suggestions
    Reply #5 on: Jul 26, 2019, 04.35 am
    Jul 26, 2019, 04.35 am
    If you have the factory trunk, the port inside is obvious (not a powerlet). But if the connection at the pillion port is coming loose, I would suspect the plug, not the port, as everything I've plugged into it has been a very good, tight connection.  Maybe I just got lucky, but the port at the engine is just as good.
    STONEY

  • Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    346
    • ***
      #6

    Offline dietDrThunder

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 346
    • Bike: '12 S10 '15 TTSE
    • City / Town: Nashvegas, TN
    Re: Power port questions/suggestions
    Reply #6 on: Jul 26, 2019, 04.41 am
    Jul 26, 2019, 04.41 am
    Not using the oem trunk, but good to know. I'll be investigating tomorrow.

     



    tweedy-bunch